Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creme Fraiche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creme Fraiche

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2010

      I was given this recipe. I tried putting it in the oven with the light on. But have found that if I just put it on the counter and forget it, it is awesome. I even double the recipe. Last one I put in 2 Tablespoons of sour cream and 2 of yogurt, as I was out of buttermilk. It worked well. I believe the flavor is maybe a little more mild than with buttermilk. Love a dollop on fruit soups as well as in other dishes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Oh, yummers!!! I only needed 1/2 cup so I cut the recipe in half. To bad, because this was really good! Thanks for the posting...I know that I will come back to this one again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

    • on August 13, 2009

      I've never had this nor have I seen this in a store. It is wonderful! It was really thick after about 18 hours and I refrigerated it in a glass jar. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This turned out great! Thanks for the homemade version. It's impossible to find where I live. It really thickened up after I put it in the fridge after the 24 hours. Perfect! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This worked out very well for me, and with no real effort at all. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      This is wonderful. Works with yogurt too. In Mexico it's called Creama Mexicana. It doesn't break in a sauce like sour cream. On strawberries it's incredible and it beats like whipping cream too. Thanks for sharing!!!! Tony

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      I have never EVER been able to find creme fraiche where I live so I've been forced to skip the recipes that call for it or substitute sour cream. Now I know what it tastes like...nothing like sour cream. This is so simple to make I'll be making it often. The taste is wonderful. Thank you, Sylvie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I'd never made this before, and only tasted it when it was incorporated into recipes. So easy and SO yummy, makes sour cream taste like a rubbery fake substance. Thanks so much, Ev! Your recipes can always be counted on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      you always see them using this on food net work ,now i have the ingredient here in the boon docks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Had this with strawberry pie, made yesterday and left on top of the refridge overnight just covered loosely. Its warm up there. Actually I left this for 24 hours. I did not stir the whey on the bottom back into the top thick creme fraiche, kept it thick like a sour cream, then placed into the fridge what was left, for my blueberries.. Good easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This worked wonderfully! I needed creme fraiche for another dish and could not find it at the market. Now, I'll no longer even look. After mixing, I covered the bowl and put it in the microwave leaving the door ajar so the light stayed on; 12 hours later it was thick and creamy. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      This is wonderful. Creme freche isn't stocked in the stores around here, at least not where I shop. I found it once at a deli, but that was years ago and they havn't had it since. Now I have a limitless supply!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      Hey, this works. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      I made this recently and am happy I don't have to try and find it any more. A Keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Light and Luscious! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Confession Time: This little 2-ingredient recipe was a bit of an adventure in discovery for me. I’d seen this listed as part of recipes, but had always avoided those recipes since I didn’t know what it was or how to make it. When French Cuisine approached for ZWT, I did some research & found it’s part of or accompanies a wide variety of dishes. So I made it to be sure I could & it worked. Now I’m busy searching for fun ways to use it in the next 10 days & the future. Thx for posting, Ev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2004

      I liked this one. Simple and guaranteed to work. Joy de K

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Eggs/Dairy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creme Fraiche

    Serving Size: 1 (268 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 833.1
     
    Calories from Fat 794
    95%
    Total Fat 88.3 g
    135%
    Saturated Fat 54.9 g
    274%
    Cholesterol 327.2 mg
    109%
    Sodium 121.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites