Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creme Fraiche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creme Fraiche

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      I am delighted to now have this great recipe for creme fraiche! I often make recipes that call for creme fraiche,which can be a pricey and hard to find ingredient in the USA. My local grocery just stopped carrying creme fraiche, so I decided to give this recipe a try. It was surprisingly simple to prepare and came out perfectly. I halved the recipe and it came out just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      I had posted a question in the forum looking for substitutes for sour cream (DH hates the taste of sour cream) and was told to try Creme Fraiche. I made this recipe over the weekend and used it tonight in Inez's Beef Noodle Paprikash. It was wonderful! It actually took about 36 hours for it to thicken up nicely, but it was worth it. Thanks for such a great recipe and huge thanks to all those who gave me suggestions for a substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Simple, easy, inexpensive and superior results! What more could you ask for in a recipe? I adore creme fraiche but at $5.00 for a tiny container...when you can find it...not always do-able. I always have buttermilk in the frig and whipping cream is super easy to find and many times on sale. I love to make this plain, or, add vanilla or Grand Marnier, amaretto, whatever flavors will compliment what you are serving it with, and you can use creme fraiche where ever you would use cream cheese. It's marvelous as a spread on warm quick bread with any of the flavourings added to it. Have also used chopped chives or dill to it for a dip or spread. Just be sure to NOT use Ultra-Pasteurized Whipping Cream; it sometimes will refuse to "set up." Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      This recipe was beautiful in its simplicity and ease. I used 4 TB of 1.5% fat buttermilk--great results in flavor and consistency after about 18 hours. Definitely recommend! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      All I got after letting it sit for 48 hours on a heating pad set at low was regular old sour cream. Nothing like Creme Fraiche, what a waste of time!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      cheap and easy! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      Love this stuff! It takes seconds to prepare, but the rewards are great. My husband actually made it. His favorite way to use it is to sprinkle some chicken legs with salt, pepper and herbes de provence, brown them in a saute pan, deglaze with white wine, cover the pan till the chicken is done, and at the end of cooking, stir in some creme fraiche. It makes a delicious sauce! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      I have no idea what this is supposed to taste like, but it tasted pretty good and almost identical to Sour Cream. One of my recipes called for this and my grocery store didn't carry it. It did take about 19 hours for it to thicken up, but it wasn't like I had to sit there and watch it. Very easy to prepare and very tasty. Worked well in my recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creme Fraiche

    Serving Size: 1 (626 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 851.1
     
    Calories from Fat 798
    93%
    Total Fat 88.7 g
    136%
    Saturated Fat 55.2 g
    276%
    Cholesterol 329.0 mg
    109%
    Sodium 169.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes