Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creme Caramel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creme Caramel

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2009

      I've been using this exact recipe for years and years. It has never failed and has always been a favorite with family and guests. As to complaints of "egginess". Hello! This is egg custard, after all!! R. L. Wallace's review turns this recipe into rocket science and it truly doesn't have to be. It's an exceedingly simple and delicious recipe. Try it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Followed directions as listed except made it in a pie plate which when I flipped over didn't come out so well so will use small dishes next time. Rave reviews from my guests.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      1. "Egginess" Published recipes range from 1 egg per cup of milk, the standard proportion in American "cup custards" from the 50s, to 1 egg plus 2 additional yolks (4 eggs plus 8 yolks per liter) in Escoffier's classic version. As in hard-cooked eggs, the whites set to a Jello-like consistency that lets you unmold the custard, and 1 white per cup of milk is the practical minimum (though some recipes claim you can get away with less); the yolks give body, creaminess, and color. (Compared to standard recipes for creme brulee (2 yolks per cup of cream), Escoffier actually uses one more yolk per cup — but the cream makes creme brulee thicker and richer in the end.) Therefore, this creme caramel uses 1-2 whites too many, but (arguably) way too few yolks; and as one reviewer implied (Tali, 11-16-08), the over-eggy taste may be due to the whites. In addition, vanilla can tone down egginess, but this recipe uses only 1/2 tsp. extract per cup of liquid; when I make creme caramel, I use at least 1 inch of vanilla bean (the equivalent of 1 tsp. extract) per cup, and my liquid is one-third cream. 2. For the caramel, the same reviewer also suggested "using a couple drops of water when melting the sugar." "A couple drops" would not make any difference, but caramel is often made by adding about 6 tablespoons water for each cup of sugar and cooking the syrup until it turns caramel-colored. (Contrary to many alarmist recipes, if the syrup is cooked to the caramel stage it is not necessary to "wash down the sides of the pan" or include corn syrup or lemon juice; even if the sugar syrup starts to turn granular, by the time it reaches 300 degrees F. the crystals will all have melted.) It is easier to control the color of a caramel cooked this way, but melting the dry sugar in a skillet works fine too. Another alternative is to add water to the caramel after it has reached the desired color (about 1/4 cup water per cup of sugar), stirring it in well until the caramel dissolves into a smooth, very thick syrup; the theory is that this softer caramel will more easily dissolve into a sauce when the custard sits in the refrigerator overnight. In any case, baking the creme caramel well in advance gives more of the caramel a chance to dissolve; so does spreading the caramel thinly all over the inside of the mold instead of letting it pool thickly on the bottom. (That's the ingenious thing about creme caramel: baked custard's tendency to leak moisture as it stands, usually a detriment, is what produces the sauce!) Finally, for 3 cups of milk, I would use a full cup of sugar to make the caramel, double the amount in this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I took other reviewer's advice and reduced the recipe by one egg. it was not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I agree with other reviewers- this was too eggy. Also, the caramel was hard to work with. One recipe I saw for Creme Caramel suggested using a couple drops of water when melting the sugar so I may try that next time. Also, I'll try using 3 yolks and 2 eggs to see if that helps with the eggy flavour. It was a nice recipe to follow and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This is so decedent, impressive and easy a dessert I can make. Everyone in the family loves it. When my kids want dessert and I say there isn't any, I get well you got milk and eggs don't ya? "THE CREME!" I am so ashamed :( I have been making this over and over and just realized I hadn't rated or thanked you for posting. 5 STARS OVER I make this at least 2x a month. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was a good recipe, and was my first attempt at creme caramel. It was easy to make, which gives me confidence to be able to make it again since I was intimidated at first. I do agree with the other reviewer that said it was a bit too eggy. But it was a very impressive presentation, and definitely worth a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I liked the texture a lot and it looked wonderful on the plate, but the taste was a litle too eggy for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      My husband & I both love this dessert but I never made it myself. Last week I made Creme Caramel using one of the ready made packages whereby, one just boils milk & adds it to the packets. Yesterday, I decided to be brave & went ahead & followed your recipe to the dot. Thank u so much for sharing such a simple, easy to follow & last but not least YUMMY recipe ;) My husband's verdict was that your recipe was a thousand times better than the ready made package. I look forward to making this recipe in the future for my husband & guests (who'll definately be most impressed :P)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Very easy to make and tastes excellent. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Wonderful dessert. Scaled it down kinda to one 6 ounce ramekin for my mother. Quite simple to make but the presentation is great. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This is so easy to make~ I love it~ Just have to figure how to clean the bottom of the rameskin with the harden caramel...haha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Quick and easy to make. I made them in star shaped tins and they looked pretty special. They are best made the night before, it gives the caramel a chance to colour the custard and liquify so it runs down the sides nicely. Putting this one in my cookbook to do again... and again. Thanks for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      We liked the recipe. Practically fail proof, and so simple to make. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      What a great recipe. Made me look like a professional chef, they turned our perfect and our dinner guests just loved them, thank god for left overs... yum. Thanks County Lady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I think this is Paula Deen's recipe. I saw her make it on TV today. It has a strong egg taste that I think would have been better if my crarmelizing of the sugar had worked. I think I jumped the gun and added sugar that wasn't ready. Next time I'll wait! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      I, of course, over cooked the sugar, so my caramel was slightly burned, but othewise, this turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creme Caramel

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.5
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    28%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 145.0 mg
    48%
    Sodium 161.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites