15 Reviews

This was really good, much better than I would have ever guessed that a make a head recipe for french toast could be and it even warmed up well in the microwave amazingly. I sprayed the pan with canola oil spray and followed the recipe. I think next time I might either lightly butter the tops of the bread or perhaps use a different flavor bread like raisin or cranberry walnut. I plan on making this for Christmas morning rather than my usual cinnamon rolls because this will be much easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
max2062 December 22, 2011

I made this in a bread pudding type casserole. I cut the bread in large slices then cut again. I also doubled up on the bottom mixture, so 1 cup of butter and 2 cups of brown sugar. I also substituted with Muscavato Brown Sugar and Vanilla Bean Powder and Vanilla Bean Paste. This was amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tgoodbrand June 10, 2013

I adjusted the recipe slightly; using Challah bread in place of french bread and 2 t. of vanilla due to lack of Grand Marnier in the house, and the recipe was stil very well received. Easter brunch guests loved it! So easy. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biszeemom March 31, 2013

My husband loves this for breakfast. Quick easy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sweetie's Sweetheart February 17, 2013

Made this for a Father's Day brunch and it was good. It never did carmelize on the bottom even though I followed the directions to a "T". I thought it seemed kind of dry on top and agree with another reviewer that maybe buttering the tops would help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy June 18, 2012

French Toast for dinner? Indulgent French Toast for dinner? Yep! What a tasty treat. Wife and adult son raved about the meal. I used a dense and chewy rustic bread that turned out as the perfect platform for this dish. Balanced the sweetness of the toast with a thick sliced, bacon side. This stays in our regular meal rotation.

I did do something very wrong...I broiled the dish for the final minute in the oven. It didn't need that. Won't repeat that step again! But the dish handled my "creative" final flourish just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedJim December 15, 2011

What a sweet morning treat for breakfast!!! I made this for 2 servings using 1/4 of the amounts and did have any Grand Marnier, but otherwise made as written. Definitely needs no added toppings!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 04, 2010

Texture was a little odd, but flavor was very good. Made in the morning before leaving for work, took it out of the fridge when we got home and popped it in the oven when DH was on the way. DD says, Save that recipe Mom, so you can make it again .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom April 07, 2010

Yummy! I used some going stale french bread and it worked out perfectly. I used both the Grand Marnier and Vanilla but really didn't detect the orange flavor at all - might tweek that a bit. Fun breakfast to serve anytime or when you have company. I served it with bacon and fresh fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW November 15, 2009

I made this today for my daughters field hockey team breakfast. They loved this dish! I did not add the Grand Marnier just more Vanilla. This was very easy and a big hit. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz October 12, 2009
Creme Brulee French Toast Made Overnight