17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a wonderful way to start the day. Breakfast already prepared, ready to bake. Miss Bev, this is terrific. I went to the store and bought a challah turbin loaf. It was so good in this recipe. It was so easy to make, and the Grand Marnier was a wonderful flavor to add. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie September 20, 2002

A crowd pleaser I will make again. I cut the sugar and butter in half, eliminated the salt and used Cointreau. I too appreciated having breakfast prepared the night before and just popping it in the oven in the morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winettie December 30, 2010

I thought this casserole was absolutely delicious! My husband and I thought this tasted a lot like creme brulee, too. I had to bake it for an hour to get the top nice and toasty. I will most definitely make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in KC January 31, 2009

A friend shared this recipe with me and I had to make it. I've made it a couple times now and loved it. Great to make right before going to bed and put it in the fridge so all I have to do in the morning is put it in the oven. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Hoylman September 26, 2008

I don't think I would make this for breakfast again, it is too sweet, and more like a bread pudding. However, I would make this as a dessert again with some whipped cream and some ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan July 27, 2008

I made this over the weekend because my neice brought me a loaf of challa and I wanted to make something special with it. YUMMY!! I used pure maple syrup instead of corn syrup and I added 1/4 tsp each cardamom and cinnamon to the egg mixture before dipping and pouring. It was a hit at the brunch. Even the person who claimed to not like french toast had two servings!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelley-Chelle November 05, 2007

Very nice recipe Peg. I used this recipe when we had a lot of company spending the weekend and LOVED that it was made up the night before and baked in the morning. Being in a very small town, couldn't find the recommended bread so just used the the best substitute I could find. Turned out wonderful with rave reviews. Served with fresh fruit and with that great toppings (on the bottom) no one wanted anything else on it. Ease of preparation and unusual presentation makes this a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 21, 2007

Excellent - and very easy! A brunch hit. I used Triple Sec instead of Grand Marnier, much cheaper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stmash August 06, 2007

Made this wonderful dish for overnight guests. It was a hit. Easy to prepare and great that it can be prepared ahead of time. Will make this again before to long. Thank-you for this great recipe Peg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 July 08, 2007

We enjoyed this a lot. There were only 3 of us (my husband, me and my grandson) so I probably should have cut the recipe in half. It's pretty filling. It's so nice because it prepared the night before -- then just popped in the oven. We will definitely be making this again -- I know my other grandchildren will enjoy it. Thank you for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie May 29, 2007
Creme Brulee French Toast