13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy recipe with simple, inexpensive ingredients. I used Black Berries for this Cobbler & turned out amazing. This is one recipe I will use often for many years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ninja Tater November 02, 2014

Made this last night with fresh blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries, prob. a little more than 2 cups. Followed rest of recipe to a T. DH Loves loves loves this! I agree with other reviewers that it's a little sweet, but since he's so happy, who am I to tinker with success!!! Thanks for such an easy "always on hand ingredients" recipe. Update - I fixed this with fresh peaches and blackberries this time. I only warmed the peaches in the saucepan, with addition of a little cinnamon, nutmeg to season the peaches. After placing the peaches over the batter, I then sprinkled the blackberries over and pushed them down just a little. This way the berries didn't break up and disappear under the heavy peaches. Still remains uber-good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 August 21, 2009

Made this with fresh sweet red cherries. I actually doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan. It was best served warm with a scoop of ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktenille July 06, 2009

This is now my favorite easy desert recipe. I make this normally with home grown blackberries but add 3-4 cups of fruit instead of 20. It is wonderful with peackes as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bshigley May 11, 2008

I was in the mood for something warm, sweet and comforting on a cold, winter night... and this really hit the spot! I had one can of pears in syrup so I had improvise on the other fruits to make up the 2 cups of fruit in the recupe. I had some organic cranberries in the freezer so I threw about 1/2 c in the syrup (along with a split vanilla bean)as it warmed on the stove. I also peeled 3 granny smith apples and added those along with the pears at the last minute so they wouldn't get mushy. I added about 2 Tbs of sugar to the fruits just to take the tartness off the the cranberry mix. Then I had to substitute turbinado sugar for the white sugar in the batter since I ran out, but it was a terrific substitution. I thought the fruit might spill over the pan so I placed it on a baking sheet to catch any overflow but there was none. A terrific and easy recipe to mix and match fruit with. I served it with some vanilla bean ice cream... a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl January 23, 2007

I was looking for a quick and easy dessert and this was it.I did have some cherry pie filling, but decided to use some apple pie filling I made from apples from our tree last year. It was a good decision. This is a great cobbler recipe,no matter what fruit or berries you may be using.Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. #199947

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kawli October 23, 2006

I followed Katie4998's directions to the tee, and the peach cobbler was a family hit. It had just the right amount of sweetness and the texture of the crust was perfect! This recipe is definitely a keeper! I will serve this often. Thanks Katie! --The Home Technician

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHomeTechnician September 15, 2006

I made this with frozen black cherries last night and it was a HUGE hit with my boyfriend. He went for seconds, even though he knew he shouldn't. I had some of the leftovers for breakfast this morning. I'm going to make it again with frozen peaches in a few days, when my mom comes over for dinner. This type of cobbler is what I consider "real" cobbler (not the pie crust variety), and I haven't had this since I was a kid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Itchy Monkey September 14, 2005

My family loved it! I did add about a teaspoon of cinnamon. I served it with ice cream and/or whipped cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 September 05, 2005

Very good and easy! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti Hurley July 14, 2005
Creeping Crust Cobbler