Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy, Yummy, Hummus, Hummos, Hummous - However U Spell It! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy, Yummy, Hummus, Hummos, Hummous - However U Spell It!

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2010

      Made to go along with Paprika Pita Chips. Absolutely the best, but promotes dragon breath...and there's no charge for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      I made this yesterday and didn't want to review it because it didn't taste all that good...but then again it was a little warm from all the boiling, etc. Anyways, today it tastes amazing. Probably because it sat in the fridge and the flavours came together overnight. I followed Bint e Naeem's recommendation and added extra tahini, lemon juice and salt, but also added some hungarian paprika. This is my new favourite hummus recipe...and I'll be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Yummmmmm! So easy and so good!!! I love using the fresh ingredients and these went perfectly with GailAnn's Savory Pita Chips. I only cut down on the oil and it was great. We all loved this and I will make it again. Promise! Thanks Ameera! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      THAT's IT!!! Made another hummus recipe on here and it was too much cumin and tahini for my taste...and something was off. I tried this one with some tweeks... and it was the holy grail of hummus. I did add 1/8 tsp cumin, 1 extra garlic clove, 1/4 tsp paprika, only a 1/4 tsp salt, almost a half tsp of cayanne (I like it spicy), and a bit less olive oil (part of which was an lime infused olive oil). I did end up using the reserved cooking liquid as well. I saw someone else say they put the mixture through a sieve to get a smoother result...so I may try that next time for a velvety texture...but honestly, it was amazing just as is. I think the balance of tahini to chickpeas and the yogurt that is key here. Not sure what the boiling of the cece does...but I don't want to mess with perfection. YUM..thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Yummy! I loved this the 1st time around, however I did add a little extra salt. I am trying to go low on fat, so the 2nd time I made it I omitted the oil and cut the tahini in half. I added a couple of slices of canned jalapeno and some horseradish (for kick.) Yummmy! This is about my 6th time to make this in a month.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This was no doubt outstanding. The yogurt is what gives it the flavor & color. I have been making hummos since I don't know when & I thought that was perfect. Thanks Ameera for finally making it complete for me. I did add extra 1 tablespoon tahini, 1 tablespoon lemon juice and a 1/4 teaspoon more salt to the recipe since it would have been a bit bland for my taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      This is the best hummus I've ever made!!! I followed the recipe exactly and then added just a little cayenne pepper. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Great Hummous for serious garlic lovers! I made a double batch and did peel the chickpeas. It was a bit of a nuisance but viewing the 2 cups of shells in the bottom of my sink made me realize how much smoother hummous would be without them. It was worth the effort. I made it the night before I needed it and the flavours melded beautifully. Thanks for sharing this one! I'll be making it many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      The smoothest, creamiest hummus I have ever made! I did skin the chickpeas. I loved how the yogurt gave the hummus a creamier texture and it did make it lighter in texture as well as colour. I hardly had to add any cooking liquid. I used unrefined extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plus the rest of the ingredients as stated. I added all but the tomatoes on top sadly as I didn't have any fresh ones on hand. I may make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      this was excelent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      WOW! this is amazing! sooo delicious. I don't even like hummous but i LOVED this. I had to force myself to stop eating it. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Very delicious! Skinning the beans took a while, but was kinda meditative! I used sour cream instead of yogurt. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

    • on September 01, 2009

      Enjoyed this very much! Went to Wild Oats & they were giving samples of jalapeno & cilantro hummus. So I decided to make this & added 1 jalapeno & 1 teaspoon cilantro. Very nice additions. While this is good on its own, a few extra touches are nice. I think that sauted onions & garlic would be wonderful also. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. I know that I will use it again & again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      I just made this last night for dinner and hooooo-boy it was so good! It was the best hummos I ever made! I mostly followed it, but I rarely follow anything exactly. I doubled it, and sauted about 1/2 an onion with the garlic while the beans were boiling, because I love onions. I used a bit less lemon because I like the lemon flavor light, less tahini cause I was running out, and less oil because I don't need the fat. Best part was my son, who thinks he doesn't like yogurt in things, but loved this too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Today is my first time in Recipe Zaar. I was looking for a recipe for hummous. Yours was the first one I looked at and immediately had to make. I am in heaven. This stuff could be addicting. I can't wait to try it several different ways. Kisses to you for posting this recipe and not saving it for yourself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Yummm! I added extra garlic, kalmata olives, and half a pkg of feta cheese to the hummos, then served it on bread as a sandwich spread with alfalfa sprouts, english cuke slices and tomatoes! This is an all time favorite, and this recipe was a big help! It's the first time I've made hummos from scratch and thanks to your recipe, it was a big hit! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      This was a great framework for a yummy hummus. I subbed peanut butter for tahini, and added more lemon juice and garlic for personal preference. I've made this multiple times, and in double batches as I like to use it in sandwiches with sliced veggies and hard-boiled eggs. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      My son is allergic to peanuts and this is a very good, and healthier alternative to the peanut butter sandwich. just spread it inside a pita and eat it just like that or throw in a few veggies if you like. Great for lunchboxes too! I add a little sumac to this recipe and also use sumac in the garnish, and it is very yummy! My favorite hummus recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Not going to rate it bcz I liked a couple of the ideas, but I will use those in my hummus recipe. I think there was too much olive oil. I will cut it in half. I liked that it was easy to blend in the blender, didn't get bogged down, just needs to be a little firmer. I will use the olive oil and yogurt idea in my hummus version (with PB instead of tahini). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy, Yummy, Hummus, Hummos, Hummous - However U Spell It!

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 478.5
     
    Calories from Fat 298
    62%
    Total Fat 33.1 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 1.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 828.2 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites