Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Wild-Rice Soup With Smoked Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Wild-Rice Soup With Smoked Turkey

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2004

      Oh, this is soooo good!! It's creamy, but not heavy at all, nice and light! First off, my apologies to the recipe author for fiddling with the ingredients, including one main ingredient which is in the recipe name---I had leftover turkey from Thanksgiving dinner, but we didn't have a smoked turkey, just a regularly roasted bird. Next time I will try the recipe with either smoked turkey, or I think smoked duck breast sounds incredible. Thank you for posting, Pie! I added a bay leaf to step #1 and I thought mushrooms would go well in this, so in they went (also at step #1). Instead of chicken broth, I used homemade turkey stock, which I'd made from Rescued Turkey Stock, Rescued Turkey Stock. Other than those changes, I remained true to the original ingredient list, so as to be able to give a fair review. I will make this again and again! I chose it because I remembered having a Cream of Wild Rice Soup, with either chicken or turkey, in a restaurant some time ago, and it left such an impression, I was looking to recreate the feeling. There are white caps on Lake Washington today, it's a blustery, wet day, and this soup is a perfect remedy! I will post updated reviews when I try making the recipe with smoked turkey or duck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This soup was excellent! I used Rescued Turkey Stock (#24576) as the base and added mushrooms and bay leaves. Very rich taste that is heart warming and nicely filling on a cold day. I will absolutely make this again! Now I can't wait for that leftover turkey carcass - I now know what to do with it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This was a great soup!! It was so good and I'm sure we'll be making this again, especially for OAMC. Our first batch held up great in the freezer. I took someone's advice and added a bunch of extra veggies I had left over in the freezer from a Christmas veggie tray. This recipe is really good for right after the holidays with all the leftovers. I added celery, a little broccoli, some red peppers, and mushrooms. The sherry in this recipe really does give it that extra boost, even though all I had in my pantry was the icky cooking sherry. I also used frozen turkey stock instead, and that was REALLY good...Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Just finished simmering this soup on the stove... and had to review it as I enjoyed my first bowl! Yes, I said my first because it is sooooo yummy that I will definately have to have another one! Very rich and creamy, as another reviewer said, but not at all heavy in taste or texture. I did not have any green onions on hand so I used some celery instead. I also used some wild rice that I had in the freezer and it turned out well. This is a must try recipe with all that leftover Thanksgiving turkey we all have right now. So different from a typical soup or stew, but yet it is just so comforting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

    • on January 14, 2012

      Very good! Added celery, mushrooms, wild rice and brown rice, and a chunk of smoked turkey from the deli that I cubed. Cooked it all in the crockpot. Cooked all day and added the milk mixture and sherry at the end. Everyone loved it! Smelled wonderful and tasted great with a little toasted rye bread! Had to add more sherry and even then couldn't really taste it, but was still very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      UPDATE: I've made this a ton of times - using "Rescued Turkey Stock" from this site. I do think that all of the milk dilutes the great flavor of the 'real' turkey stock - so next time will REDUCE the milk / flour mixture. Also, one time used THYME instead of Rosemary. Rosemary by far is better in this soup. Also added celery to both recipes. GO for the rosemary. YUM. Good for the first snow of the season....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      It was a very good soup! I added a frozen bag of soup vegetables to bump up the veggies and thus the nutritional value. It was a hit with my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Used homemade turkey broth and in lieu of the milk and flour I used 2 cups whipping cream that was sooo close to expiring plus some milk with some flour. Left the pot on to keep warm and the wild rice behaved just like barley absorbing all the liquid but still very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This was very good. Almost like a chowder, it got so thick. I had some smoked turkey that had to be used up and I chose this recipe. I didn't have a full cup of wild rice so, filled it the rest of the way with brown rice and it was perfect. I also used smoked turkey broth that I made and the flavor was so smokey and very good. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us, we loved and and I put it in my folder of recipes for smoked meats. Yummy, 5 star recipe all the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Nice soup. Could have used something, can't put my finger on it though. Celery would have been a good addition! Was not crazy about the rosemary. Great soup for a yucky, rainy, cold day! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      YUM!!! We just had this tonight - so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I made this tonight using the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and the saved turkey broth after I scraped off the oil and fat that surfaced and hardened. What I did was saute a yellow onion, 5 cloves of garlic, green onion, about 2 cups of mushrooms in butter until just getting browned and threw it all in the crock pot. In the pot was 2 cups of water, 2 cups of instant chicken broth, 5 carrots, and 4 celery stalks, 3 bay leaves, the rosemary and 1 tbs. of dry parsley. I then added 1/2 cup of wild rice and 1/2 cup of basmati white rice. An unexpected twist I did was when I poured water into the pan I sauteed in to loosen up the bits to clean...I noticed it made a wonderful broth that smelled of mushrooms and garlic...so I poured it right into the soup which made it soooooooo good!!! I then used 2 cups of heavy whipping cream with about 2/3 cup of flour over medium heat until thick...poured that in and then the dry sherry, salt, and pepper, and last I used about 2 tsp. of cornstarch and water, mixed that up and threw that in. The soup is so good!!!!!!!!!! It's the best soup I have ever made...thanks!!!!:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Used left over turkey from Thanksgiving and Rice A Roni (and seasoning packet) to simplify. Huge hit! All of my kids loved it too! Thank you for this keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Awesome! It was snowing and cold today and I was on the search for a good soup recipe...and boy did I find it! I didn't have smoked turkey (but really want to try it that way soon) so I used some chicken breast. I had company over for dinner and served it with warm beer bread and it was perfect! Very simple preparation and the flavors are great. A must try recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Wow!!! OMG!!! This soup was amazing!!! I made a few changes... no green onions or rosemary (personal disregard for the two), and used canned cubed turkey and leftover wild rice. The biggest change I made was to use plain soy milk instead of milk and of course it was slightly sweeter but that was perfectly offset by a little extra salt and pepper at the end. I will definitely make this again - it was sooooo easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This is such a great soup! I can just about garuntee we will make it again. We took out the milk and just put in more chicken broth (we wanted it to last longer without spoiling) and it was amazing! We used brown rice to add fibre and a couple of minor substitutions still resulted in fabulous soup! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      We loved it! Used our leftover turkey which was not smoked. Next time I will double the turkey. I had no onions so I added celery and brocolli. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I have been making this soup for years now - it's in 2001 annual Cooking Light recipe book. I don't think I have ever made it with smoked turkey, just leftover home cooked turkey. I have used a brown and wild rice blend. We always add the sherry! Nice to know this is here, easy to share with frinds now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This was excellent soup. Thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Wild-Rice Soup With Smoked Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.4
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    18%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 9.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 242.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked turkey breast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites