12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was intrigues by this recipe, so I had to try it. GREAT recipe, if you need frosting on the fly, with ingredients you keep on hand. I was surprised, and happy with the flavor, which was a lot like cool whip. I used this to frost Great Lemon Cake and it was the perfect compliment. It really does work, if you follow the directions, as written! Thanks for sharing, TeresaS.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl March 26, 2011

Very nice, light, and fluffy frosting. We enjoyed this better than the store brands for sure! Made for PRMR!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nochlo October 31, 2013

Great frosting recipe. Whipped cream type frosting that isn't sickenly sweet as some are. I made this a few days ahead of the actual frosting of the cake and kept it refrigerated. Worked perfectly by letting it sit out at room temp for a few hours beforehand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB August 27, 2012

Greasy, goopy. I wished I had listened to twiggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kate97497 November 09, 2008

i liked it a lot at first but it isnt setting up at all. i let the mixture thicken and become goopy but its staying goopy...i used granulated sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twiggyshell October 30, 2008

This is a great frosting with no egg whites. It took about 10 minutes of beating on speed 4 of my mixer for it to fluff up nicely. I used it on a lemon layer cake, and it was the perfect balance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlchavez77 June 30, 2008

FUN! This was like doing a science experiment. While this did end up looking like whipped cream, I'd say the flavor is closer to cool whip. It is light and fluffy and has a very smooth texture. I put it on Clabber Cake. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed May 29, 2008

This was delicious and really fun to make - next time I'll make it with my 6 year old daughter. I think "PrimQuilter's" problem was not cooking the milk/flour/salt mixture enough. As you stir, the whole think starts lumping and eventually takes on a playdough-like texture. It's really cool to watch, and then add it by the spoonful to the creamed marg/sugar mix and see it fill out and fluff up, almost like magic. And then, the taste is phenomenal - smooth and sweet, but not too sweet like most frostings. I wish I could give it 100 reviews, just love this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orleejoelle April 29, 2008

This is a silky smooth frosting, beautifully shiny and easy to spread. I don't know how it tastes so light, but it does. I substituted 3/4 cup honey for the sugar, and it gave it the most wonderful faint honey flavor. I think this would also be good with a little bit of almond extract added, too. I will save this recipe to use again and again. Thanks, Teresa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too April 04, 2008

Excellent frosting. It tastes fabulous! I was so glad to find something that didn't use egg whites. I used butter instead of margarine, since that's what I had on hand. Make sure to cream the sugar, vanilla and margarine really well... Mine separated just a bit, but that's my own fault. I'll definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoulofaJedi December 17, 2007
Creamy White Frosting