Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy White Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy White Frosting

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2011

      I was intrigues by this recipe, so I had to try it. GREAT recipe, if you need frosting on the fly, with ingredients you keep on hand. I was surprised, and happy with the flavor, which was a lot like cool whip. I used this to frost Great Lemon Cake and it was the perfect compliment. It really does work, if you follow the directions, as written! Thanks for sharing, TeresaS.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      Very nice, light, and fluffy frosting. We enjoyed this better than the store brands for sure! Made for PRMR!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Great frosting recipe. Whipped cream type frosting that isn't sickenly sweet as some are. I made this a few days ahead of the actual frosting of the cake and kept it refrigerated. Worked perfectly by letting it sit out at room temp for a few hours beforehand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Greasy, goopy. I wished I had listened to twiggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      i liked it a lot at first but it isnt setting up at all. i let the mixture thicken and become goopy but its staying goopy...i used granulated sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This is a great frosting with no egg whites. It took about 10 minutes of beating on speed 4 of my mixer for it to fluff up nicely. I used it on a lemon layer cake, and it was the perfect balance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      FUN! This was like doing a science experiment. While this did end up looking like whipped cream, I'd say the flavor is closer to cool whip. It is light and fluffy and has a very smooth texture. I put it on Clabber Cake. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This was delicious and really fun to make - next time I'll make it with my 6 year old daughter. I think "PrimQuilter's" problem was not cooking the milk/flour/salt mixture enough. As you stir, the whole think starts lumping and eventually takes on a playdough-like texture. It's really cool to watch, and then add it by the spoonful to the creamed marg/sugar mix and see it fill out and fluff up, almost like magic. And then, the taste is phenomenal - smooth and sweet, but not too sweet like most frostings. I wish I could give it 100 reviews, just love this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      This is a silky smooth frosting, beautifully shiny and easy to spread. I don't know how it tastes so light, but it does. I substituted 3/4 cup honey for the sugar, and it gave it the most wonderful faint honey flavor. I think this would also be good with a little bit of almond extract added, too. I will save this recipe to use again and again. Thanks, Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Excellent frosting. It tastes fabulous! I was so glad to find something that didn't use egg whites. I used butter instead of margarine, since that's what I had on hand. Make sure to cream the sugar, vanilla and margarine really well... Mine separated just a bit, but that's my own fault. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      FABULOUS ! I'm looking lovingly at the cake as I type. The fluffiest frosting EVER, spreads beautifully and easier than it sounds. Great to find a thick frosting that uses margarine, not butter, shortening, cream or Cool Whip. I used icing sugar,1% milk and margerine and it worked out fine. I also wanted it to be strawberry so I added to 2 teaspoons of strawberry essence along with the vanilla. Make sure to sift the flour otherwise you get icky lumps in the white sauce. It amply filled ( 1 layer ) and iced a 9-inch cake. Thanks loads ! <3, the NOOBchef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Teresa, I don't know what happened with my attempt at your wonderful frosting. I'm thinking it should list powdered sugar instead of sugar. It wouldn't set up so I added 2 cups powdered sugar to try and salvage it, but that made it too sweet and it still wasn't thick enough to spread. I will make another attempt at this another day but will only use 1/2 cup margarine and 1 cup powdered sugar and see how it goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy White Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.5
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    63%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 300.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites