9 Reviews

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this soup! When making this soup, I saute'd the carrots, potatoes, and onions for 7 minutes, and only added the garlic (1 teaspoon of jarred minced garlic), the last minute of saute'ing/cooking time. For the broth/liquid, I used 4 cups of organic broth (as that's all the broth I had), plus I added 2 cups of water, and I also added 1 tablespoon of chicken bouillon granules. I brought the broth to a boil, then reduced the heat to a simmer, and cooked the vegetables for 30 minutes. I did add 1 teaspoon of salt, and a 1/4 teaspoon of ground white pepper. I loved the consistency of this soup, it was like a bisque. I found this soup yields: 10 cups. This was the 2nd time I made this soup, and I look forward to making it again. Thank you Nasseh for sharing this recipe, as this soup was quite delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess November 14, 2013

This is pretty good... DH didn't really like it... he said it tasted too much like vegetables!! but the kids loved it. i have two toddlers and they ate it all up. I really enjoyed it. I served it with pita croutons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maya's Mama October 01, 2009

4 1/2 stars. This was good especially for DD (toddler). DH didn't eat much of it so Id say he didnt like it exceptionally. I used regular size organic carrots and yellow potatoes. I used my own homemade chicken stock and I think I added even more ground cumin to taste. It was very orange, more than French Tarts picture. I garnished it with fresh cilantro which was good. I may make this again just for a change but probably not since DH wasnt enthusiastic about it. Made for Ramadan Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 22, 2009

I loved the flavors of this soup. The cumin was wonderful with the onion and carrot. The potatos made this very creamy without adding the dairy or fat of cream. A very nice, easy soup to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean March 15, 2009

This is wonderful. My husband does not eat onion so it was obviously lacking a little taste when I sampled it. So I threw in some roasted red peppers and blended again. I am sure it is fabulous made just as written but w/ the adjustment we enjoyed it very much!! Thanks for a great recipe. Will definately make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben's Mom November 05, 2008

This is a good recipe and got mixed reviews from my family, based on personal tastes. I personally did not like the cumin taste, but others in my family loved it. I actually used cauliflower in place of the potatoes for a lower carb option, and I skipped the oil to lower the fat. I used about 24 oz of cauliflower and had to add 2 more cups of broth to compensate. It was very easy to make. Thank you for posting this, and I am glad to have tried it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear October 02, 2008

I loved the Middle Eastern flavours with the soup, just by adding the cumin and no cream - great soup thanks! I used vegetable broth and also added a couple of slices of courgette that I had - then whizzed it all up together, before reheating. We ate this with home-made flat breads for a delicious and healthy lunch! Made for photo tag - thanks Nasseh! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart September 27, 2008

A wonderfully flavoursome soup, so quick and easy to make - and everone who ate it loved it! Except for doubling the garlic, I made this exactly to the recipe. Loved the cumin in this. Next time I make this, I thinl I'll add some spinach and some wine. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Nasseh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder September 20, 2008

Very flavorful soup, and nice texture! It was a great soup for Ramadan. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pali's Favorites September 05, 2008
Creamy Vegetable Cumin Soup