11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The only thing that I changed in this recipe was to use fresh tomato's, I used cream at the end and what a wonderful creamy soup.The curry added a lovely flavour to this wonderful soup.<br/>I am sure I will making this recipe again over the coming winter.<br/>Thanks Peggy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme April 26, 2014

I don't have a tomato soup in my repertoire so I'm always on the lookout for a good tomato soup recipe. This may be it! Confession time: I don't read recipes very well. You clearly stated to add the milk or cream last but since I was adding milk and not cream, I figured it wouldn't matter if I put it in with the stock. No!!!! The milk reacted with the acid in the tomatoes and all the milk solids coagulated at the bottom of the pan. It didn't affect the taste and by the time I had blended the soup, it was fine. I used smoked paprika and red curry paste. I probably used a little too much curry paste since it is stronger than curry powder. It needed a little more sugar to balance the curry. My daughter came up with a brilliant idea. She said why not add balsamic glaze like Ainsley Harriot did the other day on TV. I have some apple and balsamic vinegar syrup that I've been waiting to use on something. Oh my, it's really good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RonaNZ March 22, 2008

We are soup lovers and this is a great one. It has a great, rich flavor that I haven't found in other tomato soup recipes. This will be my go to tomato soup from now on. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze August 26, 2009

AMAZING in just one word. This is the most perfect tomato soup recipe I have found to date (and I have been searching for about 10 years now). I only used half the amount of cream and it was perfect for our liking. I did skip the curry (not a fan) and added Greek Seasoning in it's place with excellent results. It's a KEEPER! Made for MAKE MY RECIPE. UPDATE: I just made the recipe again and this time made it vegan with veggie stock and then instead of cream, I only used about 1/4 of rice milk. It was delish! No curry or paprika used this time and the marjoram really shined threw which I liked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride October 30, 2012

What a terrific tomato soup. It had everything, great texture, beautiful presentation and excellent flavour. We really enjoyed the addition of the curry in the soup. I used cream rather than milk and made the recipe exactly as written, I wouldn't change a thing. Truly a treat, smooth, silky and delicious. Thank you so much for sharing another keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 03, 2011

First time I've had tomato soup with curry and it's great for a quick curry fix! And I liked it cold as well,it actually cooled me off on a hot day. thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 19, 2010

Since it's a hot or cold soup, I made the full recipe even though it was just for 2 of us! Also pretty much followed the directions & ingredients, but I did use a bit less of both paprika & curry powder (probably close to 3/4 teaspoon each) & the final result was just right for us! A GREAT TASTING SOUP, & a recipe worth keeping! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my teammates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #20]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 02, 2008

I used only a small bit of flour, fresh herbs and skim milk with just a touch of cream. Servd this cold in teacups and garnished it with chiffonage of fresh herbs. A big Hit!! Thanks, Peggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 16, 2008

The best I have ever found.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaykat_always November 02, 2007

Great recipe Leggy Peggy! I made this today for my daughter's (Little Miss) 4th birthday luncheon. I had to make a few substitutes, I added small (pinch) amounts of paprika and curry powder as one of our guests has an allergy to spices. I didn't add cream or milk into the pan but served it at the table for people to add into the soup (two of our guest including the birthday girl are lactose intolerant). The recipe was easy to make, the flavour was wonderful and everyone's bowls were completely empty. Thank you so much Leggy Peggy for sharing a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer May 12, 2007
Creamy Tomato Soup