12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so simple and so good..... I made it for lunch and did'nt get enough,everyone wanted another bowl. It is worth it

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanie November 05, 2001

I do love plain tomaoto soup, but I love this, too! I used reduced fat cream cheese and skim milk and it was still super creamy and wonderful. I thought it was perfectly seasoned, too. I didn't use any croutons; just some fresh ground pepper in top. Mmmmm.... Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 26, 2011

This was fab-u-lous! I don't think I'll ever be able to eat plain tomato soup from a can again. I only used about 1/4 of an onion, though, and I added some minced garlic to sautee with the onions. I used an immersion blender at the end in an attempt to hide the tomatoes and onions from my daughter. It was super smooth and creamy. Delicious. I served it with a shredded italian cheese blend, garlic and cheese croutons and a toasty French baguette (great for dipping in your soup). This is definitely a keeper and made for a quick, easy but filling meal on a cold, cold day. Thanks for such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydia's Mama January 25, 2009

What a great soup! I'm a tomato soup lover, and this is my new go to! Only change I made was to use about 8 green onions instead of regular onion, and I did not use the cream cheese. Even my sister who doesn't like tomato soup enjoyed this! The Bacon Cheddar Bites were fabulous with this. This will be made frequently, Nicole. Thnx so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter December 14, 2008

Wonderful soup for those cool Autumn meals. I added 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. And I was out of milk so I used 1/2 C. water with 1 C. canned condensed milk. Next time I will try crushed tomatoes rather then diced but other then that; this was a huge hit at my house. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stir_it_up October 08, 2008

followed the recipe by mrsteacher22 for the same reasons. It was very good, will leave out cream cheese and add some water. This is delicious, but it is a very thick soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocoholic Fiend July 16, 2008

This is an excellent soup! I am eating it right now and it is heaven. Based on what I had on hand, I didn't add the condensed soup, and instead used a 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes, 8 oz can of tom. sauce, and a 14 oz can of tom. paste. I also blended the soup after simmering it for 10 minutes, because I'm not a fan of large chunks in soup. I also cut the cream cheese down to 4 oz. Very easy to make! Only took about 25 minutes from start to eating! Thanks Nicole!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsteacher22 February 17, 2008

Fantastic cold-weather food! I withheld the cream cheese and used soy milk with a bit of olive oil. I opted to use canned stewed tomatoes rather than the condensed soup. Processed it through the blender and served it with cream cheese jalapeno poppers. The cream cheese from the popper was a nice dose of cream cheese instead of adding it to the soup--it wasn't overwhelming and you can add to your tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tetris Master! March 12, 2005

My daughter and I really enjoyed this with our grilled cheese sandwiches. I only added about 3 oz of cream cheese after reading the other reviews. The next time I make this I will probably leave the chream cheese out (it really doesn't need it because it tasted great without it), use fresh garlic and blend everything until smooth. I used 14 1/2 oz can diced tomatoes and 1 10 oz can rotel. Very Very good. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ February 24, 2005

Easy and delicious, I cut back on the cream cheese after reading the other reviews and cut the recipe in half. Will make this again .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole Koehler February 20, 2005
Creamy Tomato Soup