Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Tomato-Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Tomato-Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2013

      I love this salad but I found if you salt the cucumbers lightly and let them set about 30 minutes then take a paper towel and squeeze them a little bit the cucumbers don't have as much juice which makes the sauce thinner. It really does work, try it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      I added my favorite new ingredient - ground white pepper. Also removed the pulpy seed areas of the tomato. Also used a light sour cream as it doesn't hurt to reduce calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Woke up this morning with a craving for something I'd never had; creamy tomato-cucumber salad. This certainly hit the spot.
      I was a little doubtful when seeing the ingredients for the dressing (mainly the sugar and vinegar) but it worked quite nicely. To lower calories a bit, I used 1/2 cup yogurt, and only a 1/4 cup sour cream to total the 3/4 needed for a half recipe. The garlic powder I had also contained parsley, but it tasted really nice with the yogurt sauce. The one thing I may change for next time is to leave the dill out. It seemed a bit unnecessary, and I don't really care for the flavour of dill anyway...but I did leave out the onions, so that may have something to do with it.
      Thanks for the recipe, Kittencal!

      --Luna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I just loved this, it is so fresh and I used cherry tomatoes from my garden, and red wine vinegar, absolutely delicious! I think this salad gets even better as it chills!! I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks Kitt, great salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This is similar to a salad I make, but I had not used vinegar and sugar. I have to say that I was a bit dubious when tasting it after adding the sugar, but it worked together quite nicely. However, I thought this was too much sour cream. Of course, cucumbers and tomatoes vary in size, but for my one cuke, tomato and 1/2 onion I used probably 1/3 cup sour cream, 1/2 tbl vinegar and a teaspoon or so of sugar. I used fresh thyme instead of dried dill. I like this variation on the salad I usually make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Yum! I loved this salad and so did my husband! I halved the recipe and it was just right. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      It was very tasty. I, too, may have used too many tomatoes, as the sauce was a bit thin. I drained it a bit, and then it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      This was a wonderful, easy, creamy salad. Thank you Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This does make a nice change from the usual vinegar coated tomato & cucumber salad. I did find though that I may have used too many tomatoes as the dressing thinned out quite a bit on standing. I took this to a bar-b-que and however those that tried it, did like it. Thanks for a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This is such a light, refreshing, and creamy salad. Very easy to make. I used cider vinegar and made it as written. I can't wait for summer to try it with really sweet and juicy tomatoes, but even now it was delightful. This will be my new favorite alternative to a green salad! Thank you Kitten for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      What a lovely treat! I used our wonderful, garden fresh tomatoes and cukes. This is refreshing with such lovely flavors, and so easy to prepare. A wonderful addition to my "tomato" recipe cookbook! Thanks, Kittykitz for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      This makes a nice salad. I substituted the vinegar with lemon juice and the sour cream with low-fat plain yoghurt. Very enjoyable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Tomato-Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (297 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.4
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    68%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 44.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 74.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites