66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this pasta dish! I did cook the chard a little longer than called for and the tomatoes too. All the flavors tasted great and it looked so pretty! I added just a little more sour cream too. Thanks for a dish I will definately make again!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 31, 2003

My daughter "hates" Swiss chard, but I have a lot in the garden. This made it quite tolerable for her! and the rest of us enjoyed it a lot! I used canned tomatoes (none in the garden yet...) and no milk. Used vegan sour cream as I had that on hand. Didn't measure too closely. Oh, and I kept the stems of the chard (chopped finely) - sauteed them with the onion for a little before adding anything else. I think the burner should be turned off before adding the sour cream...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momefarley June 08, 2011

Wonderful! I had some left over cooked bacon that I cut up and added toward the end of cooking. Used greek yogurt in place of sour cream and fresh tomatoes. Will make again for sure!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird July 17, 2011

Tasty, versatile recipe! You can add some other veggies and make it even more interesting. I tried it with asparagus and yellow bell pepper (in addition to the chard). Yummy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phoenixrizn February 05, 2004

Guess I goofed to as we did the same thing - weighed the 1 lb of chard after taking vein out. We used plain yogurt and should have added more sauce ingredients as definitely not creamy and the chard really gumped up. But will give it another shot as swiss chard has become a fav this harvest and this recipe quick and easy .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay October 02, 2003

I goofed and measured the chard AFTER I took the vein out - there was a TON of it! I had to add more sauce as a result, but the taste was out of this world.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristyl September 12, 2003

I thought it was rather bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deerfieldbeach August 24, 2014

Luv Luv Luv this dish! I'm a vegan and have made this recipe many times, always with rave reviews from my guests. The substitutions I make are whole wheat farfalle (butterfly) pasta, vegan sour cream and vegan grated parmesan. In fact, it's become a comfort food for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
furballmum January 07, 2014

Yum! Will make this again! Everyone in our family loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere October 07, 2013

From some reviews, it seems many don't know that cooking chard or beet greens, the key is to separate stem from leaf, and chop both into 1-inch pieces (learned from Rachel Ray). The stems need to be cooked 2-3 times longer than the leaves. In this recipe, I sauted the stems with the onion and garlic until tender, then added the leaves for 1-2 minutes. This is a good basic recipe, but IMO it was rather bland and needed something to give it a little "snap". I added 2 tsp. lemon juice, 1 T. minced fresh basil, 1 tsp. salt, and 1/2 tsp. fresh ground pepper. This recipe lends itself to seasoning variation and is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriarCraft September 04, 2013
Creamy Swiss Chard Pasta