27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i halved the recipe and just used shrimp. very nice quick dinner

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia January 11, 2003

I liked this recipe but I did change some things: I added immitation crab meat in addition to the shrimp and tilapia. I added garlic while cooking the shrimp and to the sauce. I cut down on the worchestershire sauce and heavy cream per other reviewers' suggestions. Lastly, I topped the casserole with extra parmesan cheese, extra cheddar cheese and chopped scallions.

I'm glad I added the garlic because I think it really pulled the dish together. It was definitely runny but we mopped it up with some french bread...so good!

One complaint about the recipe itself; it didn't specify whether the fish and shrimp should be cooked prior to adding to the casserole and, for a novice cook like me, that would've been helpful (luckily I guessed correctly that the shrimp and fish should be fully cooked beforehand).

Thanks a lot for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smoofinator June 15, 2011

Very good! My sauce divided into a watery portion on the bottom and thicker on top. Tasted really good. I used 1 pound tilapia, 1/2 pound shrimp, and 1/2 pound scallops.
I didn't have heavy cream so looked up a way to make heavy cream out of milk and butter.
Thank you for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thejonesgal March 18, 2011

This was delicious! I agree with other reviewers that it was very soupy, but we decided that we could just eat it as a bisque! I ladeled it into bowls and made some Carbquik garlic cheese biscuits and a salad. Even our 2-year-old loved it! Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lrowser June 17, 2010

This was fabulous! At first I thought it was a bit 'soupy' too but in fact it turned out perfect for the family because I added cooked baby potatoes in theirs, but kept mine low carb - so the extra sauce was wonderful. Everyone LOVED it. Hubby is most critical of everything and gave it 4.5 stars! I used Emmantal because I had no swiss, and I also used closer to 1/4 tsp. paprika. The harmony of flavors is very nice, but next time we will try a pinch of cayenne, and a wee bit more Worchester to see what that does. Thanks so much for posting! such a nice change from the ususal hamburger etc on low carb plans. Best fish I have had in a long time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greyhound Lover February 07, 2009

Excellent flavor--very easy! I used 1 lb. ea. shrimp & scallops, added 2 chopped scallions & 1 can sliced mushrooms. Would be great as a sauce for noodles, or in a cup...it was soupy. Next time, I'll just cook it all in the pan, and skip the baking step. I just realized I missed the Worcestershire sauce, but it was still yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gracefire September 22, 2007

Yummy recipe! Since others noted that it was a little runny, I put a layer of pre-cooked spiral macaroni in the bottom of the casserole first. Then followed the recipe as directed, using grouper and shrimp. The spirals soaked up some of the excess liquid and it was just right! Most people served this over rice, pasta, or potatoes; I just combined it all in one dish. Everyone liked it, even a friend who "doesn't like fish".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry L. November 17, 2013

So rich and delicious, this was awesome! Because other reviewers said it was soupy, I cut back the cream to 1 1/4C and added a bit more cheese. It thickened up as it baked and turned out lovely. I added some chopped green onion to the top just for some colour. The only problem is that we ate too much. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 24, 2013

This is a WINNER at my house. I used shrimp and haddock. As we love cheese, I added extra cheddar and swiss. We ate this over rice pilaf. As there was quite a bit of sauce left over, I think next time I will add even more seafood.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Princess February 14, 2011

really tasty, albeit thin. We served it over rice. Also added fresh corn, garlic salt & lemon pepper. Substituted smoked paprika for the regular. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorchef June 26, 2010
Creamy Seafood Casserole (Low Carb)