Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Scottish Oatmeal (With Crock-Pot Instructions) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Scottish Oatmeal (With Crock-Pot Instructions)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2010

      This was very easy to put together although I didn't add the fruit as I was afraid it would turn to goo. Instead the raisins were added just before serving. It would help greatly-especially for beginner cooks to indicate the amount of time to cook the oatmeal and what temperature for the crock pot directions. I cooked the oatmeal on LOW for close to 7 1/2 hours and it worked out perfectly. The recipe was doubled in order to use a standard size 3 quart crock pot. I plan to make this again very soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      I had been looking for a crock-pot breakfast cereal recipe for some time - this one was worth the wait! I used a 6oz package of mixed raisins/cranberries but no nuts (didn't have any on hand) and it worked out perfectly. I also added the extra 1/2 c water. These oats turned out creamy - not dry. I also lined my crock pot with a liner to make clean-up easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I make mine in the crockpot. It is a great healthy (and easy and cheap) breakfast for my whole family. I use regular raisins and dark maple syrup simply because it's cheaper and it comes out just fine. I do add the pecans too. I use the burbon vanilla - the kind in a jar with flecks that is more like a paste to give it a good vanilla flavor. If you make this, I recomend you buy the oats in bulk at a health food store - they are much cheaper that way (less then half the cost then at my grocery store).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Very good and creamy oatmeal. I followed as directed, except leaving out the maple syrup and replacing it with honey. Personal preference. Very good directions, I made it in the Crockpot and woke up to a hearty and healthy breakfast. It was so nice to have something warm on such a cold day. I will be making this all winter now! Oh, if you fill your crock with water and put a dryer sheet on the top, all that dried on crusty stuff will softened up and come right off. Made and Reviewed for New Kid on The Block tag - Thanks so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      I made a triple batch of this and put it in my 6 qt slow cooker overnight. It ended up cooking on low about 9 hours. It was a huge hit! In the morning those that chose to added pecans & blueberries. We found it to be mildly sweet (which is how we prefer things) and very creamy. My DH does not like his steel cut oats chewy, and these were perfect. I'll be freezing the leftovers in individual containers for quick steel cut oats breakfasts. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Since I have never had this, I didn't know what to expect. It was creamy enough, but I do think I needed a little bit more salt and sugar, but that could be because I'm used to things sweeter. I did really enjoy it with maple flavored peanut butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      Used the crock pot last night before I went to sleep and this morning woke up to perfectly cooked oats. I have tried to make steel cut oats overnight before and the recipe had way way way too much liquid and we had to siphon off the oats before eating. This one was perfect. I left out the fruit and nuts, and had to use light brown sugar rather than dark, but other than that followed the directions. Wonderful texture on this. It wasn't gooey, but had a nice chew to it while still being soft, which is what I was hoping for. Just the right balance of spices and sweetness. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I made this in the croc pot and followed the recipe exactly, I cooked it on low for 8 hours. It was smooth! There was no texture. I also thought that the cinnamon was over cooked and a bitter. I am going to try this again on the stove top and in the croc pot for only 3-4 hours. A great idea, but 8 hours was way too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I made mine in the crockpot and it turned out like goo. But it was a deliciously flavored goo. I'm going to add more oats next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Great recipe!! My husband thought it was perfect, I could've used more brown sugar to satisfy my sweet tooth. Super easy! It was great to wake up with breakfast ready!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Scottish Oatmeal (With Crock-Pot Instructions)

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.6
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    10%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 192.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light maple syrup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites