34 Reviews

Wow, delicious Rye Bread, great flavor, Good texture & a nice big loaf. Rye bread is DH's favorite bread. He loves it toasted. Bev, Thank you sooooo very much for posting the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz March 16, 2003

By far, the best rye bread recipe I've ever made! Texture was wondeful. It is just delicious. I didn't have molasses so I just used honey. It came out wonderful!! Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shylohbear16 November 01, 2009

OUTSTANDING RECIPE! I used the dough cycle and did not put any caraway seeds and added 2 Tblsp. of coffee mate for extra flavor. (I use either coffe mate or powdered milk, whatever I have on hand.) It rose beautifully in the oven with the light on. I always let mine rise a long time, over an hour, as it rises over the pan and the final rising results in a really tall, fluffy loaf of bread. The taste is just fabulous. I will be keeping this recipe!Loved it!!! Thankyou for the post!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilypads May 24, 2009

I made the dough in my Kitchenaide, baked as a big fat baguette for 25 minutes at 350. I bake bread all the time and this is about the best bread I've ever made. Fabulous. Used about 2 T olive oil in place of the butter, and 4 t. caraway. Added bread flour last, just until it held together. Other than than, followed recipe to a T. Really, really wonderful stuff.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happyday49 April 11, 2009

Loved this one! Made for sandwiches and turned out great. Wasn't sure when I took it out of the BM (did the dough cycle) so just put it into the loaf pan and rose beautifully.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound September 02, 2013

Well this gets five stars from me because DS liked it! It is, as other reviewers said, a gentle rye and that worked with him I suspect. Texture is very nice. I also did need to work in just a touch more flour, too, but I think that's the nature of bread and we are having outrageous humidity here right now. I made the dough in the bread machine and took it out for shaping. I did a round on a flat pan and baked it for about 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven. It's a wow bread and I LOVE it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ May 23, 2010

I set machine for "dough" and made into 15 rolls that I baked 15 minutes at 375. They turned out delicious......don't even need butter!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honey Bee T May 18, 2010

Following the suggestions of other reviews I baked this as a 2lb "wheat" loaf. It turned out perfect. Also I substituted nonfat plain yogurt for the sour cream. Maybe not as creamy but it turned out very moist. I would like to try substituting some wheat flour for the white flour next time around. Tweaker

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker April 16, 2008

WONDERFUL! I followed recipe exactly-used 2 tsp active dry yeast, and on my machine selected basic cycle, medium dark crust, 2 lb loaf. As soon as it was finished, I placed loaf in plastic bag so steam would soften crust. Made the most delicious sandwiches! Thank you for a great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack February 09, 2008

I have made this twice today. The first time, I made it exactly as written (minus the seeds because I didn't have any). When I checked the dough at the knead cycle, it was very wet, so I added an additional 1/4 cup bread flour. At the end of the dough cycle, it was still pretty wet and I had to knead quite a bit of all-purpose flour into it to be able to handle it. Shaped it into little ovals (for subs) and let them raise. They were very good! The second time, I used 3 cups of bread flour and 1 cup of rye. The dough ball was perfect at the knead cycle. At the end of the dough cycle, I had to dust a little bit of flour onto the dough to be able to shape it into buns. I let them raise until double, baked them for 15 minutes at 375 on a parchment lined sheet, rubbed them with butter (after they were baked) and they were absolutely divine! Perfect texture and taste. They also raised up higher the second time around. I also added one teaspoon of diastatic malt from King Arthur. They taste much like the bread served at Saltgrass steak houses. Next time, I may try honey in place of the molasses, but these were so good, I might not change a thing. Hubbie is gone, but can't wait for him to get home to try these. (this is how I sneak stray dogs into the house) Bev, thank you very much for posting this fantastic recipe! It is a winner! PS--I think one reason some reviewers complain about the wet or "slack" dough is the way a person measures flour. Some people dip and scoop and some people fluff the flour, spoon it into the cup and level. A scoop will probably give you more flour than spooning. Professional and serious home bakers (which I'm not) weigh ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose September 05, 2007
Creamy Rye (Bread Machine)