Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Rye (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Rye (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      Wow, delicious Rye Bread, great flavor, Good texture & a nice big loaf. Rye bread is DH's favorite bread. He loves it toasted. Bev, Thank you sooooo very much for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      By far, the best rye bread recipe I've ever made! Texture was wondeful. It is just delicious. I didn't have molasses so I just used honey. It came out wonderful!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I made the dough in my Kitchenaide, baked as a big fat baguette for 25 minutes at 350. I bake bread all the time and this is about the best bread I've ever made. Fabulous. Used about 2 T olive oil in place of the butter, and 4 t. caraway. Added bread flour last, just until it held together. Other than than, followed recipe to a T. Really, really wonderful stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      Loved this one! Made for sandwiches and turned out great. Wasn't sure when I took it out of the BM (did the dough cycle) so just put it into the loaf pan and rose beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Well this gets five stars from me because DS liked it! It is, as other reviewers said, a gentle rye and that worked with him I suspect. Texture is very nice. I also did need to work in just a touch more flour, too, but I think that's the nature of bread and we are having outrageous humidity here right now. I made the dough in the bread machine and took it out for shaping. I did a round on a flat pan and baked it for about 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven. It's a wow bread and I LOVE it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I set machine for "dough" and made into 15 rolls that I baked 15 minutes at 375. They turned out delicious......don't even need butter!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      OUTSTANDING RECIPE! I used the dough cycle and did not put any caraway seeds and added 2 Tblsp. of coffee mate for extra flavor. (I use either coffe mate or powdered milk, whatever I have on hand.) It rose beautifully in the oven with the light on. I always let mine rise a long time, over an hour, as it rises over the pan and the final rising results in a really tall, fluffy loaf of bread. The taste is just fabulous. I will be keeping this recipe!Loved it!!! Thankyou for the post!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Following the suggestions of other reviews I baked this as a 2lb "wheat" loaf. It turned out perfect. Also I substituted nonfat plain yogurt for the sour cream. Maybe not as creamy but it turned out very moist. I would like to try substituting some wheat flour for the white flour next time around. Tweaker

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2014

      This is fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      I use Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream and bake on the regular bread cycle in my machine. Family gobbles it up! They love this recipe and we make it at least once a week with Sunday supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      This is a very yummy bread. It's so light and moist. Loved the caraway seeds and the molasses just make it. Will use this a lot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      Light and moist bread... Since most of the flour was white and, as a rule of thumb when this is the case, I used my "basic" white bread setting. Whenever a recipe calls for over 3 cups of total flour, I set the size to "large"... Also, when I try a recipe for the first time especially, I don't change anything one iota, which I did for this recipe. Keep in mind, if you deviate from the recipe, you risk quality of the end product of the recipe... Excellent rye bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      As I almost always do the first time I try a new recpe I follow it to a t. Made this yesterday and did as some others did I put it on the dough cycle and then formed it into a loaf, let it rise and baked it. This was fabulous, my DH loves rye bread and was very impressed w/it. It was so easy to make. I did have to add a few tablespoons of flour to it while it was mixing and didn't have any problems handling the dough when I formed it. Truly a recipe I will be making over and over and so tasty toasted this morning!
      I added a photo of it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This was excellent. I had to use Dutch process cocoa because that is all I had and dark brown sugar. I added 1 1/2 Tblsps of caraway seeds cause we really like them. The bread stays soft for days. I made croutons out of the left overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      We have made this recipe a few times now and everyone loves it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      ok, as written, this recipe was a disaster. I added 1/2 cup bread flour during the mixing phase, as it was just about soup. It rose far far too much and then sunk in the middle when removed from the pan. I am going to try it again tomorrow with the extra flour from the outset and cut back on the yeast to 1 1/4 tsp like my other recipe of similar proportions and will get back with you.***** Second try was a little bit better, using the changes I mentioned yesterday, but still rose too tall over the pan and collapsed. perhaps this would be better with a bread machine that is designed for 2 pound loaves or just using on the dough setting and cooking in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I've had this recipe in my personal cookbook since 2003 and have made it many times. It is the BEST rye bread recipe available. Props to Bev for posting it and I'm really sorry to wait so long to offer a review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I made this without the molasses and it was still fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Very nice loaf, great for spicy cold cut sandwiches, Thanks for posting Bev. EDITED to add stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      It really was CREAMY! Very, very nice loaf of bread. Made from start to finish in the bread machine. Followed recipe exactly as written. Used 2 tsp of active yeast, wheat setting, 2lb loaf, medium crust bread settings on my machine. Turned out big, full, hearty, and a whole lot flavor. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Rye (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (819 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1371.1
     
    Calories from Fat 307
    22%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 19.1 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 80.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 2546.2 mg
    106%
    Total Carbohydrate 236.3 g
    78%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 32.8 g
    131%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes