Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy, Rich Ranch Potatoes With Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy, Rich Ranch Potatoes With Cheese

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2009

      Very good and not too salty IMO. I couldn't stand to wait for the potatoes to thaw, so I tried to compensate by baking longer. I should have waited 80 minutes; some were cooked, some were still al dente. I loved how the ranch flavor wasn't overdone, but I think I'll stick with my tater tot version of this purely for the tot texture. Thanks Wildflour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Loaded with salt but we loved them anyway :) They were so delicious and we enjoyed them with our pork chops and applesauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This recipe makes a lot of potatoes! It is a perfect dish for a potluck or any type of cookout/ party. Although, it was much too rich, creamy and salty for my taste, I would make it again for a get together. The changes that I will make is less ranch dressing and low sodium soup if I can find it. Also, I might use breadcrumbs instead of the fried onions. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I'll keep this one forever! Very delicious, savory, and creamy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Made these for our end of season softball cookout. They were a HUGE hit!! A couple of the girls had FOUR servings each!! One of the coaches had at least that many and just raved about them! I used the potatoes o'brien in them and thought the pepppers gave them a bit of color and flavor. Other than that, I made them exactly as the recipe states. I'm sure these will be requested often now that we've tried them! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I only had hash browns with bell peppers so that's what I used. I think it added extra flavor to the potatoes. I also only used one envelope of dressing and added bacon. Next time my husband requested some green onions or chives be added. Very tasty as is. Thanks for posting! EDITED: Made these a second time for a Christmas buffet and accidentally bought DIP mix--not dressing, definitely made this much saltier, so pay attention when picking out the Ranch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      These are not terribly different from any other cheesy potato dish out there, but they are good! I halved the recipe and served these as a side with your filet mignon in puff pastry and it all made for a very satisfying meal. They reheat well the next day too - just had the leftovers for lunch! Thanks for sharing your version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Very yummy! I reduced the yield by using one package of shredded hashbrowns and only one package of cream cheese, and 1/2 of the cheese. I also mistakenly used one .4 ounce package of Hidden Valley Ranch Mix instead of a 1 ounce size. I used both cans of soup. They turned out wonderful; just enough ranch flavor and not salty at all. Thanks for the suggestion to try these -- they are wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      This was great!! Everyone liked it at the dinner I held. I forgot to thaw the potatoes so it took an extra 30 minutes to cook, but that was my fault. I will definitely make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      We loved these potatoes. I used low fat sour cream to reduce the calories. This was a nice change from our typical hashbrown potato casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      yummy, was a little more work than the recipe I was using, but it made sense to melt the cheese and the extras that you do in this recipe made all the difference in taste. No problem to make this again. Everyone loved them. Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      I made this dish exactly by the recipe and it turned out scrumptious. I served it with shredded bbq beef sandwiches and corn on the cob. All four women at the party asked for the recipe. It was a HUGE hit! This is ging into my make-again-and-again file! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      verry good go well w/ bbq thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      This went very well with Pulled Pork So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now and chia's cole slaw Coleslaw. I replaced the hidden valley ranch dressing mix with my Buttermilk and Onion Salad Dressing Mix Buttermilk and Onion Salad Dressing Mix minus the salt. As had been suggested by Kelly M, I used the reduced sodium soups. Also, if this had not been tried in the crock pot--it works great. I mixed everything up, cooked it on high for 1 hour reduced the temperature to low, sprinkled the remaining cheese on top and cooked it for about another 2 hours. A few minutes before serving I sprinkled the onions over all, left off the cover to the crock pot and allowed it sit for a few minutes. It was hot when we got home and all I had to do was heat up the pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      Rich creamy comfort food! I made the following changes. Used shredded hash browns instead of cubed because I bought the wrong thing (oops) but they worked fine. I cut the recipe in half (it does make a ton!), and it fit an 8x8 pan perfectly. Since I cut it in half, I didnt want to open 2 separate cans of soup so I only used the potato soup and definitely did not miss the cream of chicken. I'm not a big cream soup fan but this was delicious and creamy. I will keep this in my cookbook. The only change I might suggest is to use lower sodium soup, since there is salt in the soups and the ranch mix and the cheese. I could definitely taste the salt, and although not OVER salty, think it would work great with a low sodium version. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      Very good!!!!!Makes a ton&reheats like a dream~~~didn't use the french fried onions~but that was the only change~couldn't stop eating them:)PeggyLynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      very good my whole family loved them for our xmas dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      This makes a BOAT-LOAD of potatoes!!! We really enjoyed the ranch flavor and cheesy-ness of this casserole. Make sure you thaw those potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy, Rich Ranch Potatoes With Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 413.7
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    58%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 907.2 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hidden valley ranch dressing mix

    fried onions

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes