26 Reviews

PLEASE READ IF YOU USE AN ELECTRONIC RICE COOKER:
Let me first say this recipe is great - smooth, creamy mac and cheese awaits you! However, if you own an electronic rice cooker be very careful about your liquid substitutions and how much you make.

The first time I made this I doubled it (my cooker is large) and used milk - and created an awful mess in the process. It boiled over and got chunks of curdled milk in between the insert and the rice cooker. To this day I still have burnt milk I can't clean up. I will also note that if using milk (I used 2%) there will be little chunks of milk curdle in the mac and cheese. Blech.

I made this tonight and followed the recipe to a T. I still doubled it, but no curdled milk mess. Of course it isn't the healthiest mac and cheese but it's quite tasty!

Unless you know your rice cooker well and know how to cook non-rice items, proceed with caution!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperGaijin August 27, 2010

My DH is not a big pasta side dish fan and he asked me to make sure I kept this recipe. I followed the advice of other reviewers, doubled the broth and only added the cream once the rice cooker switched to warm. The first time I made it I added the cream at the beginning and it boiled all over the counter. No problems once I made the adjustments. I also steamed broccoli and added it once the cheese had melted. Just might be the only way I've ever seen my 82 year old Dad eat broccoli willingly. Thanks for posting this easy, recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surreycook December 14, 2010

Awesome! I add a little onion powder to it, maybe a 1/4 teaspoon with the cheese. I don't turn it to warm, I unplug it and then mix in the cheese. Works perfectly for me. I use an italian blend shredded cheese: Mozzarella, asiago, parmesan and romano. Taste-y!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhon2380 October 19, 2010

I'm never making mac and cheese any other way again! I used whole milk and water, added 1 tsp of garlic salt in the first step. I used 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar and 1 cup of shredded monterrey jack cheese. thank you so much for posting this recipe, it is easy and good and will be a staple in our house.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bungalowten December 29, 2009

We had this tonight. Made it with milk and water no cream. Added some chives at the end. I found it quite dry, tho it was tasty and the kids loved it. Best bit was using my rice cooker for something else and it being made in one pot! Kids gave this recipe 4 stars, and I guess I do too. Will make it again for sure. Thanks for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Batlady September 06, 2010

This is awesome!!!! I used rice milk and an italian cheese blend since it was all I had, I might never make mac and cheese another way!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan December 22, 2009

I'm at 5900 ft in elevation. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe - I put ALL of the liquids in the cooker at the beginning. All the liquid evaporated and when I put in the cheese, it didn't turn out creamy at all. The cheese barely melted. I decided to try again and this time, I doubled my chicken broth and did not put in the milk at the beginning. I used half and half and put that in when it switched over to keep warm along with the rest of the ingredients. Turned out perfect this time. Very easy and simple.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenlhome October 10, 2010

This is the best! I'm single, so I can make this and eat it different ways for several days. I use milk, instead of the heavy cream/half n half. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robertdknight January 15, 2010

I made this today and is a great recipe as is. I did change it a bit. I didn't have enough shredded cheese, so I only added 4 oz along with 1/2 jar cheddar cheese by Ragu. I didn't add butter as it didn't seem to need it and I added bacon bits and 1 1/2 cups broccoli florets and DW and I were so surprized as to how good it was. After it has cooked, let it sit in the rice cooker on warm for a few minutes and it will get a crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rob430 June 25, 2011

This is such an AWESOME recipe!!! Thank you so much for posting this! I first tried it when I saw it in Mary Hunt's "Everyday Cheapskate" newsletter and my children have been in love with it ever since. It's quick, easy and best of all tastes great! The ingredients are all staples in my kitchen, so it's a quick fix on nights when I don't really feel like cooking. Thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prana Princess April 30, 2011
Creamy Rice Cooker Macaroni and Cheese