Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Rice Cooker Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Rice Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      PLEASE READ IF YOU USE AN ELECTRONIC RICE COOKER:
      Let me first say this recipe is great - smooth, creamy mac and cheese awaits you! However, if you own an electronic rice cooker be very careful about your liquid substitutions and how much you make.

      The first time I made this I doubled it (my cooker is large) and used milk - and created an awful mess in the process. It boiled over and got chunks of curdled milk in between the insert and the rice cooker. To this day I still have burnt milk I can't clean up. I will also note that if using milk (I used 2%) there will be little chunks of milk curdle in the mac and cheese. Blech.

      I made this tonight and followed the recipe to a T. I still doubled it, but no curdled milk mess. Of course it isn't the healthiest mac and cheese but it's quite tasty!

      Unless you know your rice cooker well and know how to cook non-rice items, proceed with caution!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      My DH is not a big pasta side dish fan and he asked me to make sure I kept this recipe. I followed the advice of other reviewers, doubled the broth and only added the cream once the rice cooker switched to warm. The first time I made it I added the cream at the beginning and it boiled all over the counter. No problems once I made the adjustments. I also steamed broccoli and added it once the cheese had melted. Just might be the only way I've ever seen my 82 year old Dad eat broccoli willingly. Thanks for posting this easy, recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      Awesome! I add a little onion powder to it, maybe a 1/4 teaspoon with the cheese. I don't turn it to warm, I unplug it and then mix in the cheese. Works perfectly for me. I use an italian blend shredded cheese: Mozzarella, asiago, parmesan and romano. Taste-y!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      I'm never making mac and cheese any other way again! I used whole milk and water, added 1 tsp of garlic salt in the first step. I used 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar and 1 cup of shredded monterrey jack cheese. thank you so much for posting this recipe, it is easy and good and will be a staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      We had this tonight. Made it with milk and water no cream. Added some chives at the end. I found it quite dry, tho it was tasty and the kids loved it. Best bit was using my rice cooker for something else and it being made in one pot! Kids gave this recipe 4 stars, and I guess I do too. Will make it again for sure. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This is awesome!!!! I used rice milk and an italian cheese blend since it was all I had, I might never make mac and cheese another way!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I'm at 5900 ft in elevation. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe - I put ALL of the liquids in the cooker at the beginning. All the liquid evaporated and when I put in the cheese, it didn't turn out creamy at all. The cheese barely melted. I decided to try again and this time, I doubled my chicken broth and did not put in the milk at the beginning. I used half and half and put that in when it switched over to keep warm along with the rest of the ingredients. Turned out perfect this time. Very easy and simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This is the best! I'm single, so I can make this and eat it different ways for several days. I use milk, instead of the heavy cream/half n half. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      I made this today and is a great recipe as is. I did change it a bit. I didn't have enough shredded cheese, so I only added 4 oz along with 1/2 jar cheddar cheese by Ragu. I didn't add butter as it didn't seem to need it and I added bacon bits and 1 1/2 cups broccoli florets and DW and I were so surprized as to how good it was. After it has cooked, let it sit in the rice cooker on warm for a few minutes and it will get a crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      This is such an AWESOME recipe!!! Thank you so much for posting this! I first tried it when I saw it in Mary Hunt's "Everyday Cheapskate" newsletter and my children have been in love with it ever since. It's quick, easy and best of all tastes great! The ingredients are all staples in my kitchen, so it's a quick fix on nights when I don't really feel like cooking. Thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This was good. I used Heavy Cream Substitute in mine a some Cheddar and Parmesan cheese combined. Ate it with chicken nuggets at the side. Made a nice , easy lunch. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Great meal and so easy to make. I will definately make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2014

      What a wonerful one! I tried it in my Redmond 250 and It's perfect, much better than in cooker. Now it can remember that reciepe and do it every day! Thank u!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      I am so glad that I read the reviews and tips on here. Thank you all for the heads up. I just made this. I used water with 2 tsp. of chicken bouillon. I increased water to 2.5 cups, glad I did...I had a few slightly crisp on the bottom (which made it more home made like) Then went it went to warmer mode, I added 1/2 each of onion powder, garlic powder, and salt. 2.5 cups of jack, pizza mixture cheese and 1 cup of fat free milk...Very YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      I really didn't enjoy this. It wasn't creamy. The pasta was cooked well but it didn't create a nice smooth creamy sauce like I had expected. I found it to be extremely greasy. I expect I'll use the leftovers for a casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Maybe its my rice cooker, but the macaroni was a bit undercooked - not creamy - and there was a dark brown crust on the underside after the macaroni cooked that I decided had to be removed. I may have used a bit too much sharp cheddar. I may try again and not add the milk until the latter step, as suggested by some. However, I am not sure the calories and fat are worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I made the recipe exactly as stated with a basic rice cooker. As is, it is WAY too salty. As far as the texture goes, it sure wasn't creamy at all. I opted for the half & half and chicken stock option as the choice was given in the recipe. It is a sticky hot mess of cheese and noodles. Very much tacky and not smooth as expected. Maybe it wouldn't be so salty if I had used the water option instead, but I'll stick to the Paula Dean Crockpot Mac & Cheese recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Made this tonight and it was great. Quick & easy and was a big hit. I made it exactly how it said and it was really creamy & delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Pretty good! I had to use milk and kraft dinner cheese and I didn't have all of the ingredients, but it still turned out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      This is the only mac n' cheese my kids will eat. There is no grainy texture, and it is kid friendly. For adults only, I would choose something a bit more interesting. When I want to lighten it up, I use the cracker barrel reduced fat cheddar cheese, half and half (instead of heavy cream). I am at high altitude (5300), and have to use about 2.25 cups of chicken stock to make it work out for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Rice Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 472.6
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    55%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 98.5 mg
    32%
    Sodium 162.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed cheeses

    salt and pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes