Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Pumpkin Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Pumpkin Pasta

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2010

      4-5 stars. I did really like the pumpkin, but if anyone knows my cooking, they know I love spice and herbs. So, without the additional seasoning ... I did find it a bit bland. But the overall flavor was very nice.

      Here are my changes. Since it was a main dish I did add sausage. I was at my local meat market and they had sage and garlic turkey sausage ... HOW perfect! But a mild Italian sausage would work too.

      I also added a medium onion, fresh chopped sage and a few red pepper flakes.

      I love romano for a bit of tang which was nice and I also added a bit of the pasta water. And for the pasta; I used penne rigate with the ribs. I find it holds the sauce better than plain penne.

      Lots of pepper for me and it was very tasty. All the flavor was there, I just needed a bit more seasoning, but that is just my taste. It was good as is, I just wanted a bit more.

      The sausage as others mentioned was a very nice addition. I love turkey or chicken best for a dish like this. I did cut in half moons and browned first.

      Very nice dish. Thx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Surprisingly good! After reading some of the reviews, I did up the spices, and made it far too spicy for our family: spices are always a personal taste, I suppose.
      I did substitute evaporated milk for the creams, and threw the onions, garlic and pumpkin altogether to cook (I'm impatient) instead of sauteing them. I will try with white wine for a special treat one day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      It was a nice change for me to make something with pumpkin in it that wasn't sweet. My husband liked it, and I thought it was ok. I didn't have a few of the ingredients, so here's what I did: I used 1 (14 oz.) can chicken broth and 1/4 c. white wine. Instead of the heavy cream, I used 1 (5 oz.) can of evaporated milk, and I omitted the sour cream altogether. For the spices, I used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. ground sage, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tsp. red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp. - 1/2 tsp. *each* pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon, and 2 tsp. dried parsley flakes. I thought this could've used something else, like chicken or chicken sausage, but I didn't have any and my peeps were hungry, so I added 8 oz. largely sliced crimini mushrooms with the onions and garlic (but I would add double that if I added them again - they got lost in all this pasta!), I topped this with shredded parmesan and served with a green salad and Irish Rosie's Irish Soda Bread (one of my favorite breads). I'm glad I tried this recipe though, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      Oh My Goodness!! I never would have thought that I would like a pasta sauce made with pumpkin. This is excellent. I made the recipe close to as it was written with a few changes. I used evaporated goat milk in place of the heavy cream, I added some crisped bacon and some thyme. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried, but I'm sure the fresh would be even better. I topped each plate with parmesan and pumpkin seeds. The kids even enjoyed it. For once in a long time I wasn't hounding them to eat their dinner!! Thank you for a recipe I will be making over and over!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      It was good, very different. I made it for when my mom was in town, another pumpkin lover. I also found it a bit bland, so I added some ground cumin chicken, and sausage for a main dish. It ended up being a bit too spicy for the kids, so on theirs I added more sour cream and cheese - it was much better. All and all we really liked it, it was a very different taste, and quite savory. It didn't knock my socks off, but it was good. I think with some more tweaking it could be a fantastic dish. Curious how others have spiced it up, will read all the comments and try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      This was so nice. The flavours were delicate. We roasted our pumpkin to make the puree. I completely forgot to put the chicken broth in, but followed all other directions. End result was that the texture was just like macaroni and cheese hahaha. Very enjoyable, very easy. Looking forward to enjoying this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      Delicious! Made this for my vegetarian friends in place of the turkey for Thanksgiving. Only changes I made were to use vegetable broth instead of chicken, and added 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese during the simmering phase. Everyone loved it! Easy and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Sorry, but I really did not like this recipe at all. I followed the advice of some of the previous reviewers and I added ground chicken and increased the spices, but I still found this to be very bland and tasteless. I would not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I would add some veggies to it but the flavour was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

    • on January 23, 2012

      Great start. Made LOTS of changes though. I used half & half instead of cream, spaghetti squash instead of pasta, parmesean cheese instead of ramano, and I added some pumpkin pie spice (1/4-1/2 tsp). I also left out the sour cream. The whole family LOVED it, even my picky 4 yr old.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      To bland as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Very Good. I added about 1/2 tsp dried thyme for more flavour. This would be wonderful with bacon or pancetta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      This was really good and easy. It didn't totally knock my socks off but the whole family REALLY enjoyed it and went back for more. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      A very nice, very mild tasting sauce that even my picky eaters liked. I served with lots of parmesan cheese, which kicked up the taste a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

    • on October 31, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! I subbed half and half for the cream and used dried parsley instead of fresh. In a strange, yet very good, way the leftovers tasted like homemade mac-n-cheese. A fun and different way to use pumpkin. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      This was amazing! I was kind of expecting something like pumpkin pie but it definitely had it's own unique flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and we still thought it tasted great! We will be making this one again and again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Yes, another savory way to eat pumpkin! Delicious and filling. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Very delicious and creamy. I have been looking for recipes that help me sneak veggies into my fussy 2 year old, and this worked like a charm. Will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Pumpkin Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 629.2
     
    Calories from Fat 194
    30%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 56.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1103.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.0 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 13.2 g
    52%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites