230 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. This is just fantastic. I made it exactly as written. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 July 04, 2012

Made this again yesterday, the things I changed was the "salt" I ommited it altogether and added thinly chopped red raddish. A truly perfect potato salad and will be my only recipe for it from now on. I like to leave it cool overnight in the fridge to let all the flavors blend, it seems the longer it sits the more flavorable it is. Thanks for posting Karen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hardryv July 17, 2011

I understand why this recipe has so many great reviews. I made for my 4th of July dinner and must say that it was perfect. I used yukon gold potatoes and mixed everything together the night before. My guests commented on the potato salad right away and everyone really liked it. I just wish I had more left over! I'm sure this will be the potato salad recipe I make from now on. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas July 04, 2011

This is the best potato salad I have ever made.... love, love, love it! I didn't have any eggs but will add them the next time I make it. Great without them though!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gammy in tx June 19, 2011

Ditto what everyone else has said!! This is my new potato salad recipe. I didn't have sweet pickle relish and used hot dog relish instead. In fact, I'm making this a second time in one week..

Like Karen, I don't like eggs, but will eat them in my new potato salad recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty in Colorado June 04, 2011

This earned rave reviews by everyone! I didn't have any bacon, so I ommitted it and it was still out of this world delicious. This one's a keeper, Karen!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseytocali May 30, 2011

Fantastic potato salad! I brought this to a picnic and was nervous as it was the first potato salad I had made. Everyone loved it and the entire batch (2.6 pounds of potatoes!) was eaten up by 10 not super hungry people. Success!!

Here are the changes I made:
1) I used 2.6 pounds of baby potatoes. I believe they were the waxy Yukon Golds
2) Didn't have bacon and therefore used 160g of pancetta. As it was not extremely fatty, I fried the pancetta and tossed the boiled and cut potatoes into the fat. Perhaps this gave it that incredible flavor
3) Didn't have sweet pickle relish and therefore chopped up 1/3 cup pickle gherkins and several teaspoon full of capers and added a large tablespoon of honey
4) Used white vinegar in place of apple cider as I didn't have any on hand
5) Omitted the eggs because I forgot to buy them

I didn't make extra dressing even though I had an extra .6 pound of potatoes and it still came out fantastic. It tasted okay right after I made it but it tasted amazing several hours later when the flavours matured. Served it the next day and it was still incredible. Worth trying this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snads April 27, 2011

Simply excellent! Your recipe has accomplished the impossible - both I, not a potato salad fan, and my fiance, a potato salad fan, loved it! The only change I made was to use scallions (green onions) in place of regular onions (same quantity), and it added a lovely little burst of color and taste. Thank you for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon Deux April 01, 2011

I have made this recipe quite a few times now, the last time being the other night. Everybody loves it whenever I make it. I don't really care for potatoe salad but I LOVE this one. It is far superior to other potatoe salads I have tried, and that includes store bought one also. I made this with brisket, and baked beans (both recipes are in my cookbook) and it went together perfectly!!! Thanks Karen!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celimab4 January 31, 2011

This is the best potato salad ever! My husband doesn't usually like potato salad but he loved this. Don't leave out the bacon, that is what makes it so tasty. I almost did because I thought it might get soggy and gross in sitting in the dressing but I fried it super crispy and it stayed that way. This will be my potato salad recipe from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brookelynne26 January 17, 2011
Creamy Potato Salad