230 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I know there is already a gazillion great reviews on this recipe, but I really felt I had to add my own. I made this with jamacian dry rubbed porksteaks tonight. Everyone just raved about the potato salad. I should have made extra. The only change I made to it was to sweat the onion and celery until the onions were soft and the celery was only half soft. This was only due to my personal tastes and had nothing to do with the original recipe. This will be my permanent mayo based potato salad from now on.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefmick April 29, 2011

I have never written a review before and you already have enough to convince anyone but this potato salad is the best I have ever had. I just finished (12:37 am) making this for a Thanksgiving potluck at church tomorrow and had to stop myself from eating it. Im so tempted to wake my DH to have him taste it, it is that good. I have never even attempted potato salad and followed your recipe exactly minus the eggs. DELICIOUS!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef WannaBe #4 November 23, 2010

This is hands down the best potato salad I've ever eaten. And, being a southern grandmother, I've had a LOT of potato salad. I may have made a mistake serving it at my party, because, like you, I will always have to make it, and no one else will be allowed! Made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lulucooks May 28, 2012

This is a great recipe Karen! I did change it up a little bit.. and even with using what I had on hand the potato salad didn't suffer.. I didn't have any red onion and didn't want the harshness of the yellow I had so I steamed some shallots and let them cool off and tossed them in. I used my homemade mayo and mustard as well as my own put up relish. I used regular vinegar, was had on hand and cut down on the pepper, personal family preference. I did add two more eggs after reading Rayna's addition. I used young celery from my garden as well. This was a show stopped at today's cookout. People loved it.. thanks again for posting a great recipe...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust June 26, 2011

WOW!!!! This is absolutely the best! I thought I made the best potato salad, but it doesn't compare to this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jprouty October 20, 2010

Excellent stuff, this potato salad. Better the next day after the flavors have had a chance to bloom. I was afraid it was going to be too sweet but it did not turn out that way. Bacon? Excellent addition. Intersting how many cooks talk about a red onion. Where do you see that in the original? It's not there! But it's great for the color.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anton Ego June 25, 2010

Dad said, "Excellent flavor!", Son said, "Good stuff!", Brandy, (the dog) said, "I don't like potatos, but if I did, this would be good!" As for me, I thought it was very good too. Guess you got the thumbs up from all of the family that tried it. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamain November 04, 2003

I can't believe anyone gave this less than 5 stars! My husband hates potatoe salal, but yet asked me to make a second batch because there was no leftovers! I didn't have celery seeds onhand, but it still turned out yummy. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I'll get a lot of mileage out of this one!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnne Conaway June 30, 2003

Very tasty! I made it the way the recipe called for, but added a little extra bacon, just to finish the package off. We all loved it and now that barbecue season is here, I'll be making it more often. Thanks Karen!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM May 07, 2003

This review blew me away beyond words. It was hands down the best potato salad I have ever tried and I am so glad I decided to try it out because this will become a new family favorite. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have celery seeds so I did it without it (not that I needed it). This recipe is superb! Thank you for sharing this masterpiece! My family had countless seconds of this and are already bugging me to make it again soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikkinzy March 09, 2013
Creamy Potato Salad