235 Reviews

Absolutely 5 stars wonderful! I omit the celery seed (personal preference), and often use sweet pickle juice instead of the cider vinegar, but otherwise follow the ingredient list. I like to add the dressing to the still warm potato cubes because I think that they absorb more flavour that way. Also, for any doubters (such as myself the first time making this) the salt amount is spot on...I feared that the dressing was too salty on its own, but potatoes apparently need that quantity, and after it has all melded together it is perfect. Honourable mention goes to the method of preparing the bacon bits...great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo August 22, 2009

I made this for a potluck in my neighborhood and I was afraid I wouldn't have enough because I couldn't stop eating it before I took it. It is FABULOUS!!! I'm making it again for myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissiesuth August 21, 2009

This recipe really makes me think of my mom . Like some thing a mother would pass down with love.Very american. I salute this dish 5 stars. Thanks karen!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimchi195818 August 08, 2009

Oh, wow! This was simple and really delicious. The dressing had a unique sweet/tang to it that I have never tasted before. I left out the bacon (none on hand) but it was great even without it. I can't wait to try it with bacon. It is my new favorite!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom August 06, 2009

When I saw the ingredients, I knew it seemed familiar, then I realized, it's a lot like Julia Child's "American Potato Salad". I couldn't wait to try it to see how it compared, and boy, was I glad I did! It was gone before my husband got a plate, so he was not pleased. I made another batch just for him, and he was very happy indeed. This is going to be the go-to recipe in my home for potato salad in the future. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl B. July 29, 2009

Loved this. I omitted the bacon and eggs and it was still delicious. Also, went with 2 Tbsp of the relish and omitted the sugar as I didn't want it to be sweet. I'd recommend making it a day in advance because it was so much better the next day, after the flavors had time to meld. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. July 27, 2009

I gave it 5 stars because there weren't 6! This could be my favorite recipe of all time! I Love the sweetness!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parris Original July 25, 2009

Darn tootin' good. I don't have anything to add that the other 7 million reviewers haven't already mentioned. Except that I didn't have any cider vinegar so I left that part out. This will be my go to potato salad recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherDiane July 23, 2009

Hey, if you cube up your potao FIRST before boiling them, it takes a fraction of the time to cook them and you don't have to fetch hot potato out of the pot or cut them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Sunfleur July 19, 2009
Creamy Potato Salad