232 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious recipe! I am making this for the holiday and I made it the night before. I had to tell my kids to save some for Thanksgiving meal and I had to pop my husbands hand because he kept taking spoon fulls out of the dish! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckendall760 November 26, 2009

this was just awesome, i made a few adjustments due to personal preference. I substituted dill pickles for the sweet and also instead of celery seed I used a few shakes of mustard seed. My bf said this is a close runner to my tater salad. Thanks for posting and will enjoy this recipe for many events to come

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sexygrneyes777 October 25, 2009

This was the best potato salad I have ever had!! I loved it and I am picky about potato salad. The only changes I made were leaving out the onions and I used white vinegar. It was wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amdubois7 October 06, 2009

I followed this recipe to a T and it was the best we have ever had. My wife use to brag about hers but she said this is better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mort September 14, 2009

1st time I made potato salad better than my mom's! I used red potatoes, deleted the relish (thought the dressing was wayyy sweet enough with all other ingredients) , cut the onion in 1/2 and it is as fabulous as the rest of the reviewers said. My 2 yr old is eating her second bowl! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim myles September 07, 2009

OUTSTANDING! This is our new family potato salad. I did sub white wine vinegar in for the apple cidar one, used Hormel Real Bacon Bits (from Costco), gratted in some carrots (just because) and didn't have celery seen, just upped the celery... and it STILL came out tasting better than anything I'd made or tasted before!!!! Thank you for sharing with my family, Karen!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strawberry Shortcake's September 05, 2009

Absolutely 5 stars wonderful! I omit the celery seed (personal preference), and often use sweet pickle juice instead of the cider vinegar, but otherwise follow the ingredient list. I like to add the dressing to the still warm potato cubes because I think that they absorb more flavour that way. Also, for any doubters (such as myself the first time making this) the salt amount is spot on...I feared that the dressing was too salty on its own, but potatoes apparently need that quantity, and after it has all melded together it is perfect. Honourable mention goes to the method of preparing the bacon bits...great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo August 22, 2009

I made this for a potluck in my neighborhood and I was afraid I wouldn't have enough because I couldn't stop eating it before I took it. It is FABULOUS!!! I'm making it again for myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissiesuth August 21, 2009

This recipe really makes me think of my mom . Like some thing a mother would pass down with love.Very american. I salute this dish 5 stars. Thanks karen!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimchi195818 August 08, 2009
Creamy Potato Salad