Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    229 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 229

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2002

      I would give you more stars if I could. I consider myself a picky eater and reluctant to try something new. But this was soooo good;top of the line potatoe salad. I am so glad you shared the recipe.The only changes I made were adding more eggs, finely chopping the celery rather than slicing it, and using yellow onions (had no red onions on hand). The salad tasted even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      Really tasty potato salad, I used my own rhubarb chutney and as I had no celery seeds I used a little celery salt instead. The added bacon is a definite plus, thanks for posting Karen. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      A wonderful creamy potato salad. I used sweet mustard pickle relish and I still used the 2 teasp of prepared mustard. It tasted great. The bacon added a beautiful flavour to the salad. The relish gave the dish an added tang. There was a little left over and I had that for lunch the next day. It was great. It keeps well. We are going to make this recipe in the future for lunches to take to work. An excellent Karen in Colorado creamy Potato Salad recipe. Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      This was soooo good. My mother said she is stealing this recipe and making it her signature potatoe salad. I added a little green onion and green bell pepper and less mayo and more mustard. Absouetley delicous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2002

      This was excellent! I usually make a differnt potato salad and was looking for something differnt to try. Tasted great, bacon added that extra flavour and the dressing was really good with the relish in it. The only thing I did differnt was add half of a finely chopped green pepper since I like it in salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      Karen, this was a *great* salad. It'll be my standard potato salad from now on. I used some Hot Chow Chow instead of the relish (Riffraff sent it to me during the first SWAP), and skipped the eggs because of poor planning. It was terrific nonetheless and it got great reviews! Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      Karen, thanks for this salad recipe. Made it just the other day for a cookout. As in the other reviews, the bacon really gives it some extra flavor and the relish some extra zing. It is a keeper and will continue to be a favorite in our house. It's fun to have some different variations on potato salads so you aren't always making the "same old one"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      I have always thought my potato salad recipe was the best until I tried this one today. OUTSTANDING, I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written, no tweaks nothing, and I was blown away at how AWESOME this is.. Thank You so much for sharing with me/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      This is a wonderful creamy potato salad worthy of any get together or summer picnic. I followed the recipe exactly and I really liked the addition of the celery seed. DH said it was the best he has ever eaten. Thank you Karen will be making this often this summer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      This salad was great. I added less bacon than the recipe called for and it was still good. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      I know there is already a gazillion great reviews on this recipe, but I really felt I had to add my own. I made this with jamacian dry rubbed porksteaks tonight. Everyone just raved about the potato salad. I should have made extra. The only change I made to it was to sweat the onion and celery until the onions were soft and the celery was only half soft. This was only due to my personal tastes and had nothing to do with the original recipe. This will be my permanent mayo based potato salad from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      I have never written a review before and you already have enough to convince anyone but this potato salad is the best I have ever had. I just finished (12:37 am) making this for a Thanksgiving potluck at church tomorrow and had to stop myself from eating it. Im so tempted to wake my DH to have him taste it, it is that good. I have never even attempted potato salad and followed your recipe exactly minus the eggs. DELICIOUS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      This is hands down the best potato salad I've ever eaten. And, being a southern grandmother, I've had a LOT of potato salad. I may have made a mistake serving it at my party, because, like you, I will always have to make it, and no one else will be allowed! Made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      This is a great recipe Karen! I did change it up a little bit.. and even with using what I had on hand the potato salad didn't suffer.. I didn't have any red onion and didn't want the harshness of the yellow I had so I steamed some shallots and let them cool off and tossed them in. I used my homemade mayo and mustard as well as my own put up relish. I used regular vinegar, was had on hand and cut down on the pepper, personal family preference. I did add two more eggs after reading Rayna's addition. I used young celery from my garden as well. This was a show stopped at today's cookout. People loved it.. thanks again for posting a great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      WOW!!!! This is absolutely the best! I thought I made the best potato salad, but it doesn't compare to this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Excellent stuff, this potato salad. Better the next day after the flavors have had a chance to bloom. I was afraid it was going to be too sweet but it did not turn out that way. Bacon? Excellent addition. Intersting how many cooks talk about a red onion. Where do you see that in the original? It's not there! But it's great for the color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      Dad said, "Excellent flavor!", Son said, "Good stuff!", Brandy, (the dog) said, "I don't like potatos, but if I did, this would be good!" As for me, I thought it was very good too. Guess you got the thumbs up from all of the family that tried it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      I can't believe anyone gave this less than 5 stars! My husband hates potatoe salal, but yet asked me to make a second batch because there was no leftovers! I didn't have celery seeds onhand, but it still turned out yummy. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I'll get a lot of mileage out of this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      Very tasty! I made it the way the recipe called for, but added a little extra bacon, just to finish the package off. We all loved it and now that barbecue season is here, I'll be making it more often. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      This review blew me away beyond words. It was hands down the best potato salad I have ever tried and I am so glad I decided to try it out because this will become a new family favorite. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have celery seeds so I did it without it (not that I needed it). This recipe is superb! Thank you for sharing this masterpiece! My family had countless seconds of this and are already bugging me to make it again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 439.5
     
    Calories from Fat 239
    54%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 69.8 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1064.7 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites