Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Potato Leek Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Potato Leek Soup

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2001

      This ranks among my very favourite soups!! I made a bunch of it and froze it in 1- and 2-serving portions. To cut down on the sodium content, I used salt substitute instead of salt, and I used homemade chicken stock (almost sodium-free) instead of store-bought cans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2002

      I made it with 3/4 cup 2% evaporated milk (instead of cream), didn't add the extra salt, and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2001

      One of the best potato leek soups I have ever tasted. Easy to make,and it truly does taste gourmet. Served with a good cornbread, it's even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

      This is very good. I have made Julia Childs' potato leek soup but this one is better! The only thing I changed was I used half and half. I'll be making this a lot this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      This is wonderful soup. I added 2 t poultry seasoning and used milk instead of the cream.It came out rich and hearty. This is definiatly a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2002

      Great recipe and extremely easy to make. My husband drizzled a touch of hot sauce on top to give it an extra bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I used this recipe as a reference and it was excellent. I used 2 leeks and one onion. I have a method when I make soup learned from a chef. I always saute the veggies and herbs in a bit of oil for at least 20 min very slowly. Then I added the potatoes. Finally I add broth, I use enough broth to cover the potatoes by half inch. Cook the potatoes until they are done and then puree. Then I put it through a strainer and you get about a tbsp of bits. I used celery instead of celery seed so there were a few strings in there. Also got rid of the thyme but flavor remains. Soup was smooth as velvet and delicious. If it is too thick for your taste add more broth. You can add it in much easier than take it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Oh, yum! I used a little bit more flavorful veggie broth base and added corn and cheese. The best potato soup I've made yet, and I'll keep coming back for me:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Also used this recipe as a reference, great soup! I first cooked potatoes on the side, drained half of the starchy water, then pureed the potatoes with the remaining liquid. That way I used less chicken stock to create a soup lower in sodium. I also threw in a secret ingredient - 2 slices of bacon, chopped - first browning them in a bit of butter then sauteeing the veggies until soft and adding all to the soup. Greatly enhancing the flavor and replacing salt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      This is so easy. I made it on a Friday after work and served it with a loaf of Asiago French bread from a local bakery. I didn't have celery seed, but had a stalk of celery left in the fridge, so I chopped the onion and celery together in the food processor. Also used more leeks (I had to use them up!). I have to watch fat intake, so used lowfat milk, but only enough to thin soup a little. This is a keeper, especially since I used ingredients I needed to use up before they got tossed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Made as directed. The only change I might make next time is to use less thyme. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Great simple recipe. What I did was instead of boiling the water and chuck in the ingredients, I stir-fried the onion with leek, and boiled the cubed potatoes in another pot on the side. Once the onion and the leek released their aroma, then I added the broth. Bring to boil and chuck in the boiled potatoes (by boiling them on the side gets rid of some of the starch, lower-fat) and bring to boil again. Took out about 2/3 of the soup, food process it with some milk, pour it back, bring to boil again and season. Amazing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      An excellent, tasty & filling soup! I used half & half and a clove of fresh garlic but I think it would be very tasty & even healthier made with a low fat milk. Thanx Lorraine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      This was a delicious soup and very easy to make. I revised as follows: used half & half instead of the heavy cream; sauteed the leeks and onions in 2 T. of butter before adding the broth; used fresh garlic (I never cook with garlic powder); added dill, chives, and parsley since I didn't have thyme; added 2 more t. of butter when I pureed the soup. This is a recipe I would definitely make again - even in a larger batch! It disappeared very fast. (resubmiting this as I forgot to add the stars!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      This was just fabulous. I made it exactly as written except for using 2% milk in place of the cream and I used my immersion blender instead of a potato masher, and left a few whole pieces of potato in there as well. I have tried other potato leek recipes but none are as easy as this one. I will definately make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      Add me to the list of those who love this soup! I used broth I had frozen instead of the cans. I used about four cups, but I like potato leek a bit thicker, so next time, maybe only 3 cups. Also, didn't have the cream, so I used sour cream - excellent! I garnished this with a little freshly grated parmesan and some chopped green onion. Add bread and a salad and I'm in heaven! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      This is the best potato and leek soup recipe I have found! I cooked the onion and leek off in a bit of oil to soften then added the remaining ingredients as per the recipe. I followed the recipe closely but I added a dash of chilli flakes to give it a little kick. Its a yummy recipe, all those I cooked for enjoyed it including my partner who generally only eats meaty soups!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      Mmmm...warm and soothing on a frigid snowy day. We usually make a very simple, basic potato soup recipe that we adore, but I had some leeks to use up and decided to give this recipe a try. I used veggie broth and sauteed the leeks and onion lightly and then added them to the simmering potatoes and used half cream and half milk. Really easy and delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

    • on July 31, 2013

      Pretty decent...good, creamy flavor. I have had better, but not by much. Gave it 5 stars due to impressive flavor with such an easy and QUICK preparation. I grow my own leeks and herbs so I didnt have much to buy. I tthought it was still a little anemic, flavorwise, so added a chickeb bouillon cube. Went a little mad with the immersion blender and didnt leave any chunks, but that's MY fault, not the recipes. Next time I make this,and there WILL be a next time, I will cut up and brown several slices of thick bacon in the pot prior to adding the chicken broth. Very good all around for a quick soup, very hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Potato Leek Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (396 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 386.1
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    43%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 61.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1231.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites