13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. I made it exactly as written. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 January 03, 2015

This is a super quick and easy recipe, with great flavor. The vegetables took a bit longer than 10 minutes to be cooked properly though - maybe 20 minutes or so. I love being able to sneak in some vegetables for my "meat and potatoes" husband. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caraba14 December 27, 2012

Brilliant! Quick and easy and so delicious we've made it twice this week. I use more cheese..but then I just love cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ag1l3kn1ght April 24, 2011

I used soy milk and vegan cheese, as well as omitting the ham, and this was a great vegan chowder. I added 2 cups of extra water at the end to make it a little thinner and stretch the quantity, and also needed to increase the salt and pepper a little, but my kids loved it, as well as grown-ups. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HippieVeganMamaTo5 January 01, 2010

Wonderful!!! I really enjoyed this chowder. The balance of flavors was perfect. I followed the recipe, omitting the garlic. I did add a sprinkling of celery salt, which is a must in all my potato soup/chowder recipes, but that's just my personal preference. Thank you for posting Karen, it rivals any restaurant fair. Made for Cookathon for kzbhansen. Keeping you in my thoughts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely January 22, 2009

A lovely warm and filling meal for a cold night. I omitted the carrots (didn't have any) and just added extra broccoli and onions. I also sauteed the garlic (and I added extra - 2 whole cloves for 2 servings) and onions before adding the rest of the veggies and water. I also added some leftover honey ham that I had in my freezer, which added a nice flavor to the chowder. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews October 07, 2008

Excellent chowder! It's a meal in itself. I doubled the onions, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It's thick and cheesey and has a nice color from the carrots and broccoli. This is a keeper for sure! Thanx for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* October 02, 2008

I made this today, using all the ingredients except onions and garlic. I also blended the water, potatoes, carrots and broccoli before adding the white sauce. Next time, I would blend before adding the broccoli, as it had a slight green color!! The family didn't seem to mind though but I should have known better. This is a great recipe if you are short on time as it does not need to simmer to complete the taste. Will probably taste wonderful tomorrow though! We will have this again! KCShell

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCShell October 15, 2006

OH MY GOSH! This was amazing it was my fist home made soup.....and everyone just swooned over it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniBlaze May 10, 2006

i added 1 can of evaporated milk and 1 cup regular milk .this is really good .thank you for posting .dee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. April 26, 2006
Creamy Potato/Cheddar Chowder