Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2010

      Loved this! Used Cream Soup Substitutes and light organic sour cream. Didn't have enough buttery crackers so added some poppy seed gourmet crackers. Just about any cracker would work well. Made this and froze, then thawed and baked. So, so good and the cracker topping was nice and crunchy. A favorite of my pickiest child :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      I knew this casserole would be very rich so I decided to add some sauteed onion, celery and mushrooms to the chicken mixture. I liked the flavor and texture they added. It does need additional salt and pepper however, otherwise it is darn near perfection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      wow- this was awesome. I had planned to use a rotisserie chicken from my grocery store, but all they had was cooked turkey. Turned out great- I'm a much bigger fan of chicken than turkey, but the bf thought it was fantastic. I've eaten this at a friends house a long time ago, and I remembered her mom said the secret ingredient was the club house crackers instead of the "round buttery" ones. They rocked! thanks for the share!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Exactly as I remember from my Mom's table. So creamy, homey, and comforting. I realized too late that I was out of poppy seeds, so this was really poppy seed-less chicken, but it was wonderful just the same. Served over white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      This is comfort food. I had everything all ready to go in the oven tonight and realized I didn't have any more poppy seeds so I toasted some sesame seeds and tossed those in. I think I like it even better. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      We love this! Serve with a pretty green salad and the whole family is happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This is outstanding we all loved it, kids and all!! Made exactly as written, next time I am going to double it so we have leftovers, Thanks for a great one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Great comfort food! I used half the amount of sour cream called for and served this over white rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I have been making this for about 30 years....it has always been my kid's and my husband's favorite casserole....I usually add about 1/2 cup (or more )additional sour cream...I also salt my chicken while it is cooking....I just sprinkle the poppy seeds on top and slice the butter and lay on top of crackers....I never count the crackers or measure, I use one tube and crush with my hands.....so easy and so delicious....I am surprised that more people have not rated it... Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I have meant to rate this long before now. I grew up eating this my whole life, however, this recipe is even better than my mom's! The main difference is using more sour cream & more poppy seeds, but it is WONDERFUL! I serve with green beans and wild rice-adding fresh lemon juice before eating adds a great flavor too-it "cuts" some of the creaminess. Thank you-my bf LOVES it and some of his friends say it's the best they have ever had. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      My mom has made this for years! One of my absolute favorites - I crave it sometimes. :) She always increased the cracker topping because it was so yummy, and sprinkled the poppyseeds on top rather than mixing them in. I add salt and pepper to taste in the filling, about 1/2 and 1/4 tsp respectively. I love this served over rice with a side of broccoli or other green vegetable. Thanks for posting it - now I'll never lose it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      This fits the bill as a comfort food. I mixed the poppyseeds in with the topping instead of the filling, to match a similar recipe I had used earlier. Served over rice, with mixed vegetables on the side. The topping loses the "crunch" when leftovers are reheated in the microwave, but the flavor was still good. DH enjoyed, and DS, who usually rejects most "cream of ..." casseroles, ate his serving without complaint. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I got a similar recipe from a church cookbook, this is TDF! Instead of counting crackers, I just use a tube and a half of Ritz, it's just the right amount. Thanks for your post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      A dear friend brought this dinner to me when I was recovering form surgery. Yes defiantly comfort food and a crowd pleaser everyone in our family loves this even my fussiest eaters. When I make this, I always make a double to quad batch because it freezes so nice for an extra ready-made meal. Since my surgery (four years ago), I have made this many times. We found that the poppy seeds are not that important but the Ritz crackers are and it heats up nice the next day. I have had it over butter noodles but rice is our favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      This casserole is absolutely awesome, it is so easy to make and is just delicious!!! I have been making this since I got the recipe from my sister about ten years ago. The only difference is that I make 1 1/2 of the crackers(60) because we just love the topping and I serve it over noodles. I usually bake blueberry muffins and make a salad to serve with the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      This is my 10 year old son's favorite meal. When I am in a hurry I have made this using a roasted chicken from the deli (Sam's has really good roasted chicken at a reasonable price).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      10 star recipe- we LOVE this- have been making it for a few years- love it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This is a great chicken casserole! I first found this in my "Southern Living Easy Weeknight Favorites" cookbook and made it for my parents. My mom still talks about it years later as one of her favorites. The sour cream gives it a good flavor that is a nice change from the typical mayo casserole recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      My mom makes the same casserole. It's so yummy! We usually use another can of cream of chicken soup and serve it over brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      I love this recipe - it's an old favorite! I add 2 tbsp of dry sherry to the soup/sour cream mixture for a little deeper flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 570.8
     
    Calories from Fat 365
    64%
    Total Fat 40.6 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 18.5 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 146.4 mg
    48%
    Sodium 931.9 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites