21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this! Used Cream Soup Substitutes and light organic sour cream. Didn't have enough buttery crackers so added some poppy seed gourmet crackers. Just about any cracker would work well. Made this and froze, then thawed and baked. So, so good and the cracker topping was nice and crunchy. A favorite of my pickiest child :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 31, 2010

I knew this casserole would be very rich so I decided to add some sauteed onion, celery and mushrooms to the chicken mixture. I liked the flavor and texture they added. It does need additional salt and pepper however, otherwise it is darn near perfection.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 08, 2006

wow- this was awesome. I had planned to use a rotisserie chicken from my grocery store, but all they had was cooked turkey. Turned out great- I'm a much bigger fan of chicken than turkey, but the bf thought it was fantastic. I've eaten this at a friends house a long time ago, and I remembered her mom said the secret ingredient was the club house crackers instead of the "round buttery" ones. They rocked! thanks for the share!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FullyClothedChef November 08, 2011

Great comfort food! I used half the amount of sour cream called for and served this over white rice. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj November 12, 2009

I have been making this for about 30 years....it has always been my kid's and my husband's favorite casserole....I usually add about 1/2 cup (or more )additional sour cream...I also salt my chicken while it is cooking....I just sprinkle the poppy seeds on top and slice the butter and lay on top of crackers....I never count the crackers or measure, I use one tube and crush with my hands.....so easy and so delicious....I am surprised that more people have not rated it... Thanks for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive October 11, 2009

I have meant to rate this long before now. I grew up eating this my whole life, however, this recipe is even better than my mom's! The main difference is using more sour cream & more poppy seeds, but it is WONDERFUL! I serve with green beans and wild rice-adding fresh lemon juice before eating adds a great flavor too-it "cuts" some of the creaminess. Thank you-my bf LOVES it and some of his friends say it's the best they have ever had. DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALC June 15, 2009

My mom has made this for years! One of my absolute favorites - I crave it sometimes. :) She always increased the cracker topping because it was so yummy, and sprinkled the poppyseeds on top rather than mixing them in. I add salt and pepper to taste in the filling, about 1/2 and 1/4 tsp respectively. I love this served over rice with a side of broccoli or other green vegetable. Thanks for posting it - now I'll never lose it! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 April 29, 2009

This fits the bill as a comfort food. I mixed the poppyseeds in with the topping instead of the filling, to match a similar recipe I had used earlier. Served over rice, with mixed vegetables on the side. The topping loses the "crunch" when leftovers are reheated in the microwave, but the flavor was still good. DH enjoyed, and DS, who usually rejects most "cream of ..." casseroles, ate his serving without complaint. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC October 14, 2008

Exactly as I remember from my Mom's table. So creamy, homey, and comforting. I realized too late that I was out of poppy seeds, so this was really poppy seed-less chicken, but it was wonderful just the same. Served over white rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs October 29, 2011

This is comfort food. I had everything all ready to go in the oven tonight and realized I didn't have any more poppy seeds so I toasted some sesame seeds and tossed those in. I think I like it even better. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea September 19, 2010
Creamy Poppy Seed Chicken Casserole