Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Pink Vodka Sauce with Penne Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Pink Vodka Sauce with Penne

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2011

      Great recipe. Better than restaurant quality. I substituted chopped basil for the parsley. I also rendered off a couple slices of finely diced bacon before the onions and garlic which added alot of great flavor. I added a pound of medium shrimp at the end. I only used one can of Italian plum tomatoes with the juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Great recipe. I cut the recipe in half and only used one can of crushed tomatoes. I don't eat red meat and I know most vodka sauces are made with prosciutto to enhance the flavor so I cooked about 4 strips of turkey bacon and added it in with the crushed tomato. I served this with some whole wheat penne and it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      This is definately a keeper!! I cut the recipe in half and otherwise followed the instructions...just the right amount of kick (we love spice) and one I will make again. Oh yes, I did add some fresh basil to the dish. Thank you for posting. Made for Think Pink 2012 tag game. Next time I think I will add some italian sausage since DH wanted some meat but it was great the way it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I only made a halve serve, but when i halved it was still saying to use 2 cans, i only used one which was perfect for me. I left out the parsley and cheese at the end by mistake, however did add about a shake of masterfoods portuguese chicken seasoning, and it was lovely. The vodka was very nice in it. will definatley make again, and thank you for the easy to follow recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      I noticed a few people mentioning they cut back on some ingredients,you know you can change the serving amount in the top right corner of the recipe and it will change the ingredient amount.

      I made this recipe to serve 4 and it was just the right amount and it was delish! Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      After reading all the great reviews about this recipe, I was so excited to try it. I have had vodka sauce at various italian restaurants and love it, so I was eager to try it on my own. This recipe however, is missing something. I tried to figure out what it was on my own, but to no avail. The recipe makes a TON of sauce and calls for way too much onion, so I would recommend cutting the whole recipe in half and only using 1/4 of an onion. Also, it turned out very very bitter. I added a little sugar as I have to tomato sauces in the past, but it still needed something more. Then added some oregano which helped but didnt fix it. Added some mushrooms as well which was good but I still would definitely not make this particular recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      This was really delicious. The recipe makes a lot of sauce. Next time I will use one large can of crushed tomatoes and a smaller can of tomato sauce. I also added peas which we enjoyed. Thanks for the recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      Rita...this is delicious, made it for supper tonight. We had Vodka leftover from New Years this year that I wanted to use up, cause we were are not vodka lovers. I had this recipe in my cookbook, and decided to give it a try, I admit, I was a wee bit leary at first wondering about using vodka, but I was certainly NOT dissapointed, the vodka gives it such a wonderful flavor, this is a recipe that I will be making again, my DH and myself enjoyed it very much. Thank you Rita for posting :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

      Delicious. Made by request and whole family enjoy it. I halved the recipe but added nearly the full amount of cream (actually used half & half). I will use heavy creme next time to see it that will make a difference in the amount used. In any case, YUM! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      So yummy and so easy! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      I was very excited to try this recipe. I was quite disappointed after trying for I feel like it was missing something, there was not much flavor. It is not bad for a base recipe, but definitely need to make some changes to bring out more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Delish! I halved the recipe and used whole wheat penne and basil rather than the parsley. Easy to make and very tasty. Thanks Rita for sharing. Made for Think Pink 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      Great recipe! This reminded me of something my mom would make as I was growing up. I really loved it as did the rest of my family. I did like some other reviewers and I rendered of about 4 slices of bacon and then minced them up real well to use as a garnish, but I followed everything else exactly. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for a lovely meal Rita~! Made for Think Pink 2013!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Nothing I can add to previous reviews, I stuck to recipe, certainly could add to this but I love it exactly as is! Always one of my favourite dishes, thank you, Rita, this does not disappoint! Made for Think Pink 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      Great Recipe -Pancetta makes it PERFECT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      I've never had vodka sauce before, so I'm not sure how it compares to other recipes. While the sauce was rich and creamy, it seemed a bit bland. I would have preferred more garlic & maybe red pepper flakes. However, my daughter said it was very similar to a dish she had in a restaurant, so maybe it is supposed to have a more mild taste than I was expecting. It honestly reminded me of tomato soup with cheese and noodles in it! But, it was good. I grilled some chicken breast which we cut up and added to it on our plates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Put two strips of bacon and some spicy red chili pepper for maximum effect! Vodka sauce is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I made this recipe last night and I thoroughly enjoyed it! After reading the reviews below I may add some prosciutto next time... I will probably cut the recipe in half also! I also used whole wheat penne! Great recipe! Thank you!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

    • on February 27, 2011

      I am just getting ready to serve this dish. the sauce is absolutely wonderful! I didn't have vodka in the house so I put in a few splashes of white wine. WOW! I can't wait to sit down and eat~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Pink Vodka Sauce with Penne

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 430.0
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    28%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 273.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 10.3 g
    41%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes