16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh yum, yum, yum, this oatmeal is so tasty! I loved the flavour combination and the ease of prep in the microwave. I had never made my oatmeal in the microwave before, but it worked so well, Ill make it again this way, for sure. I had old-fashioned oats, so the cook time was a little longer.
3 ts jam was too much for my taste, I think next time Ill just use 2.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, Little Italy.
Made and reviewed for Think Pink October 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 12, 2012

Using just enough milk to cover my oats in place of water makes for a creamier oatmeal. I love PB with strawberry jam, so I plopped in strawberry instead of raspberry. I prefer more PB to jam like the recipe, and it's fun to make a PB face with a jam smiley. Hey, you're never too old to be a little silly. :) :P :S :B 8B ^_^ >_< O_o

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FuzzyKiwi July 24, 2009

Made for "Tag It Red!" I actually have now had this twice for breakfast. The first time I made it as written and thought that the peanut butter flavor was a little too much. The second time I made this, I reduced the peanut butter by half and it was much better. Thanks for posting this Little Italy ~ I'll be making it often for breakfast since I love PB&J.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft February 08, 2009

Good. Quick and easy to make before running to work...nice for those cold mornings. Have used both raspberry and strawberry jams on different occasions - both are good. Sometimes add a dash of cinnamon. Will try with banana next time as one reviewer suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms January 29, 2009

I gave this 5 stars. My family loved this! It taste just like a PB&J sandwich. I served this for what my niece and newphew call big breakfast Sunday. We had this oatmeal with Baked French Toast Casserole With Maple Syrup, maple flavored sausage, and coffe/orange juice. I change the recipe a bit. I used grape jelly as that is what I had on hand. I have made this many more times since having it for our big breakfast with 4 Tsp of jelly and 3 is enough 4 over rides the peanut butter and it taste best with 3 tsp. And yet I've had to change this recipe a bit more. I now use all natural peanut butter. Sugar free jelly (any flavor I have). Plus I have it wrote on my card (must of came from here) that "If using old fashioned oats add 45 seconds plus 1 tsp jam or more. Just make sure you use a regular cereal bowl or this will grow all over your microwave. Also my card states to use bananas with the peanut butter. Yum maybe tomorrow. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut September 17, 2008

awesome! i used milk instead of water though (personal preference, i always have my oatmeal with milk). thanks a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.sugiarto May 25, 2008

This idea popped into my head the other day, so I searched 'zaar and found this! I didn't want the flavors to be overpowering, so I used a teaspoon of smooth natural peanut butter and two teaspoons of black cherry preserves. Half a cup of water didn't seem like it would be enough (I used a packet of Quaker Organic instant oatmeal), so I poured in about another 1/3 cup and added a packet of Splenda before I microwaved it for the first time. This was an interesting-tasting bowl of oatmeal... I think that, for me, it will take some getting used to!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokenburner May 23, 2008

Finally an oatmeal that the kids will eat. I did have to sprinkle a bit of brown sugar on the top because they didn't want the jelly...but still a nutritious breakfast that will stick with them . Thank You!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Lou Who April 20, 2008

This warm, yummy recipe goes down just right on a winter's morning. I love the fact that it's fast, microwavable and requires so little ingredients to make something so amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJRsGirl January 14, 2008

I'm a true oatmeal lover and enjoy trying different ways to prepare it. This was a pretty tasty version! I did modify it for my taste a bit using only 1 tbl. crunchy peanut butter and the full 3 tsp. of jam (strawberry). Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 October 02, 2007
Creamy Peanut Butter & Jam Oatmeal