Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Orzo With Ham and Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Orzo With Ham and Peas

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2009

      Delicious!! We substituted chicken for ham and corn for the peas, and came out great. This is definitely one we will make again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      We really enjoyed this. Simple yet comforting and easy to make :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! We've made it a few times now and really enjoy it. It's mild enough to give to my 9 month old (and easy for him to eat) yet flavorful enough for us all to appreciate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      Great recipe! I keep chopped ham in the freezer so this was super easy on a busy weeknight. Simple flavors even the kids enjoyed. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This was good, basically a grown up mac-n-cheese. I didn't have a shallot so I used 1/4 cup of minced onion, and I used whole wheat orzo. I served the peas on the side since all I had was canned peas and I didn't want them to break apart in the pasta. I halfed the recipe and still got 4 good size servings out of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Really good. I loved the sweetness the peas gave it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      So very easy to make. We have enough for left overs another night. The whole family enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Yum! a nice creamy pasta dish. We only made 1/2 a batch because I didn't have enough orzo. But I used full amounts of peas & ham. Served with salad. Cheers KelBel

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Oh so easy and oh so delicious! Made a half batch for me and the grandbabies (for whom I was baby sitting) and we gobbled it right up. A nice flavor and mild enough for toddlers. The grownups didn't want to leave to go out for dinner when they smelled the aroma when I uncovered it to serve. I used fat free half-and-half and didn't need to use any reserved liquid. It was perfect just as it was. Will definitely be making this again. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Made exactly as written & loved it! I was in need of comfort food & this dish did the trick. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      This was very tasty and a great idea for leftover ham. Only thing different I did was add some extra cheese. :) Lots of cheese for our house! Thanks KelBel!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      This is pretty good; it definitely will reappear at our house. I cut the cheese back to 1/2 cup so it wouldn't be too heavy. Next time I'll add more peas to get a full serving of vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      This sounded so good I began to make it before realizing I didn't have everything I needed. So I used lowfat evap milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2, and frozen mixed vegetables instead of just peas. It was delish. It also re-heats well in the microwave, on low, covered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      What a great way to use up my leftover Christmas ham! I did not have any shallots, so I subbed a little bit of yellow onion. The whole family loved it and it is simple to make. Thanks KelBel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      This is yummy, and so quick for a weeknight meal. I used evaporated milk instead of half and half, but added about a tsp of butter to make it creamier. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It was very creamy and delicious, and I loved the smaller pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      This is fantastic! I think I've found my newest comfort food. I had to modify it to fit my needs by using turkey ham, soy milk in place of the half and half, and soy parmesan. Even with those changes it turned out fantastic. Probably not as thick as it would have been, but I just didn't add any of the reserved cooking liquid and it turned out perfectly creamy and delicious. I'll definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Orzo With Ham and Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.6
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    32%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 55.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 894.7 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites