Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2010

      I've never had this at Outback, but this is a terrific soup. I made it exactly as written, and was very pleased with the creamy complexity of flavors. This is a winner - thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This recipe is AMAZING!! My husband & I recently went to Outback to find that their Creamy Onion Soup had been discontinued. :( This is a GREAT copycat!! It tastes exactly like Outback's. We are in LOVE with this soup ;) Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      I worked at The Outback for 2.5 years. This is missing SAGE not bay leaves. I believe the correct amount was 1/8 to 1/4 tsp. depending on your taste. Not one recipe I found online shows sage, but its in there. I have made my recipe with the sage for my Mother-in-Law who is an Outbackaholic and this was her fave item. She swears by my recipe as exactly the same. Trust me I can tell the difference in a NY minute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      I love this recipe and today is going to be my third time to make it. I don't like to cook anything in my kitchen, that has no air-conditioning, for two hours, so I do it faster. I use cornstarch instead of flour so that saves cooking time, and I cook the onions for about twenty minutes so when I add the cheese sauce it is basically cooked and I let it cook while I serve drinks and make a salad. Also, I do not like Velveeta that much so I use white extra sharp cheddar and it is scrumptious. Thank you so much for this, my husband loves you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I just trying I loved almost like Outback even better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      Made this the evening after having tasted the soup for the first time at Outback -- it's delicious! Arguably better than Outback's soup! I pureed the onions before adding them in as my husband prefers it that way, which was the only change I made to this spectacular recipe. It disappeared in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      This is amazing!!!! Thank You for having this on here it has always been a family favorite when we have gone to Outback but now you cant get it all the time there. When I served this I was told that we wont be able to keep onions in the house:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I made this for lunch, today. I used 2% milk and Cheese Whiz for the Velveeta, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was a little thinner than Outback but lacked nothing in flavor!! This recipe will go in my permanent collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I googled this today and made it tonight. Very easy and I had all the ingredients on hand. I added a little white wine and some shredded cheddar jack cheese when serving to give that stringy affect you get in Outback. It is very good and tastes amazingly like the real thing. I have tried a similar recipe in the past but I think the bay leaves do the trick. Thanks for the recipe...it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Made this for thanksgiving and everyone asked me for the recipe. Fairly easy to make. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Really good. Tastes very much like Outback's. If you are serving it as a main course for 2, definitely double the recipe. I also added garlic salt & Emeril's Bayou Blast, which made it saltier, but I like a little extra seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Awesome. Do it just like she says with one exception, DOUBLE the recipe or you will surely be wanting for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Perfect copycat recipe, it tastes just like the restaurants! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Just finished this recipe!! It is wonderful. I did not think I could get as close to Outback as this. I believe the bay leaves are the key!! This is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Very easy soup recipe. It only takes half the time stated. Although hubby and I did really enjoy this soup we both thought it to be just a bit salty so next time I make it I will use unsalted butter and low sodium chicken broth. Other than that, very nice. Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was extremely yummy - I made it exactly as the recipie stated - this is a keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      The recipe is a little time consuming but worth it. I used only 3 bay leaves, but probably will use 4 the next time, also will add more onios and a little more pepper to make it more like the Outback's soup. It is definitely a very good likeness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I've now been making this recipe for about two years and it is absolutely the best soup I've ever made! I didn't change anything, except when I multiplied the recipe X4 the Bay leaves amount seemed a little high, so I did not add all of them. This soup is a hit every time I make it, no matter where I take it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This recipe is right on the money. The soup is exactly like Outback's. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      This is absolutely the right recipe if you're looking to duplicate the Outback's soup. Delicious and one of my all time favorite comfort foods! Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.6
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    66%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 36.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 885.0 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Velveeta cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes