17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor of this was good, but I like a thicker salad dressing. Will make again, but will use Greek yogurt in place of the buttermilk. Made for Healthy Choices ABC.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft May 10, 2011

This delicious dressing was served over a salad consisting of: heirloom lettuce (dark purplish leaves), cucumbers, red bell, carrots and white cabbage. I used local clover honey, raw organic apple cider vinegar and Coleman's mustard. The longer the dressing sits the better it tastes. Made for Make My Recipe Downunder/September.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 14, 2013

Made this with the buttermilk, but also almost doubled the amount of mustard! Then I took the hint from Deantini's recipe & allowed it to chill in the frig for a bit over 24 hours & we had a very satisfying creamy dressing, though I was the one who particularly enjoyed the mustardy taste! Thanks so much for this great recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 08, 2011

I think this dressing was great, only a little to vinegar-y. I would cut the vinegar a little bit, and it would be perfect (however, I did substitute buttermilk with 1c milk 1 tbsp vinegar which does = regular buttermilk, but it may have made a smidgen of a difference). Obviously, as people say, its not a thick dressing, but I stirred up my salad, and I had great taste on every bite, so it was fine. More the consistency of Italian than ranch dressing. Calorie wise, its great, so thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amberann1011 January 06, 2011

Based on some of the other reviews I decided to use Greek yogurt in place of the buttermilk. It made a delicious creamy and rich salad dressing without added fat. The honey was a little overpowering for me and something I might cut back on a bit next go and I do plan on making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG December 12, 2010

3 3/4 stars, This is OK, not a favorite for us. I did use Balkan yogurt with more of the liquid on top and it was a good consistency. I used organic honey and organic apple cider vinegar. Made for MAKE MY RECIPE~Tag Game. Spring Ed'n.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat November 18, 2010

Based on other reviewers comments on the consistency I first made this with yoghurt - which did not work out at all. Then I made as posted but let sit in the fridge overnight. This really does help and it thickened nicely, so you sort of need to make this ahead. I used regular milk and added the vinegar and let sit for a bit before adding the remaining ingredients (milk vinegar = buttermilk). I am not much of a sweet dressing kind of person so the review is based on my DH comments, he found it really good over a salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini November 04, 2010

VERY runny, even after refrigeration. Didn't taste bad, but I really didn't like the consistency. Next time I would use yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha October 24, 2010

I made this and served on a salad of baby greens. Yum! Thanks Pat! Made for Make My Recipe-Australian.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 19, 2010

Great flavor. Served on a side salad, but next time will serve of a salad that has roasted chicken and this would be wonderful on chicken. Made one change based on other reviews saying dressing was to thin, so used 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 mayo. Must say this honey mustard dressing will give all others a run for there money. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 01, 2010
Creamy Mustard Dressing