Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Mushroom Sauce/Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Mushroom Sauce/Gravy

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2009

      Followed this recipe exactly - quick & easy preparation - tasty sauce that can be used with a variety of foods - served it yesterday as a gravy for meatloaf/mashed potato dinner - will definitely continue to use

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Awesome....added small amount of finely chopped onions too and use 1/2 and 1/2 as someone else mentioned. Used the gravy the next day over a round roast and let it cook in crockpot all day on low while at work......meat fell apart and put all of it over mashed taters.......mmmmmmmmm.....it was rock and roll!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Easy! I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of whipping cream. I think I will use chicken stock instead of the wine next time. I will add in a little salt too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Not sure what to put as rating, as it didn't come out right for me. I ended up with a dough like consistency when whisk flour & butter. Adding the wine & styock didn't improve matters much! I ended up adapting it to make a diff sauce, which turned out nice.


      ***UPDATE***

      Have since realised where I went wrong! I should've added liquid a bit at a time and completely mixed in before adding next bit. Fab sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Wow!! I used whole wheat flour, beef stock and ff half and half. Made this to go over hamburger steaks with squash from my garden. The best mushroom sauce I have ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      This was SUPER!! I followed it exactly as written except I had to use half-n-half in place of the whipping cream and I omitted the cheese. I served this on veal liver smothered in onions and mashed potatoes. This really made the meal. It's going to my tried and true file to be used again and again. Thank you for another fine recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Very good, I ended up using just milk instead of the whipping cream cause it was all I had on hand, but it still tasted yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This is very similar to a mushroom sauce I used to make years ago: one of those long-lost, sadly missed recipes that fond memory has made probably more flavoursome than it actually was! As I was wanting a sauce rather than a gravy, I used considerably less stock - I used my Vegetable Stock - but the full quota of wine. I also added some minced garlic in step 1. A KITTENCAL recipe without garlic: I was shocked! ;) I used Greek yoghurt instead of the cream and omitted the parmesan. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I shall be making it often to use with various dishes. Made on this occasion for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Absolutely delicious!!! I was great with the Chicken Wellington and would be great on anything. So yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This is dern good! I did a skinny version using Smart Balance Light and FF Half & Half... and no one was the wiser! I also used what I had on hand - which included half portabella mushrooms which I actually thought added a great flavor! Fantastic over Bacon Wrapped Chicken (Oamc)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Unbelieveable! Made the sauce, then put in the crockpot with meatballs on low for a couple of hours. Got rave reviews as part of the Christmas dinner. I am making it again tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Absolutly wonderful! Will make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Excellent gravy! I never seem to be able to get gravy to thicken but this thickened beautifully. I placed a nice amount on a plate then put Chicken Wellington (Puff Pastry-Wrapped Chicken) on top of it, then put a little more over the puff pastry. Mmm!! The parmesan isn't optional in my opinion it REALLY brought out the flavor of the white wine for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This was delicious - I made it with the Chicken Wellington (Puff Pastry-Wrapped Chicken). Thank you for sharing your recipes Kitten : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This sauce was fabulous! My only complaint was that it did not turn golden brown even when i followed the recipe exactly. It's a good pasta sauce though. Thanks kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Fantastic as usual!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Yum! Used with the Chicken wellington.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      This was awesome on steak, I have been searching the net for so long and have tried many but this is the one I will be using from now on. Heaps better than I have ever had in restuarants so do yourself a favour and try it! Hubby was thrilled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I adored this sauce; it was exactly how I thought it would be. It was earthy yet decadent and not TOO mushroomy for the Picky Ones who don't like to eat "fungus", but who actually conceded to eating half their plate this time. I served this sauce over cheese tortellini. I can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Skipped the salt as mine turned out slightly salty perhaps due to the chicken stock used. But the creamy golden color and texture were really appetising and did go so well with the wellington chicken! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Mushroom Sauce/Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 503.8
     
    Calories from Fat 377
    74%
    Total Fat 41.9 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 25.6 g
    128%
    Cholesterol 121.5 mg
    40%
    Sodium 434.5 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites