29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Followed this recipe exactly - quick & easy preparation - tasty sauce that can be used with a variety of foods - served it yesterday as a gravy for meatloaf/mashed potato dinner - will definitely continue to use

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwoodxmn December 27, 2009

Awesome....added small amount of finely chopped onions too and use 1/2 and 1/2 as someone else mentioned. Used the gravy the next day over a round roast and let it cook in crockpot all day on low while at work......meat fell apart and put all of it over mashed taters.......mmmmmmmmm.....it was rock and roll!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bob p. October 02, 2013

Easy! I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of whipping cream. I think I will use chicken stock instead of the wine next time. I will add in a little salt too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz November 04, 2010

Not sure what to put as rating, as it didn't come out right for me. I ended up with a dough like consistency when whisk flour & butter. Adding the wine & styock didn't improve matters much! I ended up adapting it to make a diff sauce, which turned out nice.


***UPDATE***

Have since realised where I went wrong! I should've added liquid a bit at a time and completely mixed in before adding next bit. Fab sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natunderdown August 19, 2010

Wow!! I used whole wheat flour, beef stock and ff half and half. Made this to go over hamburger steaks with squash from my garden. The best mushroom sauce I have ever eaten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird October 18, 2009

This was SUPER!! I followed it exactly as written except I had to use half-n-half in place of the whipping cream and I omitted the cheese. I served this on veal liver smothered in onions and mashed potatoes. This really made the meal. It's going to my tried and true file to be used again and again. Thank you for another fine recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY October 16, 2009

Very good, I ended up using just milk instead of the whipping cream cause it was all I had on hand, but it still tasted yummy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife August 31, 2009

This is very similar to a mushroom sauce I used to make years ago: one of those long-lost, sadly missed recipes that fond memory has made probably more flavoursome than it actually was! As I was wanting a sauce rather than a gravy, I used considerably less stock - I used my Vegetable Stock - but the full quota of wine. I also added some minced garlic in step 1. A KITTENCAL recipe without garlic: I was shocked! ;) I used Greek yoghurt instead of the cream and omitted the parmesan. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I shall be making it often to use with various dishes. Made on this occasion for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder June 10, 2009

Absolutely delicious!!! I was great with the Chicken Wellington and would be great on anything. So yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy918Mom February 22, 2009

This is dern good! I did a skinny version using Smart Balance Light and FF Half & Half... and no one was the wiser! I also used what I had on hand - which included half portabella mushrooms which I actually thought added a great flavor! Fantastic over Bacon Wrapped Chicken (Oamc)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 January 28, 2009
Creamy Mushroom Sauce/Gravy