24 Reviews

This was so good. I had only ever had mashed cauliflower at Ruby Tuesday(how sad is that) But I was determined to find a recipe that was the same as Ruby Tuesdays. This was super super good. Only problem with the recipe was you neglected to mention I would eat so much by myself, I should haev bought two heads of cauliflower.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mobygrape May 10, 2010

I'm so glad I tried this recipe! I've been watching the craze over mashed cauliflower rage since this whole lo-carb fade came in to play and admit that I've been mildly intrigued. DH and I are not cauliflower lovers at all, but thought I'd try this as a once-in-a-while substitute to the real thing. I'll be honest and say they do have the consistency of grits and do not taste anything like real mashed potatoes but they do have a nice flavor to them and I'll definitely be making this again. I used skim milk and just had to cook until it thickened up. Thanks for posting KelBel!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend January 21, 2008

I think this has potential, but like some of the reviewers wrote, this comes out very runny. I made it exactly as the recipe states. I will try this again, but next time I probably won't use the water and just puree the cauliflower with the cream. I also only used about half the sugar and found that it was still too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swein563 June 05, 2015

I love this. I would give it 5 stars but I need to reduce the pepper by half for my family....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wishful chef October 25, 2011

This was very good and I will make it again. I even forgot to put the cream in the recipe and it was still very good, so I imagine it would be even better with the cream. Next time, I think I will cut back on the white pepper as my husband thought it was a little spicy for him. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere October 09, 2011

What a wonderful way to incorporate cauliflower into your diet. I'm a big fan of mashed potatoes, and won't say creamed cauliflower is similar in taste. However, this is very good, and provides a nice change in side dish from time to time. My advice to new makers of this dish is to incorporate the cream in segments while heating. I used a small head of cauliflower and used all 1/3 c. of the cream, which ended up in a slightly runny version of this recipe. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 January 15, 2011

filling and better than I expected! Thanks so much for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
septfair May 10, 2010

OK, perhaps I did something wrong but when I made this the cauliflower never thickened into anything like potato fluff. The consistency was more like grits, although it tasted good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paige.carpenter October 14, 2007

This is a fabulous side dish. I used fat free half and half for the heavy cream to save on fat and calories, and it was delicious! My husband frequently requests this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idarau013 July 12, 2007

mmm wow, this was great. I used soy milk instead of heavy cream and mashed it as someone else had suggested. I tried adding butter to some of it, and I think it tastes just as good without. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum April 27, 2007
Creamy Mashed Cauliflower