Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Mashed Cauliflower Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Mashed Cauliflower

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2010

      This was so good. I had only ever had mashed cauliflower at Ruby Tuesday(how sad is that) But I was determined to find a recipe that was the same as Ruby Tuesdays. This was super super good. Only problem with the recipe was you neglected to mention I would eat so much by myself, I should haev bought two heads of cauliflower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I'm so glad I tried this recipe! I've been watching the craze over mashed cauliflower rage since this whole lo-carb fade came in to play and admit that I've been mildly intrigued. DH and I are not cauliflower lovers at all, but thought I'd try this as a once-in-a-while substitute to the real thing. I'll be honest and say they do have the consistency of grits and do not taste anything like real mashed potatoes but they do have a nice flavor to them and I'll definitely be making this again. I used skim milk and just had to cook until it thickened up. Thanks for posting KelBel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      I love this. I would give it 5 stars but I need to reduce the pepper by half for my family....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      This was very good and I will make it again. I even forgot to put the cream in the recipe and it was still very good, so I imagine it would be even better with the cream. Next time, I think I will cut back on the white pepper as my husband thought it was a little spicy for him. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      What a wonderful way to incorporate cauliflower into your diet. I'm a big fan of mashed potatoes, and won't say creamed cauliflower is similar in taste. However, this is very good, and provides a nice change in side dish from time to time. My advice to new makers of this dish is to incorporate the cream in segments while heating. I used a small head of cauliflower and used all 1/3 c. of the cream, which ended up in a slightly runny version of this recipe. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      filling and better than I expected! Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      OK, perhaps I did something wrong but when I made this the cauliflower never thickened into anything like potato fluff. The consistency was more like grits, although it tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      This is a fabulous side dish. I used fat free half and half for the heavy cream to save on fat and calories, and it was delicious! My husband frequently requests this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      mmm wow, this was great. I used soy milk instead of heavy cream and mashed it as someone else had suggested. I tried adding butter to some of it, and I think it tastes just as good without. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Great recipe if you are on a carb free diet!! I followed the recipe except I used half and half instead of heavy cream. I also mashed the cauliflower instead of using a food processor. Great recipe!! THANKS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Great recipe! I substituted soy milk for the heavy cream to make it non-dairy and Splenda for the sugar. After stirring in the spices (step 8) I poured everything into a oven safe 9x5 gass casserole, sprinkled with chives, and baked at 300 degrees for 45 minutes while I was cutting my turkey and making gravy. Firmer this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This was pretty good, I found mine were a little runny (did not look like the pic) Could be that my Cauliflower was small.... I added a little bit of ched. cheese, chives and put the mix in a small pan and broiled it for a few minutes and it turned out good. Will try this again, a nice change from the norm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This was the first time we tried cauliflower mashed and we loved it! I feel this has more flavor than mashed potatoes and will certainly make this again! (Instead of heavy cream I used 1% milk and no cornstarch. Next time I'll use the cornstarch. It was still great without it though!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      I didn't have heavy cream so just used whole milk. I just put steamed cauliflower in the saucepan and used a hand blender to avoid a dirty food processor. I also added a little garlic salt. Great recipe...thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      I love Ruby Tuesday's Mashed Cauliflower, and modified this recipe to be a bit healthier. Instead of the Heavy Cream, used 1/3 C Skim Milk & Mixed in nonfat Powdered Milk. I did have to add a bit more cornstarch than they called for. Instead of the spices, used Pampered Chef Dill Spice & Pepper & Paprika. Also substituted Splenda for sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      More like Malt-O-Meal consistancy than mashed potatoes. Maybe its the type of food processor I used?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      I loved the way this recipe turned out, even though I didn't use a food processor. I just used a potato masher to finely mash the cauliflower. The only other change I made was to use half-and-half instead of cream. Awesome! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      This is really good and satisfying. Instead of the 1/2 cup of water, I used chicken stock and in place of the heavy cream, milk fortified with a couple of tablespoons powdered milk. It was lightly sprinkled with paprika when serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      This was GREAT! I've tried a couple of smashed cauli recipes, and this one is now my new recipe. I added a pinch of cayenne and dill, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. My daughter even liked it, and she doesn't care for smashed cauli. Yeah! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      Made for ZaarTag. I never tried this at Ruby Tuesday before but it was really good. I will definitely be making this again! I did add a little paprika to mine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Mashed Cauliflower

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.0
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    59%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 36.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 652.4 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites