Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Macaroni Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Macaroni Salad

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2010

      Sorry I didn't like this, felt it was a bit dry and also had too much celery seed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      Wow! This is really great! I've tried before to make macaroni salad on my own and couldn't get it to taste right. I really think that it came down to the mustard and the vinegar...I would have never thought to put those in the dressing:) A keeper, thank you! **I omit the olives and bacon for potlucks at work--still a hit:)<br/>5.2.10 I make this all the time and found I like Wickles brand relish--it's got a tiny bit of heat to it and great flavor and I've also used half mayo half sour cream on occasion and tricolor rotini.<br/>I love celery seed but it is a bit strong for some people. I sometimes cut the amount in half and run the seeds through a pepper grinder that I use only for the celery seed. Makes it more of a powder and no seeds sticking in your teeth:lol: I don't know this for a fact but I sort of think grinding it helps get the flavor out so you can use less than if you were going to add the whole seeds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      This is the best recipe for macaroni salad I have made in 40 years of cooking. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Whoa! This is one of the greatest macaroni salads I've ever had/made! My DH said it was the BEST he'd ever eaten. I think the key is the celery seed. I'll be making again for sure!! Made exactly as written, no subs. Cut the serving size in half. That's for a wonderful summertime bbq (or anytime) recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I have made this several time already and it has been a hit! Instead of elbow macaroni I use Rotini which I think makes it look a bit fancier. Also instead of cooking bacon I use Hormel Real Bacon Pieces which can be found in the salad dressing isle. It gives it the same flavor without having to fry actual bacon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      Made this for dinner as we were going to be grilling. Not knowing if we would like the olives in it, I used the lesser amount. Next time I will use the larger amount. But I will definitely cut the celery seed. It was way too much. So much that some family members left theirs untouched after one bite. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      This is a great recipe! I used half mayo and half M W dressing. I did use shells as I had no elbow macaroni. I added some extra mayo as I like a moister salad. I'm going to try it again today substituting peas for red pepper as I forgot to get the red pepper today. My young grandchildren loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      This is an excellent reipe! Made it yesterday and everyone loved it! I did change one thing, I used celery powder intend of seeds. If you do try this keep in mind you need much less than the recipe states. I would agree that it is a bit dry, next time I'll add a bit more mayo :) thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      Had left over cooked whole wheat pasta, searched around the Food.com site and found this recipe!

      Love the Food.com website! I changed the number of servings to 2 (just ate half for now) and pretty much followed the recipe and made the following changes based on what I had on hand:

      (Remember, this is based on changing the serving size to 2)
      1 cup cooked whole wheat elbow pasta = 1/8 lb. elbow macaroni
      Used 2 tbsp each of original Veganise dressing and Miracle Whip light for the mayonnaise
      Left out the stuffed olives, red bell pepper and bacon
      Added one can of solid white albacore tuna
      In case you are wondering, 1/16 a cup is 1 tbsp

      I will be making this one again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      It's a good basic recipe. I would nix the celery seed, add mayonaise to taste, add cubes of ham and/or small cheese cubes and I have been known to add grape tomatoes or half some cherry tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      I really liked this recipe the only thing I did different was I added a little more vinegar my family likes things on the tart side and I did cut back on the celery seed this one Is a keep thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      I loved it and my two little daughters gave it an absolute aprovial!! It was an instant sucess at my barbeque

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      This turned out amazingly good, this is a really good recipe... I just had to change a few things:
      1) I didn't have olives on hand, so no olives
      2) I didn't have celery seed on hand, so I used old bay instead.
      3) I used a little less than 1/4 c sweet onion. Diced supersuper fine and soaked the onions before adding.
      4) For the dressing I used 1c. miracle whip, .5c mayo. After I made the dressing, I tasted and it didn't have that tang I wanted (too sweet). I added 1/4 c. white vinager and 1 tbs more sugar.
      The macaroni salad is not dry at all. It really is the best macaroni salad I have ever made/had - especially after it has had a chance to chill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Yum Yum Yummy. Rave reviews at my house. Made this am & DH got into it for lunch. I know it will be even better after it has time to chill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Killer mac salad - thanks so much for this wonderful recipe! I enjoyed every last bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Great macaroni salad. I left out the olives but made half a recipe and we have so much leftover. I may add some cucumber dressing to revive it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      My husband and I both "TOTALLY" loved this recipe! However, I did not add the stuffed pimentos and added hard-boiled eggs. I am adding this to my family cookbook for 'HOT, AMAZING RECIPES" AND PASS THIS RECIPE ONTO MY FAMILY. Thanks Karen! Your recipe is AMAZING! God Bless & please keep posting your amazing recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I have made this recipe four times now. It is a smash hit everytime. Thanks Karen. I did not use the bacon, I know it would still be great. At pot lucks and football gatherings it flies out of the bowl. Really simple to make also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This was very yummy! I didn't use the bacon or celery seed...just because I didn't have any on hand. It was creamy and a bit tangy. Very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Delicious! I made this with Dreamfields pasta, used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 Miracle Whip (both light) and carmalized the onions before adding. I also left out the olives (just personal preference). The consistency and flavors are fantastic. Thanks for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Macaroni Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.0
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    48%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 312.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimento stuffed olives


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites