25 Reviews

I have made a multitude of mac and cheese recipes, But this one is the Supreme. The proportions are just right. I have also doubled the recipe with great success.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denise d. April 01, 2015

I'm given this recipe 5 stars and I haven't eaten it yet. I didn't add the onions, I used sargento's Chef Blend 4 State Cheese and the bechamel sauce tastes awesome. Its in the oven as I type this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
umfufu13 December 15, 2013

This recipe is absolutely amazing. I give it 5 stars for taste and ease of preparation as written. I have added a few if my on ingredients on several occasions such as dried mustard, cayenne pepper, chicken, bacon, and other foods. Depends on my cravings...but it always turns out amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NLCB December 15, 2013

Made this for my husband tonight; very thankful for it! I wasn't sure if the pasta (1 cup) meant cooked, or uncooked. For sure, 1 cup uncooked will make the perfect amt for this recipe. Whew! I used whole wheat pasta, no onions (some dried minced onion) & used low fat sharp cheddar & low fat Velveeta. I REALLY liked the Velveeta component--it creams up the sauce & doesn't leave a gritty texture. I threw in the cubed Velveeta & let it melt up in the oven (375 for about 18 min; I was in a hurry!). Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS February 25, 2013

I made this on a night my cheese hating husband was elsewhere. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The result was perfection. I'll make it whenever I need some hot bubbling comfort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwhite_07017 February 04, 2013

This is one time a mac & cheese I made wasn't for a neighbor couple! However, I did double the batch & made a couple of bowls for my son & DIL who were in need of a bit of comfort food! Absolutely wonderful mac recipe you have here, & I like the unusual way of serving it, too! Definitely worth doing another time for company! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 24, 2011

Diana, this recipe is amazing!!!! The macaroni and cheese come out so yummy, creamy and perfect! Mmmm! What a great recipe indeed! I could never get a roux based sauce to work until now, I dont know what the secret is here, but Im really glad you shared this method with us! :) Loved having the cubed cheese in the dish and the grated in the sauce. I also reserved some for sprinkling on top, cause I love a good crust on my mac and cheese. I added some herbs and garlic to the sauce as well as some mixed vegetables. It worked out wonderfully and Ill keep this recipe in my tried and true file. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a real winner, friend!
Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag July 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 21, 2011

Oops, good thing you, also, said 'for One'. I'm thinking about making my hair large to distract from my new fat wardrobe of jogging pants...all different colors, of course. Made for Best of 2010 Recipe Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 02, 2011

I have to admit I've never really enjoyed mac & cheese, but this weekend my boyfriend decided he wanted to try it. This was the nicest sounding recipe I found, so I just went for it. Turns out that this is one of the nicest pasta dishes I've had and I plan to make it again very soon. Thanks for changing my mind about mac & cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nai_Bean November 21, 2010
Creamy Macaroni & Cheese - for Two or One