Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Macaroni & Cheese - for Two or One Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Macaroni & Cheese - for Two or One

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2009

      The best homemade mac & cheese recipe I've tried so far. I've been experimenting with different recipes because my daughter LOVES the boxed type of mac & cheese but I don't like the artifical ingredients. Every mac & cheese recipe that I have made has received a thumbs down from my daughter, either not creamy enough, too salty, too dry, she doesn't care for the breadcrumbs, etc... Well, I'm happy to say that she said this recipe was DELICIOUS and creamy. Hurray! I did not add the chives or red pepper flakes. Next time, for her, I will omit the onions, too...I enjoyed them in there but she likes it plain. ~Made for the Aus/NZ recipe swap~ P.S. I used a combo of elbow macaroni and bowties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This is great! It's easy to make and just enough for two. I didn't have sharp cheese, so I used mild and it was awesome. Thanks Diana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This is possibly the best basic mac & cheese recipe I've ever had! I made it exactly as written, and the kids & I all loved it! [Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Real comfort food, which we thoroughly enjoyed. I doubled the recipe and 3 of us ate 3/4 of it and the DM has claimed the left overs for lunch tomorrow. I served with steamed vegetables. Thank Diana #2, made for Recipe Swap #24 January 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      I'm glad I picked this recipe after googling mac & cheese. It was delicious. This was the first time I've made mac & cheese without the cheddar getting a little gritty. Maybe it was the hot milk? I like a little bite to my onions, so I didn't saute them, just added them after the cheese. Any raw onion taste is completely baked away, and they have a delightful little crunch to them. I love this recipe. My googling for the perfect mac & cheese is officially over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Mmmmmmmmmm this is wonderfully cheesy and oniony! I used red onion and did add the optional red pepper flakes. The only real change I made was to the milk - I used half skim and half kefir (cultured milk) and did not pre-heat it in the microwave. I don't have onion soup bowls so used two large ramekins, which were just a skosh too small and ran over a bit - fortunately I'd put them on a sheet pan in case that might happen :) I'm a mac and cheese aficionado and this really hit the spot! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This is the creamiest and cheesiest mac and cheese recipe I have found on zaar!! It was the perfect serving amount for lunch for DH and I on this rainny, gloomy day! Made with mini shells and left out the chives and red pepper flakes. Will be making this more often, only took a little longer than it does to make the 'blue box' and this is a thousand times better!! Made for PAC Spring 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I really liked this as a side dish, as the flavours were not too overpowering. Reheats well too! A keeper for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This is so tasty. I have made it several times--and the leftovers are fought over! Thank you for the delicious recipe, Diana!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This is just like my sister-in-law's recipe, and it is awesome! Not at all like the stuff that comes out of a box.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I'm given this recipe 5 stars and I haven't eaten it yet. I didn't add the onions, I used sargento's Chef Blend 4 State Cheese and the bechamel sauce tastes awesome. Its in the oven as I type this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This recipe is absolutely amazing. I give it 5 stars for taste and ease of preparation as written. I have added a few if my on ingredients on several occasions such as dried mustard, cayenne pepper, chicken, bacon, and other foods. Depends on my cravings...but it always turns out amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

    • on February 25, 2013

      Made this for my husband tonight; very thankful for it! I wasn't sure if the pasta (1 cup) meant cooked, or uncooked. For sure, 1 cup uncooked will make the perfect amt for this recipe. Whew! I used whole wheat pasta, no onions (some dried minced onion) & used low fat sharp cheddar & low fat Velveeta. I REALLY liked the Velveeta component--it creams up the sauce & doesn't leave a gritty texture. I threw in the cubed Velveeta & let it melt up in the oven (375 for about 18 min; I was in a hurry!). Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      I made this on a night my cheese hating husband was elsewhere. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The result was perfection. I'll make it whenever I need some hot bubbling comfort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      This is one time a mac & cheese I made wasn't for a neighbor couple! However, I did double the batch & made a couple of bowls for my son & DIL who were in need of a bit of comfort food! Absolutely wonderful mac recipe you have here, & I like the unusual way of serving it, too! Definitely worth doing another time for company! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Diana, this recipe is amazing!!!! The macaroni and cheese come out so yummy, creamy and perfect! Mmmm! What a great recipe indeed! I could never get a roux based sauce to work until now, I dont know what the secret is here, but Im really glad you shared this method with us! :) Loved having the cubed cheese in the dish and the grated in the sauce. I also reserved some for sprinkling on top, cause I love a good crust on my mac and cheese. I added some herbs and garlic to the sauce as well as some mixed vegetables. It worked out wonderfully and Ill keep this recipe in my tried and true file. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a real winner, friend!
      Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag July 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Oops, good thing you, also, said 'for One'. I'm thinking about making my hair large to distract from my new fat wardrobe of jogging pants...all different colors, of course. Made for Best of 2010 Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I have to admit I've never really enjoyed mac & cheese, but this weekend my boyfriend decided he wanted to try it. This was the nicest sounding recipe I found, so I just went for it. Turns out that this is one of the nicest pasta dishes I've had and I plan to make it again very soon. Thanks for changing my mind about mac & cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Macaroni & Cheese - for Two or One

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 701.1
     
    Calories from Fat 375
    53%
    Total Fat 41.7 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 26.1 g
    130%
    Cholesterol 126.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 924.1 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 30.2 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites