12 Reviews

Made this today for an early Thanksgiving meal for my son. Decided that I would double everything to feed our crowd, but there was no way all that liquid was going to set in the time stated. Boy was I wrong...it set up beautiful with no additional cooking time needed. The only thing I changed was using 1/2 and 1/2 + milk for the full amount of liquid, no whipping cream. Everyone loved it! Thanks Kit for another keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimQuilter November 01, 2009

This was an easy way to make mac and cheese. I've never made it before without cooking the white sauce first, so was really interested in how it would turn out. It was very creamy and tasty. Thanks again Kit. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 03, 2008

it was ok. Really creamy and not very cheesy. I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newbie Chef Extraordinaire April 11, 2008

I made this Horseradish Grill recipe all the time. It was a much requested recipe in our family. For Christmas it was "are you bringing the Mac and Cheese?" Makes a beautiful presentation too of rich gold. Note I have used Mexican taco cheese mix in place of the cheddar as well as others without difficulty. The mustard has always been Coleman's

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drhousespcatcher November 02, 2007

Loved this recipe for Macaroni and Cheese. Like all of Kittencal recipes, it was great and easy to make. Her directions are always perfect and I always follow them exactly as written. Warmed some up the next day and it tasted even better if that was possible. I had family over for dinner the day I made this so there were a total of 8 people eating and everyone loved it. Thank you again for posting this and all of your other recipes. So far all of your recipes are 5 stars and my goal is to make as many as possible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Metritek September 17, 2007

This made a wonderfully creamy, light, but tasty macaroni cheese. It was easier to make, and had a better, lighter, texture than my usual method of combining cooked macaroni with a cheese sauce made with a butter and flour 'roux'. I made the dish pretty well exactly as written. We don't have half and half in Australia, so I used 2/3 cup milk, 2 cups cream, and 2/3 cup sour cream. I also stirred in a can of corn. I made the macaroni and sauce well in advance up to the stage of placing the macaroni and sauce into the baking pan (I used a large, rectangular, pyrex baking dish). The sauce was quite liquid at this stage, and, as I wanted to top it with breadcrumbs and cheese, I was worried the breadcrumbs might go soggy. So, before proceeding to the topping stage, I put it into the fridge for a couple of hours and let the sauce thicken up. Then it was was easy to top it with grated cheese mixed with some breadcrumbs. It took slightly less than the 3 cups of cheese recommended in the recipe. As a matter of personal taste, next time I think I'll use prepared mustard (Dijon or French) rather than mustard powder, perhaps reduce the salt to 1 teaspoon, and use a mixture of cheddar cheese and parmesan cheese. But, even without these small modifications, it was fabulous. I should note that it also reheated well, covered, in the microwave, for lunch the next day. NEW NOTE: Just adding a note that I made this again, cooled it in the refrigerator, cut into portions, packed into ziplock bags, and froze it. It reheated, covered in the microwave beautifully. I cooked it on DEFROST first and then heated it for about 3 minutes on HIGH.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookaburra February 08, 2007

This was very enjoyable. I took note of Kooka's review and used the measurements quoted for milk, cream and sour cream. Will definitely try this again soon with ham. Thanks Kit, I love your recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies January 17, 2007

OMG!! This was wonderful! We used 2C of Deamfields elbows , soy flour instead of white flour and upped the cheese to 6oz of Velveeta. Other than that we followed the recipe. My kids even ate it. If I could give it 10 stars I would!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 138622 October 19, 2006

This recipe is awesome. I can't begin to describe how delicious it is. It's rich and creamy and the flavors blend together so wonderfully. I did make two small deviations -- for the 3 cups of cheddar cheese I used half regular cheddar and half sharp cheddar. When I saw how much liquid there was, I stirred 1-1/2 cups into the casserole and put the other 1-1/2 cups on top. I baked it for 15 minutes and then put fresh white bread crumbs with butter and parmesan cheese on top and baked for another 10 minutes. My family raved about it. I will make this many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilli.myers March 06, 2006

This does have really great flavor. When I put it all in the pan, there was a lot of liquid so I was worried it would be really runny...but it came out beautifully. Thanks Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me January 09, 2006
Creamy Macaroni Casserole