Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Macaroni Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Macaroni Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2009

      Made this today for an early Thanksgiving meal for my son. Decided that I would double everything to feed our crowd, but there was no way all that liquid was going to set in the time stated. Boy was I wrong...it set up beautiful with no additional cooking time needed. The only thing I changed was using 1/2 and 1/2 + milk for the full amount of liquid, no whipping cream. Everyone loved it! Thanks Kit for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      This was an easy way to make mac and cheese. I've never made it before without cooking the white sauce first, so was really interested in how it would turn out. It was very creamy and tasty. Thanks again Kit. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      it was ok. Really creamy and not very cheesy. I won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      I made this Horseradish Grill recipe all the time. It was a much requested recipe in our family. For Christmas it was "are you bringing the Mac and Cheese?" Makes a beautiful presentation too of rich gold. Note I have used Mexican taco cheese mix in place of the cheddar as well as others without difficulty. The mustard has always been Coleman's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Loved this recipe for Macaroni and Cheese. Like all of Kittencal recipes, it was great and easy to make. Her directions are always perfect and I always follow them exactly as written. Warmed some up the next day and it tasted even better if that was possible. I had family over for dinner the day I made this so there were a total of 8 people eating and everyone loved it. Thank you again for posting this and all of your other recipes. So far all of your recipes are 5 stars and my goal is to make as many as possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      This made a wonderfully creamy, light, but tasty macaroni cheese. It was easier to make, and had a better, lighter, texture than my usual method of combining cooked macaroni with a cheese sauce made with a butter and flour 'roux'. I made the dish pretty well exactly as written. We don't have half and half in Australia, so I used 2/3 cup milk, 2 cups cream, and 2/3 cup sour cream. I also stirred in a can of corn. I made the macaroni and sauce well in advance up to the stage of placing the macaroni and sauce into the baking pan (I used a large, rectangular, pyrex baking dish). The sauce was quite liquid at this stage, and, as I wanted to top it with breadcrumbs and cheese, I was worried the breadcrumbs might go soggy. So, before proceeding to the topping stage, I put it into the fridge for a couple of hours and let the sauce thicken up. Then it was was easy to top it with grated cheese mixed with some breadcrumbs. It took slightly less than the 3 cups of cheese recommended in the recipe. As a matter of personal taste, next time I think I'll use prepared mustard (Dijon or French) rather than mustard powder, perhaps reduce the salt to 1 teaspoon, and use a mixture of cheddar cheese and parmesan cheese. But, even without these small modifications, it was fabulous. I should note that it also reheated well, covered, in the microwave, for lunch the next day. NEW NOTE: Just adding a note that I made this again, cooled it in the refrigerator, cut into portions, packed into ziplock bags, and froze it. It reheated, covered in the microwave beautifully. I cooked it on DEFROST first and then heated it for about 3 minutes on HIGH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      This was very enjoyable. I took note of Kooka's review and used the measurements quoted for milk, cream and sour cream. Will definitely try this again soon with ham. Thanks Kit, I love your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      OMG!! This was wonderful! We used 2C of Deamfields elbows , soy flour instead of white flour and upped the cheese to 6oz of Velveeta. Other than that we followed the recipe. My kids even ate it. If I could give it 10 stars I would!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      This recipe is awesome. I can't begin to describe how delicious it is. It's rich and creamy and the flavors blend together so wonderfully. I did make two small deviations -- for the 3 cups of cheddar cheese I used half regular cheddar and half sharp cheddar. When I saw how much liquid there was, I stirred 1-1/2 cups into the casserole and put the other 1-1/2 cups on top. I baked it for 15 minutes and then put fresh white bread crumbs with butter and parmesan cheese on top and baked for another 10 minutes. My family raved about it. I will make this many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      This does have really great flavor. When I put it all in the pan, there was a lot of liquid so I was worried it would be really runny...but it came out beautifully. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      Let's get one thing out in open first... I'm not a cook. So when I put this dish into the oven, I had my doubts. Of course I shouldn't have, because it really amazed me. The flavor and rich taste was really suprising. Oh.. And I wanted to say... there are not many recipes I can follow correctly.. but this one was very easy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      This was amazing--the combination of nutmeg, mustard and cayenne made it really different! It's tremendously rich, though, so I won't be trying it more than once a year or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Macaroni Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 585.5
     
    Calories from Fat 405
    69%
    Total Fat 45.0 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 27.6 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 193.6 mg
    64%
    Sodium 874.9 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes