Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    138 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 138

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2011

      Made this a few weeks ago ... sorry, just got around to the review. Made it for a potluck luncheon.

      Turned out perfect. Two changes, I added a extra sharp WHITE cheddar, but that really didn't change the flavor, just the color. And, a few fresh bread crumbs as a topping. But again, it didn't change the flavor of the dish. Just a little crunchy topping.

      It was creamy, easy and delicious. I honestly prefer mine NOT as creamy, but that is my personal recipe; however, I have found a creamier mac and cheese is preferred and this is very very good. I would make this any time. The first time I added some bacon, because my friend asked me too. That was equally as good.

      There is only one thing I might try. Mom always added just a bit of mustard for a little tang. Next time I might try just a bit of mustard in the sauce.

      But, a fantastic recipe and very easy to make.
      NOTE: to new cooks ... make sure to use a quality cheese and shred it yourself. Pre-shredded have chemicals in it to prevent molding and for preserving. Fresh grating cheese is the key.

      Also, when adding cheese to your sauce ... remove from the heat, and add a little at a time until creamy. Add to HOT HOT sauce and too much at once can cause it to separate and get grainy. And then don't bring back to a boil. It is already melted, keep on medium low heat.

      GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      This is the creamiest macaroni and cheese I have found. Many people said this was the best macaroni and cheese they had ever had. I followed the ingredients exactly except I excluded cayenne pepper because I had none on hand. I will definitely add it in the future. The first time I cooked it I did not thicken the sauce very long which I think added to the creaminess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Made this for a bunch of hungry firefighters to go with roast beef sandwiches and they loved it. My only change was to use processed cheese loaf (Velveeta) for some of the cheddar to cut costs. This was creamy and held well while waiting for the dinner to begin. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      This recipe is absolutely fantastic, and it has made its way into my regular rotation. I'm a huge fan of baked macaroni and cheese, but I'm also hugely critical of it. Most of the time the recipes I try are dried out, crispy on the top, never creamy enough. This recipe has absolutely none of those problems. Thick, creamy, cheesy, moist....it's almost perfect.<br/><br/>I made a few personal changes to this by using rotini instead of macaroni, and adding in tons of steamed broccoli and cauliflower to add some vegetables into our meal. I also put three scoops of nutritional yeast for added vitamins without distracting from the hearty, cheesy flavour of this dish.<br/><br/>I HIGHLY recommend this to any cheese lover. It's a dream come true and we will be cooking it for many years to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      I loved this recipe and have made it a few times. I have always received lots of compliments. The most recent time that I made the recipe I decided to change it up a bit. I used three cups of whole milk and 1 cup of heavy cream (leaving out the half and half) and I also used 1/4 tsp dry mustard and all mild cheddar cheese and just a few ounces of american cheese (real cheese not processed cheese product). With these changes, it was truly amazing!!! I believe the half and half gives it a little different flavor that I was not crazy about and the addition of the american cheese makes it even more creamy and easier to reheat. Either way, the original recipe is very good and always a crowd pleaser!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Perfect mac and cheese. My standard recipe for all holiday gatherings with my in-laws. I could eat this out of the pan without ever putting it in the oven. My only additions are a dash of freshly grated nutmeg and about 4 ounces of velveeta added to the Cracker Barrel cheeses. The only mac and cheese that every family member will eat. Thanks for another wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2014

      Wow! I love a creamy baked mac and cheese, and so many you eat at pot luck dinners are dry and tasteless Not this one. I made it exactly as directed, except I did put in about 1 tsp of spicy brown mustard when I added the cheeses. .I also put some buttered panko bread crumbs on top before baking. This is "my" signature mac and cheese from now on. Full of flavor. Can't say enough good things about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2014

      Excellent, thanks for sharing. This will be my go to recipe for homemade mac going forward!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

    • on September 19, 2014

      AMAZING!!! Cant get enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

    • on February 18, 2014

      Very very good recipe! Creamy and very easy to make :)<br/><br/>I preheat the oven along with the Pyrex, so it takes very little time for the cheese & breadcrumbs top to gratinate. <br/><br/>When its just two of us I cut down the recipe to fit 1 pack of shredded cheese (about 226 gr), and its just perfect. Also when running out of Cheddar I resort to some Emmental :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Seriously the BEST Mac and Cheese recipe I have ever tried. Surprisingly easy. I will use this recipe from now on. I did add mustard...WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Absolutely my favorite Mac

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      I like this recipe very much. I used 20 oz. Cheddar and 10 oz. mozzarella, and topped the casserole with buttered bread crumbs before baking. I also used a bit more milk and half & half than called for in the recipe, just to keep it moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      BEST.MACARONI.EVER!<br/>I wish I could give it TEN stars! So moist and yummy! This will be my signature recipe for macaroni from this day forward! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      I followed this recipe for the most part but improvised a little. I didn't have any half and half so I used a can of evaporated milk instead. I also added a little more cayenne pepper and used about twice as much garlic as the recipe called for. It turned out great. I like the creaminess of the sauce. Love this website and don't think I have ever found a bad recipe on here!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Really good and creamy. Didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Made this mac and cheese as a side dish to my Christmas ham and it was enjoyed by all. I was quite surprised with the "kick" the cayenne gave to the dish. A nice surprise! Will definitely be making this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Worked like a charm...beautiful!!! Thanks for the creamy mac no cheese recipe I have been searching for a very long time. Instead of granule, I just added a large spoon of garlic, cayenne pepper, and onion grained. Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 902.0
     
    Calories from Fat 513
    56%
    Total Fat 57.0 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 35.6 g
    178%
    Cholesterol 173.2 mg
    57%
    Sodium 966.5 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes