Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Low-Fat Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Low-Fat Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2010

      Unlike you to forget a step. I can't figure out when to add the chicken broth/stock. Figuring it is at the beginning with the veggies. Hoping that is right because I have invited my brother over for diner. Wish me luck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Knowing my kids would enjoy this soup, I went ahead and doubled the recipe. I am glad I did because they loved it. I only had one can of evaporated milk, so I used skim milk for the rest. I also added a little extra cheese. I decided to puree the soup so skipped the thickening step. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This was very good. I liked how it was so thick and creamy... and being low-fat was a major plus with me. My hubby said the cheese completed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Hubby really enjoyed this. I used about 2 cups of potatoes (1 large potato), 1/8 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp bouillon powder (trying to lower sodium content) & left out the celery. It only took 10 min of simmering time to get the taters tender. When I added the cornstarch mix (used fat free half & half), the soup thickened up QUICK! So I added the rest of the liquid. I used about 1/4 cup less half & half than called for by accident, but it worked fine! We actually didn't stir in the cheese; offered it as an optional topping--but hubby used some croutons instead. Thanks so much for sharing--it was rich, creamy & a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Devine! MY DH loved it! i doubled the recipe since i knew he would enjoy it and i was so right.
      thanks for the RAD soup recipe i will be making this FOREVER

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      This is very good, so thick and creamy as well as being low fat. I used fat free evaporated milk and omitted the cheese. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Not one drop left of this delicious soup tonight! DH and I ate the entire thing! The potatoes almost melt in your mouth because they are so tender. I used the fat-free evaporated milk and the soup was very thick and creamy; I used about 1/2t of cayenne, so it really warmed us up too! My DH added fat-free cheddar cheese to his, but I liked it so much without that I didn't add any to mine. Will be making again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This is VERY thick and creamy! I used the 3 potatoes and also used fat free half & half. I probably added a little extra cheese as well. We really enjoyed this soup. We're going to have the left-over soup for lunch today -- I'm sure it will be ever bit as good warmed over as it was last night. It was so thick that I may have to add a bit of half & half to it today! I made this for Kitten's Cookathon in memory of her husband, John.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Very thick, creamy and satisfying. Quite impressive for a lower fat soup! It's thick enough that you probably could skip the cornstarch and just mash this a little. Thanx for posting this. I'll use this recipe again. Made for Kittencal's Cookathon in memory of her dear husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This is a delicious, hearty and wonderfully cheesy soup...a meal in itself! I made exactly as posted and wouldn't change a thing. It has enough flavor that I believe I can thin down the leftovers and serve as a first course. Made for Kittencal's Cookathon, in memory of her dear husband John.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Holy cow! There is NO way this could be this low in fat? What am I missing here? I was forced to use 2% evaporated milk (all I had in the house). I increased the potatoes to 3 medium sized one and only used 1 teaspoon of bouillion. I didn't use near 1 cup of cheese...closer to 1/2 cup and this was SUPER thick, gooey, rich and delicious! I feel like I'm being fooled somewhere on the health side of things. What a winner Kitten! Pics coming shortly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Absolutely delish! nobody would know that this is low fat. If you have one of the "I'll never eat anything healthy" at home give them this recipe and just don't tell them *wink*. It's has lots of flavor ( I skipped the cayenne) and with using the bouillon I didn't need to add any salt or pepper. I made a single serving for lunch but wish that I had made more. Yukon Gold's are what I used well washed but unpeeled because I like to use veggie skins. This is a real winner in my book. Thanks Kittzen :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Low-Fat Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    88%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 3.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 304.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat chicken broth

    reduced-fat cheddar cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes