Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Lime Sherbet (Or Orange if You Prefer!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Lime Sherbet (Or Orange if You Prefer!)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2006

      This is sooooo much better than buying it in the store! I can't believe how easy this is to make! I used 2% milk in this recipe and I am sure it didn't change the consistancy or creaminess one bit. I can't wait to try this lime sherbet with my recipe for Orange Sherbert Refresher (Alcoholic) Orange Sherbet Refresher using this lime sherbet in place of the orange! Do I hear my name being called? Thanks so much for this sensational treat, JellyQueen!! — May 19, 2006 ~ I needed up add a little update to my review : ) I have now made this recipe using 12 oz of orange juice concentrate and orange jello replacing the lime. I also added a just a touch of red and yellow food coloring to give it a little more color. This makes the most sensational orange sherbet you ever tasted! Honestly, I don't think I will ever purchase sherbet again ~ Sensational!! Again, I thank you, JQ!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I thought this was an awesome recipe with infinite flavor possibilities. We've tried the orange and lime variations and loved the strong flavors. I did use a 12 oz can of juice, because I didn't want to waste a half can ( 6oz cans are not available in my rural area.) This may have contributed for the strong flavor. I would like to try cherry and grape next. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Wonderful! Kids and adults both loved this lovely sherbet. I saw the recipe in TOH and have been meaning to make it ever since. Tried Bev's orange version and will try the lime version very soon since that's what first caught my eye. Used 1% milk and made in two batches in the Cuisinart freezer. Semi-sweet chocolate pieces would be wonderful stirred into the orange. Thanks for posting the recipe, and thanks Bev for the yummy variation! UPDATE: I finally tried the lime version and it was absolutely wonderful! Omitted the food coloring. I have both the orange and lime sherbets in my freezer right now. We love this recipe:) ANOTHER UPDATE: Tried lemon as well, using lemon jello and 12 oz. of frozen lemonade concentrate. We enjoyed this very much, too. Thanks so much! UPDATE: Gee, my review is going to be a mile long...:) The family requested grape sherbet and while it sounded pretty strange, I was willing to give it a try. Used 12 oz of 100% grape juice concentrate and grape jello, no food coloring. This version is sweet without the tartness of the citrus flavors we've tried, but the family gobbled it up. It's a pretty lilac color, something to keep in mind when looking for purple desserts (there can't be that many of them out there). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      I got this recipe from Taste of Home and have made it in lime, lemon, and orange. It's easy and pretty much fool-proof, but best of all, it is *really* good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Really terrific!!! Not too sweet and just enough tart. I also tried the orange version, which was excelloent and then, feeling adventuresome, made a lemon sherbet using frozen lemonade concentrate. Looking at the amount of sugar in the concentrate, I cut back 1/4 cup on the sugar and it came out just right. Looking forward to trying the raspberry sherbet suggested by one other reviewer. NOTE: In my Cuisinart 2 qt. freezer, using the factory recommended 30 minutes of freeze time, I get nearly five pints from each variation, so I've started running it in two batches, parking the extra in the freezer to keep it cold.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      OMG! This is wonderful!!!! I made the orange version and I have no reason to go back to store bought sherbet. I used 2% milk and half a can of orange juice concentrate (I refroze the other half) and it worked great. After the ice cream machine was done working, I scooped it into to freezer containers and stuck in the freezer for several hours. The consistency is just great. In fact, I got brain freeze several times, LOL, from eating so fast. Thanks for posting this recipe ~ I KNOW I'll be using it over and over and over!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Loved it! I went a little astray of the recipe & used 12 ounces of frozen Cran-Raspberry juice & raspberry flavored Jello. Creamy describes it perfectly! Thanks for posting this recipe! It's one I will use often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      Suprisingly quick and easy! I did not use the green food coloring and the resulting sherbet was a pleasing pale green. Took about 40 minutes to set up to a soft consistency in our old ice cream maker. Not too sweet, not too tart... very well received after a BBQ'ed meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      Made this for my sons birthday Everyone said, its so good?<br/>I did add Watkins vanilla. And we made the orange variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I tried this recipe yesterday and I have to say it's better than I expected. I gave it 4 stars because I have never tried any other recipe. I will also try this recipe using pineapple and lemon. However, I will try another recipe and if this one is better I will give it five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      We tried the orange version of this. (Got my hubby an ice cream/sherbet maker for Father's Day) It was very easy to assemble. The flavor and color were outstanding. My husband found it a tad bit sugary, but we can always decrease that. That is what is nice about making it from scratch. Thanks Jellyqueen for the basic recipe and Bev for the orange version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Very delicious! My kids really enjoyed it and we are hoping to try some of the flavor variations that other reviewers have mentioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I made this with orange juice and orange jello. Very nice. I used a little less sugar and the kids didn't think it was sweet enough. Will try with the limeade concentrate since that probably has sugar in it as the OJ did not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

    • on February 19, 2008

      It was great!! Eazy to make!!! I use soy milk in place of regular milk. tofutti cream cheese insteadof half and half. Will make it again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      It's hard to find lime sherbet in my area and it is one of my favorite flavors. I cut back on the sugar using only 1 cup and also added about 2 tablespoons of fresh lime juice. I had to make it in two batches since my Cuisinart only makes 1 1/2 quarts. Good recipe. Thanks Jellyqueen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      This will cool you down on a hot summer day! Delicious, and a nice refreshing change from ice cream. I did try to make it a tad healthier by using fat-free half-and-half and 2% milk, and it was still wonderful. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Lime Sherbet (Or Orange if You Prefer!)

    Serving Size: 1 (2215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1491.1
     
    Calories from Fat 409
    27%
    Total Fat 45.4 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 28.3 g
    141%
    Cholesterol 157.1 mg
    52%
    Sodium 617.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 252.2 g
    84%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 215.3 g
    861%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes