19 Reviews

This is sooooo much better than buying it in the store! I can't believe how easy this is to make! I used 2% milk in this recipe and I am sure it didn't change the consistancy or creaminess one bit. I can't wait to try this lime sherbet with my recipe for Orange Sherbert Refresher (Alcoholic) Orange Sherbet Refresher using this lime sherbet in place of the orange! Do I hear my name being called? Thanks so much for this sensational treat, JellyQueen!! — May 19, 2006 ~ I needed up add a little update to my review : ) I have now made this recipe using 12 oz of orange juice concentrate and orange jello replacing the lime. I also added a just a touch of red and yellow food coloring to give it a little more color. This makes the most sensational orange sherbet you ever tasted! Honestly, I don't think I will ever purchase sherbet again ~ Sensational!! Again, I thank you, JQ!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 10, 2006

I thought this was an awesome recipe with infinite flavor possibilities. We've tried the orange and lime variations and loved the strong flavors. I did use a 12 oz can of juice, because I didn't want to waste a half can ( 6oz cans are not available in my rural area.) This may have contributed for the strong flavor. I would like to try cherry and grape next. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 June 30, 2010

Wonderful! Kids and adults both loved this lovely sherbet. I saw the recipe in TOH and have been meaning to make it ever since. Tried Bev's orange version and will try the lime version very soon since that's what first caught my eye. Used 1% milk and made in two batches in the Cuisinart freezer. Semi-sweet chocolate pieces would be wonderful stirred into the orange. Thanks for posting the recipe, and thanks Bev for the yummy variation! UPDATE: I finally tried the lime version and it was absolutely wonderful! Omitted the food coloring. I have both the orange and lime sherbets in my freezer right now. We love this recipe:) ANOTHER UPDATE: Tried lemon as well, using lemon jello and 12 oz. of frozen lemonade concentrate. We enjoyed this very much, too. Thanks so much! UPDATE: Gee, my review is going to be a mile long...:) The family requested grape sherbet and while it sounded pretty strange, I was willing to give it a try. Used 12 oz of 100% grape juice concentrate and grape jello, no food coloring. This version is sweet without the tartness of the citrus flavors we've tried, but the family gobbled it up. It's a pretty lilac color, something to keep in mind when looking for purple desserts (there can't be that many of them out there). Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 10, 2009

I got this recipe from Taste of Home and have made it in lime, lemon, and orange. It's easy and pretty much fool-proof, but best of all, it is *really* good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC July 12, 2008

Really terrific!!! Not too sweet and just enough tart. I also tried the orange version, which was excelloent and then, feeling adventuresome, made a lemon sherbet using frozen lemonade concentrate. Looking at the amount of sugar in the concentrate, I cut back 1/4 cup on the sugar and it came out just right. Looking forward to trying the raspberry sherbet suggested by one other reviewer. NOTE: In my Cuisinart 2 qt. freezer, using the factory recommended 30 minutes of freeze time, I get nearly five pints from each variation, so I've started running it in two batches, parking the extra in the freezer to keep it cold.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hipshot55 March 28, 2008

OMG! This is wonderful!!!! I made the orange version and I have no reason to go back to store bought sherbet. I used 2% milk and half a can of orange juice concentrate (I refroze the other half) and it worked great. After the ice cream machine was done working, I scooped it into to freezer containers and stuck in the freezer for several hours. The consistency is just great. In fact, I got brain freeze several times, LOL, from eating so fast. Thanks for posting this recipe ~ I KNOW I'll be using it over and over and over!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook September 02, 2007

Loved it! I went a little astray of the recipe & used 12 ounces of frozen Cran-Raspberry juice & raspberry flavored Jello. Creamy describes it perfectly! Thanks for posting this recipe! It's one I will use often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie July 05, 2006

Suprisingly quick and easy! I did not use the green food coloring and the resulting sherbet was a pleasing pale green. Took about 40 minutes to set up to a soft consistency in our old ice cream maker. Not too sweet, not too tart... very well received after a BBQ'ed meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsarahl July 21, 2003

This is a great recipe! My husband and I have tried others but this is the best by far.I don't have an ice cream freezer but it still worked out well.We were really impressed! Going to try other combinations now...........Thanks a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Scrapiron June 18, 2015

I'm really not sure why this recipe has a five star rating. I followed the orange sherbet directions exactly, and it is nowhere near having the flavor or consistency of any kind of sherbet I've ever had (which has mainly been the Kemps brand). It just tastes like orange jello flavored milk. Ick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather H. March 20, 2015
Creamy Lime Sherbet (Or Orange if You Prefer!)