13 Reviews

These look delicious and I will definitely make them. Thanks for the recipe. One thing, though. Cool Whip?? Really?? These deserve real whipped cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackie429 November 06, 2011

Delicious, easy, and even better frozen!! I used a homemade gingersnap crust instead of the pastry shells and made individual dessert-sized portions in a muffin tin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nolaupr August 09, 2011

Just made these as directed, except I cooked it on the stove instead of the microwave, and they are delicious. I often find lemon things too sweet but this is a perfect lemon taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edeneve April 03, 2011

I have to give these 5 stars because I made them particularly because my husband loves lemon so I thought they would be a good addition to my Christmas baking, and well, he definitely loved them! I did it on the stove and had no problems at all, just kept it at a low heat and stirred often and it came out perfect! I'm not as big on the lemon stuff as he is, but I would even give it 4 stars myself but probably would have been better for me with more sugar, I didn't add the extra sugar though so that it would keep the very lemony flavor for my husband.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jomom75 December 30, 2010

I fought this recipe the whole way through but in the end everyone really enjoyed them. It took a while to thicken the filling and being my first attempt at tarts I had no frame of reference on time or consistency so maybe comments on how others cooked and time it took would be helpful?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lipe July 11, 2010

These tarts are sensational! The filling is the perfect balance of tart and sweet, and I really do believe that the fresh lemon juice makes all the difference. Instead of prepared tart shells, I used a basic shortbread recipe, which I pressed into mini muffin tins before adding the creamy lemon filling. My mother said that these replicated Saunder's bakery tarts from her childhood (it's a Michigan thing), and that is a major compliment. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie McCookerpants April 25, 2010

These were beautiful! I really loved the flavor!! I did make one small addition to this already perfect recipe - I melted some white chocolate and used my pastry brush to paint the inside of the cooled shells; let the white chocolate harden and then filled with the lemon mixture. The white chocolate coupled with the lemon was truly amazing! Thank you for posting yet another fabulous recipe!! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve January 28, 2009

KittenCal you have done it again. These are wonderful. Instead of using tart shells, I made a batch of shortbread cookie dough. I just took about a tablespoonful of that into a cupcake/ muffin pan. Baked for about 15 minutes until they were brown. Then used this for filling. Makes 24 tarts, and was super easy to take to a picnic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren4372 July 20, 2008

YUM-YUM-YUM! Loved these!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katherine's #1 Fan January 23, 2008
Creamy Lemon Tarts