Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Italian Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Italian Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2009

      I made this about an hour ago, with the addition of 1/2 teaspoon oregano, 1/4 teaspoon basil, both dried and 1 tablespoon granulated garlic (in addition to the clove garlic recipe calls for). Very nice dressing-no one ingredient overpowers the other-well, maybe it is a tad garlicly but that's how we like it-will keep this recipe as our new stand-by. Thanks for Posting! Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Very good! I made this to go with an antipasto platter I made for a baby shower and it was enjoyed by all. I didn't make any changes and wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Thanks Marie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      I made a few alterations. I think that perhaps I didn't have the nicest red wine vinegar, and it was old to boot. So, it was very tart! I added a bit of fresh parsley, a titch of sugar and a few drops of Braggs aminos. That mellowed it and I think it is quite yummy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      Wow! wonderful dressing. Loved it and will make it all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This was great! Thank you for posting it. I made it in my Vita-Mix and everyone loved it. My husband is even using it as dip for pita bread. Many thanks, Ruby 2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      This was delicious and gave me a chance to use my immersion blender. I did add a tad of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      When I made this dressing, it curdled because I didn't use a blender, I just tried to whisk everything together. Oops. Marie, the poster of the recipe, was kind enough to give me some much appreciated pointers on what happened! Also, she said that the flavor is better if it's left in the refrigerator for the flavors to meld. I like the idea of adding some chopped fresh herbs, for extra flavor too. This recipe is a great match for something spicy -- I made it to go with a salad on the side of some fiery seasoned chicken. You can see my account of botching the recipe and trying to come up something else on the fly here: thttp://www.recipemashups.com/?p=1665

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Excellent dressing! I had everything on hand and it was so easy to put together. Thanks for posting Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Excellent! Based on some reviews, I added a pinch of sugar. We loved this dressing. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Great easy dressing! I was looking for a salad dressing using only ingredients that I had on hand and this one fit! I made this for my lunch salad. It is a little tart but I prefer the tart dressings. I reduced the serving size for my lunch. I forgot that I ran out of garlic and used garlic powder instead. I can't wait to try it with the fresh! It was very good and would make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I wanted to try a new dressing recipe and chose this to make to go along with my Italian salad and dinner. It was so delicious, I had 2 helpings. DH said he wants this from now on instead of the old standby Italian I usually make. That says it all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made a salad to go along with my Italian dinner over the weekend. This dressing was excellent! I did add 1 packet of Splenda to it and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning as suggested, and it was enjoyed! Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Quite good. I used half of the oil however. Doubles well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      This is really good, I also added a tsp sugar.I will definately be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      I've made this a few times and it is so good! The only change I make is substituting plain yogurt for the sour cream. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      This was really good. I added a tablespoon of sugar and a couple of teaspoons of poultry seasonings. It was just what I was looking for...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      It was easy to put together, and to make in general. I just thought it was very bland, and tart. I followed what others suggested in reviews, added a little splenda and some italian herbs. It was still very bland. I probably won't make this again, but thank you for listing it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

      This is excellent salad dressing! It wasn't too creamy; it was more of a nice mixture of creamy and oil. We loved it! I made it exactly as listed in the recipe, without adding anything sweeter and it was delicious, but maybe next time I'll try adding a little honey! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Good! I think that next time that I will take Marie Alice's advice and add a tsp or so of sugar or honey to make this a little sweeter. I found it was a little tart, but I think that is because the sweetness/tartness of different sour creams and vinegars can vary a lot. I also tend to agree with lizzistardust- I think this would really benefit from the addition of some herbs like some Italian seasoning. Very good consistancy and I like the flavor the cheese adds especially. I do highly recommend letting this sit overnight or at least for a couple hours before using as it allows the flavors to blend. Pretty yummy as-is, but I think it could be better with a few small alterations! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Pretty good, although it seemed like something was missing. Perhaps it could use some herbs? Quite easy, though. I'm sure I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Italian Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 540.3
     
    Calories from Fat 532
    98%
    Total Fat 59.2 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 12.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 668.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes