30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this about an hour ago, with the addition of 1/2 teaspoon oregano, 1/4 teaspoon basil, both dried and 1 tablespoon granulated garlic (in addition to the clove garlic recipe calls for). Very nice dressing-no one ingredient overpowers the other-well, maybe it is a tad garlicly but that's how we like it-will keep this recipe as our new stand-by. Thanks for Posting! Di ;-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's December 22, 2009

Very good! I made this to go with an antipasto platter I made for a baby shower and it was enjoyed by all. I didn't make any changes and wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Thanks Marie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. October 23, 2010

I made a few alterations. I think that perhaps I didn't have the nicest red wine vinegar, and it was old to boot. So, it was very tart! I added a bit of fresh parsley, a titch of sugar and a few drops of Braggs aminos. That mellowed it and I think it is quite yummy! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo July 10, 2013

Wow! wonderful dressing. Loved it and will make it all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 15, 2013

This was great! Thank you for posting it. I made it in my Vita-Mix and everyone loved it. My husband is even using it as dip for pita bread. Many thanks, Ruby 2

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruby #2 September 02, 2009

This was delicious and gave me a chance to use my immersion blender. I did add a tad of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 August 06, 2009

When I made this dressing, it curdled because I didn't use a blender, I just tried to whisk everything together. Oops. Marie, the poster of the recipe, was kind enough to give me some much appreciated pointers on what happened! Also, she said that the flavor is better if it's left in the refrigerator for the flavors to meld. I like the idea of adding some chopped fresh herbs, for extra flavor too. This recipe is a great match for something spicy -- I made it to go with a salad on the side of some fiery seasoned chicken. You can see my account of botching the recipe and trying to come up something else on the fly here: thttp://www.recipemashups.com/?p=1665

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abrams.elizabeth January 13, 2009

Excellent dressing! I had everything on hand and it was so easy to put together. Thanks for posting Marie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie421511 November 20, 2008

Excellent! Based on some reviews, I added a pinch of sugar. We loved this dressing. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pear Tree August 17, 2008

Great easy dressing! I was looking for a salad dressing using only ingredients that I had on hand and this one fit! I made this for my lunch salad. It is a little tart but I prefer the tart dressings. I reduced the serving size for my lunch. I forgot that I ran out of garlic and used garlic powder instead. I can't wait to try it with the fresh! It was very good and would make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proud Veteran's wife June 08, 2008
Creamy Italian Salad Dressing