15 Reviews

This is excellent! The sauce is especially outstanding. I made slight changes, one due to what was available at the local store. I couldn't find a 1 oz pkg dressing mix so used two 0.6 oz pkgs (Zesty variety). Instead of water I used a dry Riesling and added a couple extra Tbsp since I had a little more dressing mix. I used low fat cream cheese and threw in about 90g sun dried tomatoes with the mushrooms. Just realized I forgot the parmesan but I didn't especially miss it. Thanks for the recipe! This will be made again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 September 30, 2012

I thought that it is really good. I thought that it was missing something though but I am not sure what it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmhaendel May 29, 2012

This is a really great sauce and simple to make. I made a few changes after reading some of the reviews, I added a chicken boullion cube to the water and added sun dried tomatoes. I used my stick blender when I added the cream cheese, I had a little heavy cream in the frig. so I added that too. It was creamy and smooth and the flavor was MMM! Served over bowtie pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Lynnie March 24, 2010

I thought this was OK; hubby didn't like it at all. The taste was good & the chicken was tender, but the recipe seemed to be missing something - not sure what. I put in some parsley & dried red pepper flakes for added flavor. I think the biggest turn-off (for both of us) was the overall color of the dish, which was a very unappetizing tan. Sorry I can't give this more stars; I probably would not make it again. -M

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert August 10, 2009

Delicious! The only adaption I made was using 1 lb. of fresh button mushrooms instead of cremini mushrooms. I served it over pasta, and my family used rolls to mop up EVERY DROP of this yummy sauce! We will certainly make this again, but I may add more mushrooms, as we really love them. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy-in-the-Kitchen July 19, 2009

This was the first recipe I have ever made in my new crock pot...I have to say it was amazing! I will be making this over and over. I do have to say that 4 hours was a bit much, but I believe it was my crock pot...it's new, so I'm still learning it's heat levels...Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jentry October 26, 2008

Super good! This recipe was so easy and nicely flavored! DH and I enjoyed it. I added some zucchini and served it over rice and it was delicious. Nice for those evenings when you don't want to fuss with dinner. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit October 21, 2007

Yumm-O! Wow I am so happy I tried this one. My hubby made this and served it over bow tie pasta. MMMM! Great with a salad and garlic bread. We are going to put some artichoke hearts in next time about the last hour or so and a dash of red pepper flakes. We put the chicken breasts in frozen so we cooked a little longer,but it was so moist. Thanks for a great recipe that will now be in regular rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peyton&KaylansMama September 11, 2007

Very delicious recipe. I used turkey breast fillets, and then added a (big) splash of chablis wine with the the water & seasoning. I used lower fat cream cheese, which I think probably caused it to "chunk" a bit - could have been smoother, I think. Also used white mushrooms since that is what I had on hand. Oops! Just realized I forgot the parmesan! Oh well, very good without it. Thanks DiB's for a wonderful recipe. My husband gave it a "5."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biasi4 August 26, 2007

This was so good - super rich and the sauce super creamy! I made a couple of changes, only because these were the things I had in the cupboard: I used dried Herb dip mix instead of the italian seasoning, with a splash of worcestershire; low fat cream cheese; button mushrooms. I think this recipe would be versatile using any dressing mix. I also used 6 chicken thighs. Altogether, I cooked on high for 1 1/2 hours and low for another 3. The chicken was very tender. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Squirrel May 08, 2007
Creamy Italian Chicken--Crock Pot Recipe