13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm in love with this drink (and yes, it really is "deluxe" -- so rich and decadent, but worth it!)!! I scaled this in half, and am glad I did... it's so good I would have wanted to drink the both servings myself. ;) I trimmed calories and fat by using *light* coconut milk and plain rice milk; the texture and taste were still quite creamy and full. I skipped the Grand Marnier, and instead of cinnamon sprinkled the whipped cream with a dusting of cocoa. Heaven!!! Thank you for this wonderful dessert-in-a-glass that I know I will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen February 09, 2009

oooooh baby that is sweet. I have no idea about how to make this less sweet... I didn't use the Grand Marnier, but otherwise made as directed. Would definately say to get rid of the brown sugar, though I think it gives it a creaminess. Wow, don't know. Delicious, and definately worth trying... There is just that sweetness problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel July 17, 2007

I would love to try this recipe, but just wondering if I can subtitute fruits with the chololates.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afsah2006 May 02, 2007

This was good but I thought it needed more chocolate so I added another 1/2c chopped white chocolate BOING!!! 10 stars! I used lite unsweetened coconut milk & skim milk so it wasn't too sweet or syrupy thick. The flavor was awesome with the cinnamon & Grand Marnier. Quick & easy & sinfully comfortingly delicious. Great entry. Good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 19, 2007

This is very easy, thick, rich, sweetened sinful. A dessert in a glass. Very fattening 80 percent DV of fat in a drink! I did use a lite coconut milk but I don`t think that mattered much. I would have liked this if 1/2 was white chocolate and 1/2 dark or semisweet chocolate. The white was a bit much for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 18, 2007

Great Beverage Entry! Dessert in a cup! This was a bit too sweet and rich for some of us trying this recipe. I know it is a coconut milk drink but some felt the coconut flavor was SO strong it hid the orange flavor of Grand Marnier and the white chocolate and needed to be toned down. DH2B and his friend did not like it, but I found it to be a good dessert beverage. I would like to try this again with lowfat coconut milk and with skim milk as I think that would smooth out the flavors. Good luck Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 18, 2007

YAHOO!!! I love the coconut flavor with the cinnamon and Grand Marnier. It is nice and creamy and very easy to put together.I did sub skim milk in place of full fat because that is what I had on hand. I could just imagine myself in a cabin somewhere, in front of a fire, sipping on this warming after dinner dessert drink. I would suggest changing the order of ingredients in the list to match the order in which the ingredients are used. This is truly an outstanding recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog March 17, 2007

This was very good - rich and creamy. I'm looking forward to trying it after the contest with a dark chocolate as I think that it would be even better. Good luck, chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens March 17, 2007

What an awesome drink! A very delicious creation! It is such a soothing drink to have on a cold winter night. Loved it and will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 17, 2007

This drink is incredible! Rich and delicious! I believe the suggested servings may be off. I think this amount could easily serve 4, 6oz servings since it is so rich. I tried it with Grand Marnier and also Fangelico. Both were superb! Makes an excellent nightcap :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 17, 2007
Creamy Hot Coconut Milk Deluxe