11 Reviews

I think this is a really nice recipe! It tastes better than out of the packet and the recipe on the side of the Hershey's cocoa box! I did use Dark Chocolate hot chocolate in the packet instead of the chocolate drink mix...it was cheaper! And hazelnut creamer. Instead of water I used half milk half cream to make it nice and thick! I filled pint jars with enough for four servings and marshmallows on the top! I will say it is quite expensive...but I have a few boxes of powered milk I needed to use. Thanks for giving me a super cute homemade Christmas idea!!! :) Oh, I also tied a homemade chocolate dipped spoon for stirring. UPDATE: I forgot to add that when I made this I doubled the recipe and it filled 12 pint sized jars with enough mix for 4 servings then stuffed the rest with marshmallows. I also used in totaly 10 packs of the Swiss Miss Dark Chocolate hot cocoa, about half a 4 qt. box of powdered milk..and it used about a bag and a half of mini mallows! Thought this might help at the store for figuring out how much to buy :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley S. December 04, 2009

I followed this recipe to a "T" using Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa. It did have a good flavor, but wasn't the "super chocolaty" flavor I was expecting. This is more of a kids version of hot cocoa rather than what most adult "chocoholics" are looking for. **If you want a super rich chocolate version for adults, try a recipe without the Nesquick, they are superior by leaps and bounds. More chocolate with less "cream" to deminish the chocolate flavor.** EDIT: I believe the name has changed since I posted my review, from "Super Chocolaty" to "Creamy." Much more accurate description of this hot cocoa. It does have a good "creamy" flavor, so I am changing my rating. My original rating was based partly on the name not being an accurate description and I was expecting a more chocolaty than creamy cocoa.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Charly* February 20, 2007

Kittencal, this stuff is superb!! I do have one request; I believe the name of the recipe should be changed to more accurately describe it- I was thinking Chocolate Bliss....This hot cocoa is absolutely the best I've had. I'm also going to save a lot of money this winter, because I won't be wasting it at Starbucks anymore on their overpriced cocoa. Thanks for another keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrangeOctober November 08, 2007

I did not like this at all. It tasted like hot milk there is no chocolate flavor for us. It does however work great for a coffee creamer and that is what I am going to be using the double batch that I made for over the next few years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 December 18, 2012

I'm rating this based on the ease of preparing the recipe...and how wonderful it looks in the jar...the ingredients actually made enough for 26 servings...which was perfect for the 4 gifts I was giving...my brother and his family was needing 10 servings for Christmas Eve (one per person)...my newly wed nephew and his wife got 4 servings (two each)...son and his roommates got 6 (two each)...and my daughter with her mini family also got 6 (two servings each)...now I just need to wait to see if they enjoy it...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas December 07, 2012

I thought it had no taste, I even added more sugar and cocoa powder. I felt it was missing something. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisemaw November 14, 2008

Very good. I used this recipe to make gifts for my grandkids teachers. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy December 19, 2007

nice recipe, but not nearly as chocolatey as i had hoped. definitely got the 'creamy' down, though. i didn't have the ingredients on hand, and it ended up being a bit expensive to buy everything the recipe calls for (i didnt use the cinnamon sticks). i could see it being a fun project to do with the kids. :) i'm putting it in jars with ribbons for christmas presents so we'll see what the feedback is from the gift-getters!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
butterscotchgirl December 13, 2007

You are so right, this IS the one! To make it diabetic friendly, I used Jello sugar free cook and serve pudding, President's Choice light hot chocolate (made with aspartame), sugar free vanilla-caramel Coffee Mate, 12 packets of Equal (this gives the sweetening of 1/2 cup of sugar), and regular cocoa powder. This dissolves easily in boiling water, and the taste is rich and comforting. Thank you so much for this recipe. Kathy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo December 15, 2006

What a nice chocolate mix. I used the vanilla powdered creamer, and a Swiss Miss hot chocolate powder with marshmallow bits. It mixes up well and tastes great. Thanks Kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 13, 2006
Creamy Hot Chocolate Mix in a Jar (For Gift-Giving)