Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Hot Chocolate Mix in a Jar (For Gift-Giving) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Hot Chocolate Mix in a Jar (For Gift-Giving)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2009

      I think this is a really nice recipe! It tastes better than out of the packet and the recipe on the side of the Hershey's cocoa box! I did use Dark Chocolate hot chocolate in the packet instead of the chocolate drink mix...it was cheaper! And hazelnut creamer. Instead of water I used half milk half cream to make it nice and thick! I filled pint jars with enough for four servings and marshmallows on the top! I will say it is quite expensive...but I have a few boxes of powered milk I needed to use. Thanks for giving me a super cute homemade Christmas idea!!! :) Oh, I also tied a homemade chocolate dipped spoon for stirring. UPDATE: I forgot to add that when I made this I doubled the recipe and it filled 12 pint sized jars with enough mix for 4 servings then stuffed the rest with marshmallows. I also used in totaly 10 packs of the Swiss Miss Dark Chocolate hot cocoa, about half a 4 qt. box of powdered milk..and it used about a bag and a half of mini mallows! Thought this might help at the store for figuring out how much to buy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I followed this recipe to a "T" using Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa. It did have a good flavor, but wasn't the "super chocolaty" flavor I was expecting. This is more of a kids version of hot cocoa rather than what most adult "chocoholics" are looking for. **If you want a super rich chocolate version for adults, try a recipe without the Nesquick, they are superior by leaps and bounds. More chocolate with less "cream" to deminish the chocolate flavor.** EDIT: I believe the name has changed since I posted my review, from "Super Chocolaty" to "Creamy." Much more accurate description of this hot cocoa. It does have a good "creamy" flavor, so I am changing my rating. My original rating was based partly on the name not being an accurate description and I was expecting a more chocolaty than creamy cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Kittencal, this stuff is superb!! I do have one request; I believe the name of the recipe should be changed to more accurately describe it- I was thinking Chocolate Bliss....This hot cocoa is absolutely the best I've had. I'm also going to save a lot of money this winter, because I won't be wasting it at Starbucks anymore on their overpriced cocoa. Thanks for another keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      I did not like this at all. It tasted like hot milk there is no chocolate flavor for us. It does however work great for a coffee creamer and that is what I am going to be using the double batch that I made for over the next few years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I'm rating this based on the ease of preparing the recipe...and how wonderful it looks in the jar...the ingredients actually made enough for 26 servings...which was perfect for the 4 gifts I was giving...my brother and his family was needing 10 servings for Christmas Eve (one per person)...my newly wed nephew and his wife got 4 servings (two each)...son and his roommates got 6 (two each)...and my daughter with her mini family also got 6 (two servings each)...now I just need to wait to see if they enjoy it...=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I thought it had no taste, I even added more sugar and cocoa powder. I felt it was missing something. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Very good. I used this recipe to make gifts for my grandkids teachers. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      nice recipe, but not nearly as chocolatey as i had hoped. definitely got the 'creamy' down, though. i didn't have the ingredients on hand, and it ended up being a bit expensive to buy everything the recipe calls for (i didnt use the cinnamon sticks). i could see it being a fun project to do with the kids. :) i'm putting it in jars with ribbons for christmas presents so we'll see what the feedback is from the gift-getters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      You are so right, this IS the one! To make it diabetic friendly, I used Jello sugar free cook and serve pudding, President's Choice light hot chocolate (made with aspartame), sugar free vanilla-caramel Coffee Mate, 12 packets of Equal (this gives the sweetening of 1/2 cup of sugar), and regular cocoa powder. This dissolves easily in boiling water, and the taste is rich and comforting. Thank you so much for this recipe. Kathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      What a nice chocolate mix. I used the vanilla powdered creamer, and a Swiss Miss hot chocolate powder with marshmallow bits. It mixes up well and tastes great. Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Review is for Zaar TAG game.Yipeee, heres and all around winner. I mixed up a small test batch of this last night and it's been "marinating" for about 12 hrs. I couldn't wait any longer and made a cup for breakfast (it's my sugar allotment for thr day!). It's lovely. I used Butter Pecan coffee creamer, because thats what I had and I have to say that it's yummy. I also switched Splenda for the sugar but I doubt that it helped much with the other products being packed with sugar. It mixes up smoothly with no clumps of powder and will accept more powdered mix once the water has been added. I have found the "incidental" gifts that are always so hard for me to choose each year. Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Hot Chocolate Mix in a Jar (For Gift-Giving)

    Serving Size: 1 (1157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.7
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    39%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 33.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 169.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 20.6 g
    82%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    french vanilla non-dairy coffee creamer

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes