Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Ham and Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Ham and Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2009

      This is soooo yummy! We had quite a bit of ham left after Easter, so I made 1 1/2 times the recipe for the broth. It's so creamy and wonderfully delicious. Can't wait for the next ham dinner - just so I can make it again! The ultimate comfort food! Thanks for the incredible recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      This recipe was great, I urge everyone to try it, my 10 and 11 year olds loved it .. "Mommy when can we have this again" I will make sure I double it the next time. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      I was looking for an alternative to boring ol'split pea so I gave this recipe a try. I made a few additions though. I added some chopped piemento, an extra 1/2 cup of corn, 1 package of Simply Potatoes hash browns, 1 cup shredded cheddar and several healthy splashes of Tabasco Sauce. This was really delicous and I will make again. Thanks for the idea!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      We like our chowder a little cheesy, so we made a few changes. Peeled and diced 3 small red skin potatoes, steamed for 5 minute, turned off heat and left pan on burner to cool. Rendered fat from the ham with 3 strips of chopped bacon in stock pot. When the bacon was almost cooked to crispy, added 1/2 cup chopped onion and cooked about 3 minutes, then added 3 cloves minced garlic, cooked for 1 minute longer. Empted the pan into a colander lined with paper towels. Returned the pan to medium heat and deglazed pan with 1/2 cup white wine, scraping up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Removed from heat, then added milk and flour per recipe. Returned stock pot to burner over medium heat and began slowing adding ham broth and remaining milk 1/2 cup at a time while cooking until thickened. Added remaining ingredients in the recipe with the contentsof the colander, bring to boil, turned down heat to simmer and cooked 20 minutes. Turned off heat, added steamed potatoes and 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese, cover and let stand 15 minutes. Extremely yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Delicious! I will be making this soup as part of my leftovers whenever I make a ham. My husband thought it would also be good with some potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Absolutely a 5 star recipe...delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      This was DELICIOUS!! I added 3 diced red potatoes to cook in the broth; then added about 2/3 cup shredded cheddar to the white sauce before adding everything else. It was 'restaurant good'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Easy & tastes great!! Family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      What a great way to use that left over ham bone that usually gets tossed! Awesome comfort food on a chilly day! Thanks for sharing this recipe :>) YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Excellent recipe, so rich and full of flavor. The only thing I did different was to add diced potatoes to the broth as it simmered, as suggested by one reviewer. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. My family requests this all the time now. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Had to use more milk and flour to make it as creamy as we wanted as I had a lot of broth, but the end result was terrific. Threw in a little cheddar cheese, to rave reviews. Thank you for a wonderful, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I was a little scared of using a hammer to break my ham bone but in the end the results were so great I will do this again and again. I did add potatoes which I had boiled in some of the broth so that they got the hammy taste. I had some left over ham gravy that I added in when I boiled the broth down. The soup is so good! I'm smiling while I eat lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      very very delicious. i used the left over ham and bone from easter. I also used 2 cans of corn one white and one golden and some extra ham. but other than that i did everything else like you said and it was so wonderful my bf and our son cleaned off not only there plates but the pan with biscuits and corn bread. thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Great comfort food! I made it exactly as written except to maybe increase the corn a bit (I like THICK soups). I did add 2 or 3 diced potatoes but I threw them in early to cook in the broth while I was reducing it, thus taking on more of the flavor. Thanks Julie for sharing another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      had this for lunch i used the left over ham i cooked the night before and it was great,my 3 year old gobbled it up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Ham and Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.2
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    55%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 47.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 163.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites