8 Reviews

I used winter squash(Hubbard) came out very nice. Trying to be more vegetarian friendly for Holly and I will make this again for myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harley M. December 19, 2014

Yum! I used pie pumpkin, as I needed to use some up. I also used evaporated milk instead of the cream - it provides much the same mouthfeel, but saves on calories. Also, I put the curry and turmeric in with the onions just as they became tender. I find that heating the curry in a little fat really enhances the flavors. I also added a couple of garlic cloves, as they go with the rest of the ingredients, and I had half a bulb of garlic sitting on the counter. I might up the amount of pumpkin next time, just to provide a bit more "heft" to the soup, but it was good just as it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte October 14, 2013

I made a full batch and the DM and I nearly polished off the whole lot for our lunch, all the flavours could be tasted but none dominated over the other all just complimenting each other. Thank you Deantini, made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat October 09, 2012

As much as I like the spices used in this soup, I did cut the ginger, curry & turmeric back by half to reveal more of the pumpkin flavor & that worked for the 2 of us! Had way more pumpkin than I needed for the recipe, but my son happily relieved me of the rest of it so he could add it to the veggies he cooks for his dogs! Loved your soup & thank you so much for posting the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 03, 2011

We've never tried pumpkin soup, so this was an adventure. It turned out really good. We added a splash of white wine, quite a bit of extra ginger, and a little salt. I think next time, we will add the onions after pureeing, to add just a little texture. The ginger and curry flavors were nice, and we'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne in apex October 23, 2010

I used butternut squash, as all the pumpkins are huge here. Also used fat free half and half instead of regular half and half. Loved how healthy this recipe was! I'll reduce the amount of curry powder and turmeric next time....I felt it over powered the veggies a bit. Thanks for sharing! Made for 123 Hits tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 07, 2010

Creamy, spicy and hot making this soup perfect for a cold damp day. DH and I both loved the spices in this soup. Made using a pound of yam in place of the pumpkin and used fat free milk in place of half and half. Both of which made this dish as healthy as it was yummy. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 12, 2009

This was so good, and creamy! I just loved it. It also made for some good leftovers. I used milk for this recipe, as I had plenty of it, and don't usually carry half and half cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef November 05, 2009
Creamy Ginger Pumpkin Soup