16 Reviews

This was very good!! I used thawed frozen shrimp but didn't add them until step 6. I increased the garlic by 1 more teaspoon, added 1/4 tsp. white pepper, & a pinch of salt. I served this over linguine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irayd8u December 30, 2004

Stole this...it is now the family favorite and everyone thinks I am amazing. Not bad considering this is simple to make, gourmet in taste and it takes longer to shell the shrimp than it does to cook it LOL Keys for me are using shrimp that are not shelled/deveined until I am ready to cook them...if you can get fresh...so much the better. But if you have to buy frozen don't buy the pre-cooked. I barely sear the shrimp before adding the wine and cream. Don't want them overcooked and it only takes a couple minutes to get them done. I then remove the shrimp, fire up the heat to thicken the cream sauce, shut it down and pour it over the shrimp. I lay down a bed of angle hair pasta or wild rice and then top it with this creamy garlic shimp and people think I am a 5 star chef! Thanks JustJanS You made me a hero with this one! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyleskipberry February 14, 2013

I had never cooked shrimp before, so I took this recipe and adjusted it to ingredients on hand. It tasted like a creamy garlic shrimp dish I order at a local restaurant. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camel_Cracker September 23, 2012

O'kay scaled this back as 2 serves to serve over a small porterhouse/sirloin steak and well the prawns/shrimp became the star of the show (I served 5 over the steak and the other 3 were to the side of plate) but I devoured the prawns/shrimp and had about a mouthful of the steak. For the prawns though our times were definately different (could be because of sized medium Mandurah [local area] prawns) but sauted off the garlic for the 2 minutes but the prawns only needed less than a minute, poured in the wine and it almost instantly reduced 30 seconds and the added cream and stock and simmer for about 5 minutes and OMG it was so delicious and we just salivated through every bite. Thank you Jan, made for Make My Recipe - Editin 14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 09, 2011

Very good shrimp dish but I did doctor it up a bit. I added some Old Bay seasoning and some lemon juice. I did serve it over rice with coconut and cumin and peas in it. May try it over pasta next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo August 29, 2009

It was OK but there was just no WOW factor to it. It was made as written. We had it over rice and ended up doctoring it a bit with some fresh grated Parmesan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie April 03, 2009

This went down very well, creamy and rich, easy and guests approved. This wasn't difficult to make and it's an excellent way to serve shrimp. Please see my Rating System: 4 wonderful stars for a very tasty dish that everyone enjoyed. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch January 31, 2009

utterly decadent and wonderful! picked up some cheap scallops and farmed prawns yesterday, had a few left, used this recipe to top a porterhouse steak. I added a teaspoon of Chrissyo's chilli sauce. Couldnt have bread, (damn doctors)and I only used about 2 tablespoons of cream. I cant recomend this for "company" as then you wouldnt be able to slurp the extra sauce straight from the plate!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills September 02, 2007

My super picky daughter had two helpings! Definitely makes it 5 stars! Made as directed but didn't have green onions--still delicious. Squeezed a slice of lemon over the top before serving. Very creamy and scampi-like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta March 25, 2007

I don't even know how to express how delicious this recipe was. Added a little extra garlic and left to reduce for a little longer, but served over fresh fettucine it was absolutely divine. The overall creamy garlic flavour is very similar to the potato bake I make. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adelle February 11, 2007
Creamy Garlic Shrimp