Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Garlic Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Garlic Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2013

      Stole this...it is now the family favorite and everyone thinks I am amazing. Not bad considering this is simple to make, gourmet in taste and it takes longer to shell the shrimp than it does to cook it LOL Keys for me are using shrimp that are not shelled/deveined until I am ready to cook them...if you can get fresh...so much the better. But if you have to buy frozen don't buy the pre-cooked. I barely sear the shrimp before adding the wine and cream. Don't want them overcooked and it only takes a couple minutes to get them done. I then remove the shrimp, fire up the heat to thicken the cream sauce, shut it down and pour it over the shrimp. I lay down a bed of angle hair pasta or wild rice and then top it with this creamy garlic shimp and people think I am a 5 star chef! Thanks JustJanS You made me a hero with this one! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I had never cooked shrimp before, so I took this recipe and adjusted it to ingredients on hand. It tasted like a creamy garlic shrimp dish I order at a local restaurant. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      O'kay scaled this back as 2 serves to serve over a small porterhouse/sirloin steak and well the prawns/shrimp became the star of the show (I served 5 over the steak and the other 3 were to the side of plate) but I devoured the prawns/shrimp and had about a mouthful of the steak. For the prawns though our times were definately different (could be because of sized medium Mandurah [local area] prawns) but sauted off the garlic for the 2 minutes but the prawns only needed less than a minute, poured in the wine and it almost instantly reduced 30 seconds and the added cream and stock and simmer for about 5 minutes and OMG it was so delicious and we just salivated through every bite. Thank you Jan, made for Make My Recipe - Editin 14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Very good shrimp dish but I did doctor it up a bit. I added some Old Bay seasoning and some lemon juice. I did serve it over rice with coconut and cumin and peas in it. May try it over pasta next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      It was OK but there was just no WOW factor to it. It was made as written. We had it over rice and ended up doctoring it a bit with some fresh grated Parmesan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This went down very well, creamy and rich, easy and guests approved. This wasn't difficult to make and it's an excellent way to serve shrimp. Please see my Rating System: 4 wonderful stars for a very tasty dish that everyone enjoyed. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      utterly decadent and wonderful! picked up some cheap scallops and farmed prawns yesterday, had a few left, used this recipe to top a porterhouse steak. I added a teaspoon of Chrissyo's chilli sauce. Couldnt have bread, (damn doctors)and I only used about 2 tablespoons of cream. I cant recomend this for "company" as then you wouldnt be able to slurp the extra sauce straight from the plate!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      My super picky daughter had two helpings! Definitely makes it 5 stars! Made as directed but didn't have green onions--still delicious. Squeezed a slice of lemon over the top before serving. Very creamy and scampi-like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I don't even know how to express how delicious this recipe was. Added a little extra garlic and left to reduce for a little longer, but served over fresh fettucine it was absolutely divine. The overall creamy garlic flavour is very similar to the potato bake I make. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Delicious! This was a wonderful shrimp dish that even my kids loved. I decided to make it lower in fat by using fat-free half and half instead of cream. This substitution did make the sauce watery, but it was worth it to reduce the fat. If I was making this for company, I would make it with real cream. At first I was afraid the amount of garlic would be too much, but it was perfect. I served the shrimp over brown rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Wonderfully creamy! I had served along with some Spicy Broccoli with Almonds and plain rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      Simply stated, this recipe is fantastic! Easy to make. We had it with bbq'd steak for a surf 'n turf dinner with our neighbors-everyone loved it. Will be making this recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      Absolutely yummy! My husband gives this dish two thumbs up. I had to cook the sauce a little longer than indicated in order to reduce it but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. Thanks for sharing, Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      This was very good!! I used thawed frozen shrimp but didn't add them until step 6. I increased the garlic by 1 more teaspoon, added 1/4 tsp. white pepper, & a pinch of salt. I served this over linguine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2004

      Beautiful - Dave cooked them in a wok on our BBQ and served over the top of steak. Very easy to make and quick to cook. Thanks Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      Excellent!! This dish is very full of flavor & I loved that it is so easy to prepare. It made a terrific dinner on a busy night. I served the shrimp on birds nest pasta with steamed broccoli & french bread. I will make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Garlic Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (500 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 478.2
     
    Calories from Fat 296
    62%
    Total Fat 32.9 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 399.9 mg
    133%
    Sodium 1448.7 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites